We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
141
49
14
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
49
14
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crystal cave bear box tent pad visitor center kaweah river falls trail creek running fire pit blue jays tent sites great site creek bed ft rv pine needles shady spots dogs are allowed water spigot
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 206 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went for our 22nd anniversary for 5 nights after Labor day. We picked site 202 since we have a trailer and it was great. We have a small 15ft vintage trailer so it fit but not for bigger trailers. The site backs up to the mountain so was beautiful. Showers are $3 for 10 minutes, store is good for supplies. Lots to explore, lots of wildlife.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
5  Thank We4palls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Beautiful camp site!

We stayed for 3 nights in a 32ft RV. Surrounded by beautiful trees & mountains at an elevation of 6,800ft. You can take a few different hikes directly from the campsite & on our first one we saw 3 bears which was a wonderful sight. Chipmonks everywhere & deer wandering in & out of camp too. The waterfalls were not at their best as it was August & there had been a heatwave too, but still fantastic to look at.

Use the free shuttle buses that come into camp to get you around to the many local attractions. General Sherman tree & the Giant Forest are a must, as well as Morro Rock which is worth the climb. Take the short hike back from Morro Rock to the museum where you can see & touch many of the giant redwoods as you walk. We were luck to see another bear here too. As long as you make noise ie. talk as you walk, you will have no problems with the bears.

Toilets are clean & ok in the campsite & the showers are in the main visitor centre along side the laundry, shop & cafe selling hot & cold drink/food. The shop is well stocked & quite well priced considering where it is.

The creek running through the camp was wonderful to cool off in on a hot day & added to the peace & tranquility this site gave us. Use the bear boxes for all food & smellies but if you are in an RV you don't have to. You are able to leave it all in the RV as long as you draw the curtains.

The roads in Sequoia are ok for RV's, just take your time.

A beautifull location & one where I would return to again.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Staveley-Stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were fortunate to have chosen a great site which afforded a high degree of privacy for where we were at. First of all this is a massive and very busy campground so do not expect solitude or a wilderness experience. There are people everywhere. But they are people having a great time and that is part of the park experience. If you do not like a crowd then strap on a back pack. Our site was great (we actually had two) with a well developed tent pad. Pay close attention to the pad size as there will not be any other flat ground at most sites. We got real lucky and found flat spaces up the hill a bit and actually used the tent pad as our eating area which opened up the campfire space. Most sites will also only have parking for one vehicle. Do not trust the reservation site map. Get the map from the park service in choosing your site lest you find yourself right on top of your neighbors.

The campground as whole is magnificent though with the Marble Fork of the Kaweah River running right through. Even with the low water this year there were plenty of swimming holes and the fishing was excellent. It is the best location in the park as you are close to all the major groves, the one store, and eating locations. We will return. Only complaint is the bathrooms and showers need better upkeep.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights at Sequoia on a US Road Trip in a rented RV. Booked well in advance online from the UK. Be aware that booking opens at set times a few months in advance. I would recommend being online at the right time to book for the summer months. The campground is fantastic located in the forest, close to the river and is served by a good supermarket, showers and free shuttle bus service to the popular parts of the National Park. Sitting under the stars around the camp fire with a nice steak from the BBQ and a glass of red wine is a memory I will always treasure.

Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank SHandS-Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Ok traveling with no reservation in August in the Sequoia National Park it's probably not the best idea ever...but my boyfriend and I decided to change our summer plan such last minute that we thought: "we have a tend, we have a car, we will find a spot". In theory this is what camping should be, in the reality not so true. We entered the park on a light shower day that happen to be a Saturday and the main billboard told us all the campsite near by were full. The two available were 41 miles in. Not a great news. We drove with the hope to find a spot anyway and guess??? We entered the Lodgepole campground even if the sign was full. We asked and there was a spot available just for the night. We took it. It ended up to be a very nice one. We heard the creek running under us. We stayed just for a day but enough time to appreciate the trails, the woods (which is also collectible for camp fire), the shower - 3 dollar for a hot shower - the washer (1.25 for a small load) and the market near by.
It's definately a big campsite and it was packed but we had a blast. If you are planning to go make a reservation and check it out:)

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimoCmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews