We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
138
49
14
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
49
14
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crystal cave bear box kaweah river visitor center falls trail creek running blue jays tent sites great site fire pit creek bed ft rv pine needles shady spots dogs are allowed water spigot nearby trails
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 203 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights at Sequoia on a US Road Trip in a rented RV. Booked well in advance online from the UK. Be aware that booking opens at set times a few months in advance. I would recommend being online at the right time to book for the summer months. The campground is fantastic located in the forest, close to the river and is served by a good supermarket, showers and free shuttle bus service to the popular parts of the National Park. Sitting under the stars around the camp fire with a nice steak from the BBQ and a glass of red wine is a memory I will always treasure.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank SHandS-Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Ok traveling with no reservation in August in the Sequoia National Park it's probably not the best idea ever...but my boyfriend and I decided to change our summer plan such last minute that we thought: "we have a tend, we have a car, we will find a spot". In theory this is what camping should be, in the reality not so true. We entered the park on a light shower day that happen to be a Saturday and the main billboard told us all the campsite near by were full. The two available were 41 miles in. Not a great news. We drove with the hope to find a spot anyway and guess??? We entered the Lodgepole campground even if the sign was full. We asked and there was a spot available just for the night. We took it. It ended up to be a very nice one. We heard the creek running under us. We stayed just for a day but enough time to appreciate the trails, the woods (which is also collectible for camp fire), the shower - 3 dollar for a hot shower - the washer (1.25 for a small load) and the market near by.
It's definately a big campsite and it was packed but we had a blast. If you are planning to go make a reservation and check it out:)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimoCmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Based on reviews we chose lodgepole as our end of Summer trip. Coming from SF it is a long 4-5 hour drive. We arrived late in the evening but found our site very easily- sites are clearly marked. In the morning we were rewarded by a beautiful wooded view and the sound of the creek (marble fork of kaweah river).

We stayed in sites 107 and 106. They are located on a hill across from the creek and are quite secluded.

The creek is great for cooling off and exploring by kids.

While there are over 200 campsites at lodgepole most of the campsites are on top of each other!(very disappointing). Be very careful of your site selection: otherwise your 5 hour drive may be to a crowded tailgate party.

The best sites are the ones that are fairly private/secluded where you won't see, hear, or smell your neighbors.
102, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 144, 143

There are also some private ones right near the water: 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101

I think the best site is 101- private, near the water and a beautiful sunset.

The other sites located in clusters around a circular road are like communal camping- not worth it. (actually the ones located on the outer edge may be okay- but still way toooo many people, cars)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank induway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have always wanted to see a bear in the wild. This trip, I got to see 6! Thanks for the show, mother nature.
What a great time we had at Lodgepole. We reserved 4 spots; 71, 72, 73 and 75. All were really great, but 71 and 72 were bigger than the other two and they were closer to the river, which had a couple perfect swimming holes. The water is so clear, you can even see the trout swimming around.
Each spot has a fire ring and a bear box. The box was surprisingly big. Plus, the campground has extra boxes throughout. The bathroom was close (don't forget your flashlight) as was a water spigot. There is a frequent shuttle that comes around to take you to the popular places. We were on the bus when we saw one of the bears, but the driver didn't stop to let us take pictures!
Three nights wasn't enough!

Room Tip: If you have kids, don't forget to check in at the Ranger station so the kids can get their Junior Ranger workbook. When they finish, they get to be sworn in as Junior Rangers. Very cute. Plus, you can collect the badges from all the parks you visit.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
8  Thank MsPinkerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

When I first saw the very large Lodgepole campground, I thought it would be noisy and miserable. However, I was pleasantly surprised. My family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed here for 3 nights in August, 2012. The weather at the foothills could be 95+ degrees but at 6700ft, Lodgepole was pleasant in the afternoon at about 75 degrees and cool, nice, sleeping weather at night at about high 50's to 60's. We were in the upper Lodgepole area in site 139 and although neighbors were quite close by, it didn't feel that way. We were close to a spigot for drinkable water and a bathroom with flushable toilet and dishwashing sink. The bathroom was fairly clean (women's, although my son complained about the men's) When camping, I think neighbors make a big difference. The days we were at Sequoia were nice because the neighbors were conscientious about noise. Everyone seemed to respect the quiet times. Dog owners, please follow the rules and leash your dogs!

The campground is next to a river, which was pretty dry at this time. We saw a mama bear and cub on the other side of the river one morning, which was a highlight! The campground is also close to a shuttle stop - we took the shuttle to main sites which was the best option since they stopped at the front for sites, had air conditioning and came around every 15 minutes (and knowing we were helping the environment was great!) The market sold expensive ice cream ($8 for a pint of ice cream!) but the milk was reasonable. The showers were $3 for 10 minutes which turned out to be more than sufficient for getting clean and feeling fresh again after a day of hiking, even for family showering. The visitor center had some interesting exhibits and movies and the rangers were helpful.

Overall, this is a very nice campground in this beautiful park. Though a large campground, the campsites are nicely placed.

Room Tip: Stay away from the low numbers. Although closer to the market and deli, the sites don't seem as nice.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EastBayMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews