We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Digusting”
Review of Kings Canyon Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings Canyon Lodge
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Digusting”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The only good thing is location otherwise avoid at all cost!! The people were scary Something out of "Deliverence". It was dirty and just really weird... The price for a single scoop cone of questionable quality was 2.50. The bathroom was disgusting

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Solitude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    3
    0
    20
See reviews for
17
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
712 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 651 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We pulled up here after a day seeing Kings Canyon but were not staying the night. For future reference we spoke to the manager about rates and opening/closing dates. She advised that along with the rustic cabins there was a modern ‘home’ up on the ridge.

The woman seemed a little brusque and suspicious to us, (especially asking about the rates) which is in opposition to our anticipation of ‘hospitality’ in this industry. It’s remote here and nothing else outside of Cedar Grove/Grant Grove for lodging and food so why the wariness of getting some business for the lodge?

However we did go into the quaint and unusual office/restaurant area that is filled to overflowing with quirky paraphernalia! The young girl serving us our yummy ice creams (three flavours only - vanilla, chocolate and strawberry) was a little happier and chatted to us while we watched the busy hummingbirds out near the picnic tables.

We used the handy restrooms but we suspect they would be none too happy if you walked in without using or paying for a service – food, lodging or gas. (to be expected I guess). There are plenty of signs around stating 'don’t do this or that’ and a sign asking not to take a photo of the old gas pumps (without paying for gas?).

As quaint and beautifully positioned this Lodge is we just didn’t feel comfortable with the attitude of the people running it. We are very easy going but the owners and the word ’welcome’ don’t quite match. But, make up your own mind, she could have been just having an ‘off day’.

Enjoy your stay, meal or ice cream!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

after a long day of driving and sightseeing my husband and I found a room at this lodge. We spoke to the owner by phone and he advised that he would not be on duty when we got there so we would fix up the charges in the morning. Basic was fine for us but this place didn't even have electricity plugs you could use without an extra adapter which was only available at 8.30am when he opened, unfortunately we were not informed about this. No fridge, no kitchen, no kettle nothing. Only a fan left in the hot box, with thin towels and lumpy mattresses. The attitude of the owner was abrupt and rude, he is not a happy man so when he indeed had charged our mastercard five minute after we called that night we were annoyed as we clearly told him we would use another method of payment in the morning. He eventually credited the account and we settled again, but he couldn't help but blame us and be rude inventing a cost he suffered by his action. Obviously no concerns about future business. This is basic, clean but not loved or cared for and I think the owners need to reassess why they are in the tourist business at all. As happens with the wilderness loging you listen to the generator all night long echoing in avalley, and old mattresses don't help you drift to sleep in a hotbox with a noisy fan for company.

Room Tip: As far away from the generator as possible, take a plug adapter from 2 pin to 3, ensure you get ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank awhalestale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Dripping Springs, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and two sons and I took off for a 3600 mile road trip which took us through places including Kings Canyon. What a beautiful place and especially in the evening. We weren't camping so we winged a room every night. From Texas to Arizona, to California, to New Mexico we never had any issues finding a room. Of course the Sequoias National Park lodging was all booked up and packed with tourist. We decided to head down to Kings Canyon for the second half of the day knowing we would need to come back up and out of the parks to find a place to stay and THEN return if we wanted to see much more of the parks we hadn't seen yet. On the way down Kings Canyon we stopped and checked on a room here. Its nothing fancy, clean beds, nice little balcony looking at the canyon wall on our room to the top right side facing the lodge entrance. Clean bathroom and hot water in the shower. NO INTERNET or cell phone coverage which I thought was a PLUS! No TV another plus. No AC but it got plenty cool in the evening even in late July. It was a very quiet peaceful night sleep for a reasonable rate considering the location. We were up early and back into the Sequoias within 15min. If you have been you know it could be well over a grueling hr ride up to the Sequoias after entering the park.
So its all about what you are looking for and if its a place to put your feet up in the middle of a peaceful and BEAUTIFUL fresh air nowhere and enjoy a nice drink and a stogie (or whatever is relaxing for you) on a quiet deck as the sun creeps away from the canyon walls and following that with a quiet nights sleep and an early start then I say bah to all the naysayers that have given this little treasure bad reviews. Great little find and a good quiet hub to see more of both Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks on short notice without camping.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

First, let me remind the reviewers herein that the Kings Canyon Scenic Byway, on which this property sits, is 30+ miles long and that this lodge sits beyond the gate where they close the highway several months a year. It's in the middle of nowhere, literally. Don't be dumb, don't expect much. This place is the only game in town for 20+ miles. It's not a Hilton, it's not even a Motel 6. It's very basic necessities only accommodations. Our room, on the top right side of the main (restaurant) building was clean and functional. One of the mattresses was a bit tired. And yes, it would seem the proprietor has rules, and is a proud Christian - good for him, it's his place. If you're high maintainence and need a hot tub and a real chef, drive 50 miles down 180 towards Fresno. If you're low maintainence, you'll be fine here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

When all the other places were booked for the night in sequoia we were the only ones staying at this lodge. We called ahead the check availability and lucky we did as they had a room $120 for 2 beds/3ppl. Not bad considering the location. The valley it's in is beautiful and the historic cabins fit the surroundings, however the conveniences and furnishings could be updated for added comfort. The place was clean but rustic with very old light and plumbing fixtures. The hosts were perfectly nice at breakfast though there isn't a wide choice of foods and prices reflect the remoteness of the location. It's an option though not a top choice in the region. If the owners had the ability to upgrade a little and renovate to historic decor this place could be cool.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FilmNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Two couples, first time to Kings Canyon. Great piece of history with great host. Old 30's fishing lodge very clean and neat and comforable. the people who own and operate the lodge were outstanding. The old gentleman knew the history of the lodge and surrounding area like the back of his hand and really enjoyed getting a slice of history about the area. I plan to make this a regular stop when I am in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weldon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
0.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
624 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,340 reviews
0.0 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Lodge

Property: Kings Canyon Lodge
Address: 67741 Kings Canyon Road, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing