We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unbelievable views! My favorite place in Sequoia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mineral King Valley

Mineral King Valley
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A good hiking and backpacking area.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unbelievable views! My favorite place in Sequoia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you plan on going here be warned that you WILL spend all day just traveling to and from this place. Make sure you go REALLY early if you plan on hiking. There are active bears there so never hike alone.

The road is EXTREMELY bumpy and narrow, and will take you a good 1-2 hours of drive. But believe me, it is SO WORTH IT. If you want to be secluded, this is the place. We hiked for a good 4-5 hours to Eagle Lake but ended up turning around since the hiking was insanely long and it was too late in the day to hike safely. Surprisingly there was someone missing in the area we were hiking and the next day they ended up finding a body. It was on the news. Sad.

We enjoyed the views so much that we stopped many times to take pictures and just listen to the beautiful sound of silence and wind/birds. SO SO loved it here. It reminded me of Germany.

Big warning about marmots who like to chew on engine wires. Cover your cars bottom! Bring food also since there really are no places to eat here and the food that is by Silver City is extremely expensive. $10 sandwitches? Sheesh.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sevan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
565 reviews
421 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Worth The Drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

It is only 30 miles but it WILL take you about 1.5 hours to get to the end. The road is narrow, often less than 2 lanes in spots, blind turns, drop offs, bumpy, etc but once you get to the end it will be worth it! The views are incredible and we hiked along the stream for a bit. Fresh air, no crowds, just a great place to be. There aren't services s be sure you have your own food and drink and plenty of gas.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nriemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to start a hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Long curvy road to get there. Not much as for services. Go here if you have a backpack and food. No real good picnic areas. Mainly a parking lot that serves as a trailhead. If you are willing to take a hike, day hike or overnight you will see alpine country that is hard to see without a long hike. Since you start at over 7,000 feet everything is alpine. Beautiful country, high mountain views, thin air.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Mineral King, Sequoia National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

beautiful valley, good hiking trails in all directions. Some private cabins from early 30's. Lovely flowers in season, great snow in winter. Watch for marmots who like to chew the wires in your engine!

Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Classic Alpine Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you have managed the road up, then enjoy. Just cover the undercarriage of your vehicle if you spend the night. This is God's Country, and you really don't appreciate it, if you have to read a review of Farewell Gap or Big Arroyo, or even Silver City. Stay home.

Helpful?
Thank Tuleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mineral King Valley also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Mineral King Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing