We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Summer camp for teens and kids....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hume Lake

Hume Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A lake area offering many outdoor activities.
Australia
Level Contributor
713 reviews
377 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
“Summer camp for teens and kids....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Came here after driving the Kings Canyon Scenic Byway and it's worth a detour for the stunning scenery or for water activities. On our visit it was overwhelmingly crowded with the Christian Summer Camp program. There wasn’t an inch of space along the foreshore beach but we managed to walk along it chatting to some of the ‘happy campers’.

The whole area was thronging with excited and well-behaved young adults and some were curious to know where our accent was from! It's plain to see though why Hume Lake is so attractive for all kinds of water sports. Water in the lake just seems to go on forever and it is midnight blue or emerald coloured depending on the light.

Next time we come it will be outside of the summer camp program (it was very friendly and atmospheric though). Lodging and facilities here would be more available and probably a little more serene. This is an artificial lake with a dam however; it still has a stunning location amongst the flourishing forests.
It’s gorgeous!

Enjoy your visit!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Globebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    45
    11
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
401 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Excellent for Family Outings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This lake provides safe swimming for children of all ages. The Christian Center is located on private property within the National Forest, but is open to the public. Hotel rooms are available here as is a dining hall and a snack bar. The latter provides mostly grilled items like hamburgers and to our delight a grilled chicken sandwich. Hand-dipped ice cream offered 8-10 choices. We particularly liked a Mocha Almond nut. Outdoor seating was comfortable in the shade, probably because of the elevation. With 2 National parks nearby, this might be a good place to stay, as the drive from nearby Visalia, requires 1.5-2 hrs on very windy roads with an elevation gain of over 4,000 feet. The Lamp Liter Inn in Visalia is highly recommended for those who need more city type services.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Starbirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marzabotto, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Much more of a lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This lake is not only beautiful and situated in the middle of the woods as far as the eye but also plenty of activities for children and adults such as canoes and trails for trekking. The ability to swim in lagiìo makes this place a beautiful destination for many people.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FilippoFiorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“camping with friends who have never been ther”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

nice place for a walk swim boat and bike rentals and you have to try a Hume burger while you are there

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Guillermo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We thought it would be too busy as it was a weekend before the kids went back to school, but we found parking and a picnic spot right away. We rented a kayak and a row boat. If you have a small child, <7, I would recommend a kayak and put the child in the middle, even though they say the kayak seats 2 do it. The row boat was hard to manage for some reason. Enjoy

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MsPinkerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hume Lake also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Hume Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing