We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hume Lake

Hume Lake
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A lake area offering many outdoor activities.
CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first time to Hume Lake. We spent an hour walking around the lake and there were many people in the water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    45
    11
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on our way to Cedar Grove area. There's a beautiful lake here where there's swimming and boating. A Christian camp runs sessions for families and campers. But other people can come and eat at the deli or snack shop. We got some food at the snack shop. Price was reasonable although we had to wait a bit to get our order. It was a nice place to stop on our way out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank safety_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great place for a swim in SKC!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Hume Lake is one of the few places to go for a nice afternoon swim in Sequoia & Kings Canyon. The spot to go to is Sandy Cove beach which is a little way up the road from the Christian camp. There's a small sand beach there and the water is pretty warm. It has space available on both sides of the small inlet so you can sit in shade or full sun if you choose. If you're looking to spend a few hours on the beach this is the place to go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wadie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Packed with loud teens, not the nicest place to visit.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Came there to take some pictures of some birds and ducks. Unfortunately, it was extremely packed with kids and families. Disappointed. The view wasn't that spectacular either.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the canyon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This lake is a beautiful oasis and the history of the area is interesting, but you should know that this is the home to a Christian Camp and can be very crowded in the summer. There's a trail that goes all the way around the lake and is a very easy and pleasant hike.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharianderic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hume Lake also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Hume Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing