We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful place I've ever camped”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodgepole Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We booked our spot two months in advance. Spaces were limited to six spots. We checked out cmpsitephotos.com because we had never been there and really wanted to have an idea of what we were in for. Originally we were stuck with a spot near the front entrance with no shade or privacy but we wanted to see Sequoia so bad we took what we could get. Then after checking back I saw #124 had opened up so I immediately called & made the switch. Soooo glad I did. This spot was right near the waterfall in the very back of the park. Full shade! We never ran out of things to do or see. Fortunately we didn't have any bears visit but we did wake up to a beautiful buck on our last morning just feet away from our tent. I would recommend this place to anyone. I plan on returning every year from here on out.
The only negative thing for us was a group of four families with eight toddlers had booked right next to us so it got a bit loud but hey...camping is for everyone young & old. It was just a bit too loud for my taste. All in all it was still an awesome stay and we'll worth the 5 hr trip

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
14  Thank theph0enix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 178 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a great time camping at Lodgepole. The campsites are in great condition. Some are waterfront (river). We had site 105 and we were walking distance from some trails. Even reindeers came to visit. The only cons I found was the showers and the restrooms. Showers are far away, in the Market center, next to the Visitor Center. There are restrooms, but with no electricity. Reservations can be made in advance, we didn't think it was going to be necessary but made reservations anyway and I'm so glad we did because by the time we arrived they were full. This campsite has an excellent location, that's why is so popular. Closed to the General Sherman and other great sightings.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TainoTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went for our 22nd anniversary for 5 nights after Labor day. We picked site 202 since we have a trailer and it was great. We have a small 15ft vintage trailer so it fit but not for bigger trailers. The site backs up to the mountain so was beautiful. Showers are $3 for 10 minutes, store is good for supplies. Lots to explore, lots of wildlife.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
5  Thank We4palls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Beautiful camp site!

We stayed for 3 nights in a 32ft RV. Surrounded by beautiful trees & mountains at an elevation of 6,800ft. You can take a few different hikes directly from the campsite & on our first one we saw 3 bears which was a wonderful sight. Chipmonks everywhere & deer wandering in & out of camp too. The waterfalls were not at their best as it was August & there had been a heatwave too, but still fantastic to look at.

Use the free shuttle buses that come into camp to get you around to the many local attractions. General Sherman tree & the Giant Forest are a must, as well as Morro Rock which is worth the climb. Take the short hike back from Morro Rock to the museum where you can see & touch many of the giant redwoods as you walk. We were luck to see another bear here too. As long as you make noise ie. talk as you walk, you will have no problems with the bears.

Toilets are clean & ok in the campsite & the showers are in the main visitor centre along side the laundry, shop & cafe selling hot & cold drink/food. The shop is well stocked & quite well priced considering where it is.

The creek running through the camp was wonderful to cool off in on a hot day & added to the peace & tranquility this site gave us. Use the bear boxes for all food & smellies but if you are in an RV you don't have to. You are able to leave it all in the RV as long as you draw the curtains.

The roads in Sequoia are ok for RV's, just take your time.

A beautifull location & one where I would return to again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Staveley-Stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were fortunate to have chosen a great site which afforded a high degree of privacy for where we were at. First of all this is a massive and very busy campground so do not expect solitude or a wilderness experience. There are people everywhere. But they are people having a great time and that is part of the park experience. If you do not like a crowd then strap on a back pack. Our site was great (we actually had two) with a well developed tent pad. Pay close attention to the pad size as there will not be any other flat ground at most sites. We got real lucky and found flat spaces up the hill a bit and actually used the tent pad as our eating area which opened up the campfire space. Most sites will also only have parking for one vehicle. Do not trust the reservation site map. Get the map from the park service in choosing your site lest you find yourself right on top of your neighbors.

The campground as whole is magnificent though with the Marble Fork of the Kaweah River running right through. Even with the low water this year there were plenty of swimming holes and the fishing was excellent. It is the best location in the park as you are close to all the major groves, the one store, and eating locations. We will return. Only complaint is the bathrooms and showers need better upkeep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights at Sequoia on a US Road Trip in a rented RV. Booked well in advance online from the UK. Be aware that booking opens at set times a few months in advance. I would recommend being online at the right time to book for the summer months. The campground is fantastic located in the forest, close to the river and is served by a good supermarket, showers and free shuttle bus service to the popular parts of the National Park. Sitting under the stars around the camp fire with a nice steak from the BBQ and a glass of red wine is a memory I will always treasure.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank SHandS-Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Ok traveling with no reservation in August in the Sequoia National Park it's probably not the best idea ever...but my boyfriend and I decided to change our summer plan such last minute that we thought: "we have a tend, we have a car, we will find a spot". In theory this is what camping should be, in the reality not so true. We entered the park on a light shower day that happen to be a Saturday and the main billboard told us all the campsite near by were full. The two available were 41 miles in. Not a great news. We drove with the hope to find a spot anyway and guess??? We entered the Lodgepole campground even if the sign was full. We asked and there was a spot available just for the night. We took it. It ended up to be a very nice one. We heard the creek running under us. We stayed just for a day but enough time to appreciate the trails, the woods (which is also collectible for camp fire), the shower - 3 dollar for a hot shower - the washer (1.25 for a small load) and the market near by.
It's definately a big campsite and it was packed but we had a blast. If you are planning to go make a reservation and check it out:)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimoCmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,449 reviews
10.1 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
653 reviews
16.0 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
13.2 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
181 reviews
13.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodgepole Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgepole Campground

Address: One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodgepole Campground has 214 sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lodgepole Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Lodgepole Campground Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing