We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a view!”
Review of Moro Rock

Moro Rock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A challenging walk up 400 steps to a spectacular view.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wow, what a view!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was a tough uphill and many stairs hike, however it was worth every step. The view at sunset was amazing! Had a great time watching the little bats set flight at sunset. Take a camera!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    982
    182
    21
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Holy moly you have to climb this!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Don't look down. It's a decent 20mins walk up along narrow ledges. Got some great photos here but weather conditions are very important. I went on a picture perfect day. If the weather is bad (rain, high winds etc) I would advise against it. But breathtaking views. Don't miss

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Central, PA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great climb!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The climb is somewhat challenging, but the view is amazing once the climb is completed! It is definitely recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank NeedABreakInSC-PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth the hike up!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Don't miss the opportunity to hike to the top of this giant dome. You will be rewarded with excellent views. The hike isn't really all that strenuous, but you might want to skip it if you don't like heights. If you continue all the way to the top, you are really up there! There are plenty of handrails when they are needed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WesternHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
879 reviews
463 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Moro Rock is a huge granite dome rock formation in the center of Sequoia National Park. The awesome granite dome is located just off the Generals Highway on Crescent Meadow Road near the Giant Forest. There is small parking lot off of Crescent Meadow Road directly in front of giant stone staircase that leads to the top of Moro Rock. If you are traveling from the south entrance to the Park you can see the giant rock dome way off in the distance.

The stone staircase was built in the 1930’s as part of CCC project and the stairs and handrails look like they were built to last (lots of extra concrete to hold everything in place). The climb is about 400 steps or about 1/3 of a mile to the top. The climb is pretty steep so it is tough if you are not in great shape but there are lots of places to rest along the way. It was amazing how much easier it was to walk down than it was to walk up (we tried to encourage the folks walking up as we were walking down).

I went to Moro Rock at about 5:30 PM on a Saturday afternoon with my wife and it was not very crowded (to avoid crowds you need to go early or later in the day). Since we arrived after 5 PM the shuttles were no longer running so we were allowed to drive to this attraction. During the busy time of the day you need to hike or take the shuttle from the Giant Forest Museum. My wife and I made several rest stops but made it to the top and were rewarded with an awesome view of the western half of Sequoia National Park and the Great Western Divide. This was our first hike of the day so I bet it would have been much harder after a full day of hiking.

Overall my wife and I really enjoyed the hike and the awesome views at the top and recommend this attraction. I think this is a must do hike when you visit Sequoia National Park. I really enjoyed the challenge of hiking up the steep steps and getting rewarded with the nice view. At times the guard rail is short and you can look straight done the side of the massive rock. My wife is slightly afraid of heights and was nervous at the top and at a few spots along the stairway. A hiker at the top took our picture near the cliff edge (but still behind the safety railing) and my wife has it as her background picture on her laptop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rockyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moro Rock also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Moro Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing