We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“good camping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dorst Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dorst Campground
Save
You added Dorst Campground to your Saves list
USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good camping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We love National Park camprounds. Dorst had one problem that we have seen solved in better ways in other National Park campgrounds. There was NO place to wash your dishes or dispose of dishwater. The water faucetts, say " No dishwashing," as they should. But the only other sinks in the park are in the bathrooms. It is fine to wash them at your campsite in your own dishpans, but because of Bear precautions you really can't toss out your dishwater, so WHERE can you dispose of your dishwater? People were doing it in the bathrooms sinks which plugged because they had no drain traps to catch particles. We have been to other National Park campgrounds, like for instance Yellowstone last summer, they provided a dish sink in a small room at the bathhouse. Otherwise a nice location, nice roads, procedures etc. Had to go to other location for pay showers, which is normal for some National Parks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShurleyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
35
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We just spent 3 nights at dorst campground, we usually stay at stony creek. The sites are definitely smaller but very nice. For being such a huge campsite it definitely is really quiet and peaceful. It was full the weekend we were there but it was still pretty quiet and neighbors seem really respectful of each other. We didn't have any issues with rowdy neighbors. The convenient shuttle to lodgepole make it fast and easy to go take showers ($3 for 10 minutes) the shuttle driver drives much faster than I would so you get there pretty quickly, the only bummer is they only go every hour.

The rangers are definitely more vigilant here as far as making sure you adhere to the bear rules, we never had a problem but our neighbors got a huge fine for keeping their cooler out and their dog tied up while they were gone.

Bathrooms have flush toilets and running water but not much else. They don't seem to keep them as clean as stony creek.

We saw lots of birds, chipmunks, deer and had a lovely time at the campsite. Would probably stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank lacampingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have camped at Dorst Creek and Lodgepole in the past. This time around, the other campers were a little rowdy, which is the only reason i put a four out of five for this time of year. Otherwise, Dorst is very peaceful and secluded compared to the more touristy Lodgepole. Rangers are helpful if you ask but they don't smother you as long as you are being careful about the rules. You will see deer and bear at Dorst, so the rules are important. There are a few nice trails starting from Lodgepole. I recommend the Muir Grove trail which takes you to a secluded sequoia grove that takes a little work to get to. The trail starts and ends in Dorst. If you can avoid the crowds, this is a great spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights @ # 177. It was close to the restroom which has flush toilets (always a plus). They did run out of toilet paper in the women's restroom so word of advise, bring some from home just in case. We did hear banging and yelling the first 3 nights which told me there was a bear somewhere in the campground...as long as you have EVERYTHING put away in the bear box you should be fine. Bear Management did drive around quite often which made us feel a little more at ease. When you need to shower you have 2 options- either go right out of the campground to Lodgepole or left to Stoney Creek. Both have a store also. We had a great time. The sunset our last night was incredible-the sky looked like it was on fire. The meadows throughout the campground were very pretty with wild flowers of different colors and we even saw a bear at the bigger meadow by the entrance. There were also a couple of deer who came by our site which was totally neat to watch. The campground was clean and everyone was pretty respectful as far as quite time goes. Dorst is a beautiful and very large campground and I recommend staying here if you have the chance

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank prplbtrfly5456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We usually camp in southern sites, but as it was summer booked for Dorst.

Only minor bear experiences and rangers were on top of it, facilities were mostly clean, rangers were a bit nick-picky, but overall very helpful. Site was beautiful-meadows and small rock hills. A small trek to muir grove starts near the group campgrounds and is very pretty-there were bears in the grove though. A short drive to lodgepole, where $3 can buy you and your closest friends a 10 minute shower. Also, very close to little baldy trailhead and 20mins from big baldy trailhead. The campsites are generally small, but adequate. Meaning, your tents are very close and right next to your food bin and your car. Not a huge deal, but don't expect to get multiple cars or a lot of stuff in your site.

Had one neighbor who got wasted and screamed at his wife throughout the night, three nights running. Had another neighbor, a Canadian woman who was yelling at everyone, family and stranger alike. She even left a rude note for the campers who reserved the site after her when she left them telling them not to occupy the site until noon as she had paid for it and was still hers until then. I removed the note before they got there :)

Those new campers were great and so were our other neighbors, someone even left their leftover firewood in our site, which was awesome and we paid the favor forward. I guess basic camping manners are gone nowadays, but luckily they seem to be a small proportion of the guests. But we didn't experience it so much in the foothills. That might be a difference as Dorst takes online reservations whereas most of the other sites, including foothils, are first come first served.

Overall was a great trip, just some weird neighbors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fids9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Booked 3 nights. #95. Perfect location. Not too close to the bathrooms, had the faucet right there, and flat ground. Pretty creek where we took some wine and hung by the water. Muir Grove trail is within the camp and it's a fun 4-mi round trip trail to Sequoias. Yes, we had a bear encounter whilst around the campfire. He smelled our grill and came casually strolling by. We grouped together and yelled so he left. A bear came every night so keep your food put away. Nearby to Lodegepole so we could get stuff we needed. Went hiking and saw the sights. Definitely a fun campground to stay at. Just be sure to find photos of the lots you plan to stay at, bc some are VERY slanted.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jo613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids), who stayed at Dorst for 3 nights in late June. Huge pro--it's a lovely campground. We stayed across from the meadow towards the back of the campgrounds. My quibbles are that it's mixed camping--RVs amidst tents-- and the RV generators going all hours of the night are wearying. Also, one toilet in the ladies' room was clogged all 3 nights of our stay even after we reported it. There's a lot of bear activity, so if you stay here, do your neighbors a favor & CLEAN UP COMPLETELY after every meal.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraKang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
22.3 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,919 reviews
22.2 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
24.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
29.8 mi away
Silver City Mountain Resort
Silver City Mountain Resort
#5 of 20 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
22.3 mi away
Stony Creek Lodge
Stony Creek Lodge
#18 of 20 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
3.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorst Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorst Campground

Property: Dorst Campground
Address: Seven-and-a-half miles northwest of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorst Campground has 204 campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dorst Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing