We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive”
Review of Crystal Cave

Crystal Cave
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Crystal Cave is a marble cave with a wide variety of stalactites, stalagmites, and other geologic features and cave-adapted wildlife that add to its popularity with visitors and scientists from around the world. There is a wide variety of tour options and experiences that appeal to adults, families, and the wild caver. Crystal Cave is open early May-late November, weather and conditions permitting. Advance reservations are online. Please review the physical fitness precautions before purchasing tickets. No pets.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Van Nuys
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Grant Grove Village, so it took an hour for us to drive to get tickets, and another hour to drive to the Cave, then you have to endure a 15 minute walk to the entrance of the cave. It was worth every minute it took to get there. Even though the cave is not a thriving cave filled with the ecosystem that most untouched caves experience, it is a nice look into how small we humans ultimately play in the grand scheme of life. The tour is about 45 minutes long and our guide was filled with lots of info and made the tour very exciting. Hardly an experience for "real" cagers, but really cool for a glimpse into something that not everyone has a chance to experience. I think my kids really enjoyed it, and I hope the experience lasts a lifetime. I would do this tour again for sure.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    91
    33
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cool Cave and Educational - recommended”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The first tour on Fri, Sat, and Sun is Adults only - if you don't have children I would recommend you go on this tour. Most of the kids in our tour were well behaved. There is a steep walk down and it's steep going up afterwards. From Lodgepole you should allow yourself at least 1.5 hrs to get to the cave, park, and walk down to the entrance of the actual cave. The walk up afterwards wasn't so bad because we stopped frequently and took pictures of the waterfall and the other scenery. The tour itself was a little on the short side but it was really amazing. Our tourguide was very knowledgeable about the cave, it's history, how it formed, and the animals that call it home. Was very sad to hear about the problems they are having with the fungus killing the bats in caves all over the US.

You cannot bring backpacks with you. There are plenty of bear boxes at the parking lot where you can store food/drink while in the cave. Bathrooms and picnic tables can be found at the parking lot as well.
I would allow yourself a total of 4 hrs (half day) for this attraction which includes the drive/walking down/up etc.
Highly recommend this cave tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank craftywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for a day trip”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I live an hour from Sequoia National Park and I just learned about Crystal Cave a couple years ago. It's a great little secret that many locals aren't even aware of. Visiting the cave makes for a great day trip!!

You have to get tickets early in the day before the tours sell out. 50 people to a tour - leaving every 30 minutes. They stress the hike and its for a good reason. It's not an easy stoll especiuually coming back up from the cave. Took us about 25 minutes to walk down to the cave (from the parking lot) but took us close to 40 minutes to come back up.

The hike is very pretty with a couple water falls toward the bottom - great photo opportunities. The cave tour is really neat. We had a fantastic tour guid (Chris). Lots of good nuggets of information and he related well to all ages on the tour. Toward the end of the tour he asked our permission to turn off the lights in the cave. I have never been in a darker place in my life. It's pretty cook for about 30 seconds then it gets freaky (at least to me).

Definatly listen to their suggestions to bring a jackete - you will need it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely caves”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Ended up at the caves to cool off...
Good price and quite an extensive cave system. Resident naturalists seemed reasonably well informed

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Don't miss!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Many of our well-wishers who had taken this tour before warned us about the temperatures inside. They asked us to take jackets and we are glad we did. There is a half-mile trek required to reach the entrance. Bear box are available to store food as it is bear-active area. One of the wettest caves that I have ever visited in the USA. Itz not that difficult to get "cave kisses" in here!!! End of the tour, one can experience total darkness inside cave for a minute, which is oddly fascinating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sahana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Cave also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Crystal Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing