We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Takes your breath away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moro Rock

Moro Rock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A challenging walk up 400 steps to a spectacular view.
Kernville, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Takes your breath away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This spectacular outcropping hangs over the Central Valley like a stone sentinel, affording forever views. Be in shape aerobically though, as the couple of hundred feet up a steep path and stairs can seem like a mile at that elevation. Once on top, ejoy seeing from the Sierra Crest to the valley below. Wonderful!

Helpful?
Thank bobsacerdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    907
    168
    19
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“gotta see it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

been here a few times. the view is awesome and worth the short climb. This is the best place to view the Great Western Divide. While in the area be sure to see Crystal Caves.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

It's a long way to the top, but when you look across and see other rock formations, and the wonderful skyline, it's breathtaking.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Autumn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow what a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

It's a hike up but well worth it. We drove a fair way and the walked. I wouldn't have made the full walk but so glad I did the climb

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth the climb - fantastic views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Took the family to Moro Rock on the recommendation from a Park Volunteer and was not disappointed as the views were fantastic. We had teens but there were other families with smaller kids climbing the stairs as well. We hiked from the parking lot on the General's Highway as the road to the rock closes in the fall. There was some grumbling about this but we did not run into a lot of other people when we got to the rock, I imagine that the scene in summer would be quite different.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FluvialMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moro Rock also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Moro Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing