We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A quiet camp ground, perfect location in a startlingly beautiful part of the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodgepole Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodgepole Campground
Save
You added Lodgepole Campground to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A quiet camp ground, perfect location in a startlingly beautiful part of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Just to get this out of the way: if you like your camping holiday to come with swimming pool, wifi, and other comfort, then this might not be for you. The toilets have no light, for the showers ($3/10 minutes) you have to go to the Lodgepole Village Centre, 5 minutes from the entrance to the camp ground. The village shop is ok, but if you like to cook decent dinners, you should shop in advance, before coming here.

If you care more for quiet nights, proximity to nature, good air, and beautiful scenery, then this is the paradise on earth.

The camp ground is very close to the Giant Sequoias, you can either reach the trails by foot within an hour, or by car or free and frequent shuttle bus within 5-15 minutes. Our tent was at the very back of the camp ground (site 126), wedged between the forest and the river cascading down large stones and creating a beautiful background noise. The sites are spacious and fairly spaced out, and all the neighbours were extremely considerate, so the only sounds one could hear between 10pm and 8am were the river, and the squeaking chipmunks in the morning.

We had originally booked one night here, intending it to be a stepping stone towards Yosemite. But once we got here, we managed to extend our stay to 4 nights, and so glad we did (you have to be extremely fortunate to be able to do that - better reserve well in advance)! One evening, a bear mum with two babies passed through the camp ground, completely ignoring humans, and we watched these beautiful creatures from a distance of 40 feet for about 15 minutes. The next morning, a deer came out of the woods and looked at us curiously for several minutes, while we were having breakfast. During one 3 hour hike amidst the Giant Sequoias, we encountered 2 people and 6 deer, two of them being tiny fawns.

Also worth mentioning: the Crystal Cave is one of the most beautiful caves I have seen, and the guides are very nice and knowledgeable. The nearby Wusachi Lodge offers free wifi, and a spot with one of the best, least light polluted star skies in North America (we were told). You can see the Milky Way, and if you come at the right time of year, lots and lots of shooting stars. And of course there are the Giant Sequoias, which defy any verbal description.

Room Tip: Look at the camp ground map and reserve a site in advance. The sites 126 and 127 have got to be amon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    35
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Unless you are a "hardcore-wilderness-camper" this is the perfect campground. The trees, the trails, the wildlife, the stream, the attractions all within fairly close proximity make this the perfect campground for most. However, you're almost never alone in this area - some people will find this reassuring while others may not like the idea of company. Lots of people come and go in this campground so your neighbors change frequently (depending on how long you stay, obvy). But you can't beat having a laundromat, showers, general store, ranger station and shuttle service within close proximity. Because of all these conveniences, Lodgepole really is the perfect campground - particularily for people who are new to camping.

Room Tip: Don't forget the bug spray becuase OMG! Lots of wildlife sightings (deer, marmots, bears!) Pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
3 Thank Seige718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were really looking forward to staying here and had read all the great reviews. We arrived from three rivers (only 20miles from lodge pole) to be told by the ranger that we couldn't go any further & we"d come in the wrong entrance! It would take us another two and a half hours of driving to get to the correct entrance. Having driven for 4 hours with the kids we decided not to. I looked everywhere for other instructions & a postcode and still can't see where it warns people with RVs not to take that entrance. Really disappointed,

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank My2cents-adviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We camped with 3 other families and had 4 campsites. Each campsite varies in size and availability of level ground and shade. As far as campsites go, these were fairly nice, the best thing about them was the flat marked off area for the tent. The bathrooms leave a lot to be desired. They have flush toilets and toilet paper, but other than that...no lights, no soap, no seat protectors, no paper towels. I guess it helps contribute to the total camping experience. The store is very convenient for picking up ice, treats, souvenirs, or times you forgot to bring. The only showers are located by the store. No one in our party used them. 4 days without a shower is the true camping experience! There are lots of fun activities nearby. Our group went to crystal cave which was a real highlight. There are free shuttles to take you around to various locations. Even with the current drought there was clear clean water in the river, which made for fun for all ages, and was also a chance to freshen up! We saw deer, bats, chipmunks and lots of birds. We had no bear sightings, thankfully. There is a large bear locker to put everything in, all food and anything that is scented, which is a pain but necessary. The ranger goes around and gives citations if you leave anything out. You have to walk a ways to throw away trash and to get to a water spigot. As someone who hasn't camped in about 7 years, this was a very positive experience and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
200 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Lodgepole is the largest campground inside the Sequoia National Park. It is located just 2 miles from the giant Sequoia's such as the General Sherman. A free shuttle bus connects the campground with all the sightseeing locations and more. Close to the campground, there is a visitor center and a nice market. The campground sites are spacious and quiet. Staying with a RV is extremely cheap, just $22/night. No facilities but who cares at such a beautiful location. There are restrooms, but very old (should be replaced). There are showers inside the market. Part of the campground is by reservation (well in advance!) and part by first come first serve basis (like we did). Come before 11 AM. The elevation is rather high (6700 feet), so night are cool (nice) and during the day it is sunny but not too hot. On the campground there are lots of squirls and birds. Nearby, especially in the meadows, black bears can be encountered (we did twice).

Room Tip: Any site is a good site. Near the river is probably recommended. However, you cannot use your RV gen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at #76. If you are going with a group and you need two or three campsites, #77, #76 and #75 would be a good choice. I had originally reserved 77 and 76 but had to cancel 77.

This three campsites are too close together. luckily I kept #76 which is the one with the most room.

Restrooms were clean.

No cellphone signal here. We enjoyed the free shuttle service inside the park. The construction delay is about 15 minutes.
The showers at the village were not all working, so people have use the men's showers and the different hours for men and women. when you walk in the shower stalls are on the left. The one before the last stall , for whatever reason, needs an extra coin to work (9 quarters).
The visitor center shows a free movie about bears, they also sell tickets for attractions such as the Crystal Cave, hiking maps, etc.
The grocery store is very well stocked and the prices are good if one considers how far one is from the nearest grocery store outside the park.
I am sure that I am not making justice to this campground because there is so much information and don't have time to continue, but hope this helps somebody out there.

Room Tip: This is not a hotel. This is a campground.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Bayunco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We rented a camper in Vegas and stayed at campgrounds between there and San Francisco. Lodgepole was, by far, our favorite. We were here on the last day that it was a first-come-first-served campground and got a site right on the water. The next morning we took a hike up to the falls with wildlife and natural beauty everywhere you looked.

Our only regret was that we only stayed one night.

Room Tip: Attempt to get a site on the river!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Malelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,912 reviews
10.2 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
16.0 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
13.2 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
17.6 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodgepole Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgepole Campground

Property: Lodgepole Campground
Address: One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodgepole Campground has 214 sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lodgepole Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Lodgepole Campground Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing