We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awe Inspiring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giant Forest

Giant Forest
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
5595653341
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A forest with ancient sequoia trees.
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awe Inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The scenery, especially in fall, is spectacular! The air is fresh and crisp, scented with wood smoke and the trees cloaked in reds, yellows and orange...nature's wonders compare to any place on earth. During the fall there is a sense of solitude that truly lends itself to viewing these marvelous giants. Without the usual crowds of tourists you can really appreciate the show Mother Nature puts on for you. The road off the 198 is twisting but the views are better appreciated at the 25 mpg speed limit imposed for the last few miles into the Park's entrance. To really see and appreciate this great park you should allow a minimum of 6-8 hours. If you bring picnics be prepared to secure your food items in the bear storage lockers...the park provides these lockers for a good reason. We saw fox, bluebirds, golden eagles, hawks and rabbits and some deer.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BestNana_93505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    944
    110
    14
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“giant forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Every American should see this part of our natural heritage. It is a place of beauty, peace, that can inspire harmony with the earth around us. I love going there to feel small. The National Park Service has done a tremendous job of making this park accessible. It is clean and safe. Please put this on your vacation plans.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank hanoibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Belittle yourself and be good to your soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Sequoia's aren't just a national treasure they are a magnificent reminder of our insignificance and, ultimately, our vital importance. Without good people fighting for and maintaining these silent giants they would be a black and white photo in a museum or several stumps to teach schoolchildren how to count the age of trees long dead. I can't tell you how humbling a stroll through these wonderful trees are without reminding you that I am a deep cynic. I am not easily impressed nor am I even remotely sentimental which is freakish in an Irish person. But I am brought to my knees by their beauty and quiet dignity. Please do yourself a favour and visit. At least once in your life. They are no where else but in wonderfully diverse California and whoever put them there definitely had a sense of humour.
Avoid the high hotel charges locally however and stay somewhere in the San Joaquin Valley. All the hotels in the area are VERY dear and really not all that great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank caidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, breathtaking experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This place is a must if you're in the area. I was absolutely amazed by the views, including the giant sequoia trees and the mountains. Completely breathtaking. Will remember this for a long long time.

Helpful?
Thank emwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powers Lake
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great, easy stroll thru giants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

As advertised this is a great, easy stroll thru the giants. The Sequoias aren't as jaw dropping as their Redwood cousins, but the trip in was worth it after seeing the forest.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank joshua012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant Forest also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Giant Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing