We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tree hugging fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Sherman Tree

General Sherman Tree
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An 249.9 foot ancient tree believed to be between 2,300 and 2,700 years old.
France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tree hugging fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

this was an incredible place. It was covered in snow when we went and we had to hire chains before entering the national park. Luckily we had a 4x4 so we didn't have to use them but you still need to carry them. You can rent them in three rivers for $40. A must!! we stayed up at wukasachi lodge for the night and waking up to snow outside was incredible...coming from an Australian that has only seen snow a few times. Nice easy walk on the general Sherman trail. Would have helped if we had snow shoes/boots.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,002
    267
    53
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cockfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

What a monster. If you are in Sequoia then you must see general sherman. It is a massive tree. Nothing else to say really!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawissa, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easy Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Easy walk. Unbelievable! It is just awesome to see this huge tree and can't believe it is over 3000 years old.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cdress13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I will never forget this tree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Not only was it awesome to see the world's largest tree in all it's glory. But my fiance proposed to me in front of it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
193 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Awe is too simple a word”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Breath taking, stunning, a reminder of how small we are and how great creation is. What a beautiful tree and area. Take time to sit and gaze at this marvel. Take time to give thanks that it has been saved for future generations.

Heard a wonderful young female tour guide talk about this tree. She was so proud of the tree and its history, you would have thought her family planted it. If there will be a talk on the tree, stay for it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Sherman Tree also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to General Sherman Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing