We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular drive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Canyon Scenic Byway

Kings Canyon Scenic Byway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 30-mile scenic drive between Grant Grove and Cedar Grove Village.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Spectacular drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I drove this road in June from Grant Grove to Roads End in order to pick up the trail for Mist Falls. This road is incredible, undoubtedly one of the most spectacular drives i've ever taken - steep cliff walls on both sides, the road hugging the edge, running along side the beautiful rushing white water of the Kings River - and barely a car in sight! Kings Canyon has all the beauty of Yosemite with just a tiny fraction of the people...

The road is approximately 35 miles end to end so be sure to have as full a tank as possible when you enter the park (Squaw Valley is your last chance to fill up if coming from Fresno). You may be able to get gas in the park at Hume Lake or Kings Canyon Lodge but prepare to pay a premium.

The road offers access to a number of hiking trails, both long and short, as well as a number of peaceful and secluded campsites.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    47
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unmissable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is without doubt one the most incredibly beautiful places I have ever seen. If you get a chance to drive thru Kings Canyon then don't miss it

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Scruffygirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Like others, I'd rate this as the highlight of our Sequoia/Kings Canyon trip (granted we didn't do any backpacking). One of the most impressive drives I've had, with steep canyon walls of multicolored rock and a gorgeous white water river. Don't leave the parks without seeing this stretch of road!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank GoToChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, Nederland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

For me, this was the highlight of our visit to Sequoia/Kings Canyon NP. You drive through the mountains and have great views. Walk to the Roaring River Falls and through Zumwalt Meadow.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HannekeLeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
318 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Fahrvergnügen!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We totally had an awesome ride to Cedar Grove Village and back: steep ascents & descents, hairpin turns, and breathtaking views all along the way! What made it even better was that we had the road to ourselves…Sweet! If you take this drive during peak season, you may get stuck behind a bunch of timid drivers. If you don’t mind going at a slower pace, then you’ll be fine; otherwise, your driving experience may be diminished.

Bottom Line: A Driver's Delight!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhlegmMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Canyon Scenic Byway also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Kings Canyon Scenic Byway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing