We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and absolutely stunning”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodgepole Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quiet and absolutely stunning”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had reservations at Bass Lake for two nights as the first leg of our Yosemite trip, but decided a week before that we wanted to stay the first two nights around Sequoia and Kings Canyon instead, so we nixed Bass Lake and decided to try our luck as a walk-up at Lodgepole. I am SO glad we did. We arrived the Wednesday before Memorial Day and had no trouble getting a spot - there were plenty open. They let us drive around and check them out before deciding on a site and we immediately fell in love with Site 66. Some of the sites sit a bit close to each other, but they are all thoughtfully arranged, with a clear designation for your tent, two picnic tables, the firepit near the bear box ,,, One half of our firepit was ringed by some rocks that would have made a nice seat if we hadn't had our camp chairs. Our tent backed to the side of the hill and sat a little behind the neighboring site, so it felt very private. We had two deer walk right down into our camp site and just kind of hang out there for a bit - definitely a lot of chances to get close to nature here (we saw a bear grazing in a meadow while we were out and about, too).

The bathrooms were the cleanest I've ever encountered at a state park and there are ample water spouts and washing-up stations. The rangers were so friendly. They really want their visitors to have a great experience, and it shows! The nearby Lodgepole Market is pretty expensive (no surprise there) but handy in case you left an essential at home or need to stock up on ice. Showers and laundry are located near the market. Showers are $3 for 10 minutes and unlike some campgrounds, the water stays hot and has good pressure. There's a change machine outside so no need to clean out the piggy banks before you come. Great hiking trails abound - both within walking distance and a short drive/ (free) tram-ride away.

I loved Lodgepole and the whole Sequoia area so much I really didn't want to leave, even though our vacation was continuing at Yosemite. I would have been happy to spend all 5 nights of our trip here. We will definitely be back, and soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank clucker05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    40
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
76
56
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
CA Central Coast
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We tent-camped at Lodgepole in mid-June of 2011 for four nights... and it was, as my title says, the best camping trip of our lives. We traveled with two elementary school-age boys. It was cold, so be prepared for that if you go early in the season. Have a good sleeping bag! The snow was mostly melted in the campground, but still present on some nearby trails as we gained elevation. We hiked one trail in shorts, but as we gained elevation, we still needed to follow the ribbons on the trees to know where the trail was and we were in snow that was knee deep or more if you broke through. There are a ton of great hikes for families nearby that don't include snow, though, and abundant wildlife (deer, bears, woodpeckers, marmots, etc.). We saw four bears on our hikes... pretty up close. Be respectful and know what to do -- the visitor's center rangers will have info for you if you don't know! So many spectacular experiences were packed into our four days. The campsite has a great visitor's lodge, shuttle service, excellent HOT showers, a post office, a great store packed with essentials and survival gear as well as a ton of gift items, and even a basic pizza/sandwich restaurant when you just need a little break from roughing it. We really look forward to going back to the area next summer... maybe to Kings Canyon this time around... but honestly, the thing that keeps us from committing to that is that we won't have Lodgepole. Maybe we'll just have to go to Sequoia and Lodgepole again and take day trips to Kings Canyon.... hmmmm....

Room Tip: Our campsite was across the Log Bridge... no complaints! If you are in a campsite next to the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CentralCoastTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We loved Lodgepole Campground! We only stayed one night, but wished we could have stayed longer. Many of the sites looked nice, though some were definitely better than others, so be sure to check out the campground map before you book your reservations. We chose site 135 and absolutely loved it! It was close to the river, and even in late August you could hear the water rushing by as you fell asleep - so peaceful! There is one other site near this one that is closer to the river, but that one is further from the car / bathroom, and there is still enough space between the sites so that you had some privacy. One thing to note is that the bathroom is up a steep, rocky hill and there are no lights in the bathroom, so a headlamp is really useful! Really great setting. One of the best national park camping experiences we've had!

Room Tip: Highly recommend site 135 - we would choose it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank NYHonduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This was our first time to Sequoia and decided to camp at Lodgepole due to the reviews on TA. Let me say it did not disappoint and photos definitely do not do it any justice. We had campsite #99 and although campsite #98 was really close, it was a beautiful campsite right next to the Kaweah River. If you decide to reserve a campsite via [---], note that "walk to" campsites are only like a 10 second walk from where you park. We hiked the trail across from the river the next morning and got a chance to see a cub and an adult black bear grazing off the trail! Giant Forest and General Sherman are only about a 15 minute drive away from the campsite and the campsite store has everything from wine and beer to corn on the cob. All in all an unforgettable experience at Lodgepole.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank LNguyen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We so enjoyed our first visit to this area. We had four sites at Lodgepole right along the river, with plenty of room to set up our four tents, and one screened tent for eating. Beware that some of the tent campsites only accomodate one tent per site. Even though we went late in the season there is plenty of water in the river to cool off in. The sites are all clean, and the campground store is well stocked, especially since I forgot all my clothes at home!! We highly recommend Crystal Cave. It is definitely a must see in the area( if claustrophobia is not an issue). We did see one black bear off the road, another highlight!

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank kbman0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This campsite was very nice. we were right next to the creek and it was awesome! we had sites 40 and 41. they were close enough to the restrooms, parking and water pump. not far from the store or showers. Very beautiful scenery. No bears near our campsite but lots of deer. Weather was perfect. we went end of august. Great for families with small children. Lot's to do and see. We stayed 4 days 3 nights and will absolutly camp here again!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank pinkjesusgurl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redondo beach, california
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Lodgepole is a wonderful place to camp. The sites are clean and large and can accommodate family's and couples alike. I stayed here for 6 nights and was busy every moment. The bear boxes are very large and we could fit 2 coolers, a dry food box, plus all personal items in it. Be warned 2 of the bathrooms were currently under construction and were closed. So no flush toliets close to camp. There seems to be construction all over,including the road up to the campsite. It takes about 1 hour to get to lodgepole from the parks s. Entrance. If you love the beauty of nature, this place is for you......

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank emk36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,340 reviews
10.1 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
624 reviews
16.0 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
296 reviews
17.6 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
13.2 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodgepole Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgepole Campground

Property: Lodgepole Campground
Address: One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodgepole Campground has 214 sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lodgepole Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Lodgepole Campground Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing