We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Terry M
Campbell, California
Quiet room with beautiful surroundings
Review of Wuksachi Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 4, 2019
We enjoyed our three night stay in the Silliman building. The proximity to the Sherman Tree and the Round Meadow, which includes the Big Trees Trail, made it convenient to visit these attractions. We brought our own food for breakfasts and lunches which turned out to be a good choice since there are not many food options near the lodge, especially in winter. As is typical of national park lodges, there was no microwave in the room, just a refrigerator. There are not many places to stay inside Sequoia National Park, but Wuksachi turned out to be adequate for its comfort, convenience, and quietness.
Date of stay: January 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Florence Peak Bedroom #1
Vio.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
11.4 miles from Wuksachi Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior View
Hotels.com
$281
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $282
  • Vio.com
    $185
  • travelup.com
    $249
14.7 miles from Wuksachi Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Standard Room one, King Bed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    $249
  • Hotels.com
10.2 miles from Wuksachi Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front area
Tripadvisor
$126
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
11.0 miles from Wuksachi Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$89
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Skyscanner.com
    $89
  • Tripadvisor
    $89
  • Priceline
12.9 miles from Wuksachi Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$196
$181
  • Expedia.com
  • Choice Hotels
    $181
  • travelup.com
    $191
15.6 miles from Wuksachi Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$166
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Skyscanner.com
    $165
16.0 miles from Wuksachi Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $110
  • Hotels.com
    $150
  • Priceline
16.5 miles from Wuksachi Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$145
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $145
  • Tripadvisor
    $146
  • Priceline
17.0 miles from Wuksachi Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $209
  • Hotels.com
21.4 miles from Wuksachi Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Reviews (3,008)
Filter reviews
3,008 results
Traveler rating
846
1,241
596
226
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
846
1,241
596
226
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking lot superior room sequoia building window fan national park separate buildings dining room stewart building main building make reservations giant forest the general sherman tree beautiful location kings canyon short drive coffee maker mini fridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 3,008 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2019

We stayed two nights last February. It has an unbeatable location, and the basis of a good hotel, but needs some attention in the service area.

The good
• Well, that location! Very close to the awesome majesty that is the Giant Forest, and services at Lodgepole Village. Kings Canyon is a lovely 45 minute drive away. The onsite restaurant is pretty good. (Note, there are no giant sequoias around Wuksachi itself, it's in a very scenic pine forest.)
• Our double queen was pretty spacious, with native-ish décor (not sure where it’s supposed to be native to).
• We had a real coffeemaker and a good-sized fridge. Shower was hot and pressure was good, and our towels were plush.
• We had no trouble finding luggage carts; we could have got assistance from the desk if we’d needed help.

The not-so-good
• The light in the room is bad. A sconce at the entry, a single lamp between the beds, a floor lamp behind the chair, a desk lamp – and all of them on low wattage bulbs. No light to make our coffee or rummage in the fridge, or sit at the table.
• They used a top sheet for the bottom sheet, and it definitely did not fit. Kind of uncomfortable.
• The room heater was always either too much or too little, and the bathroom heater was never, ever enough. I mentioned it was winter, right? Below freezing.
• I couldn’t adjust the shower nozzle to get comfortable. Oddly, we had shampoo and shower gel in in-shower dispensers, but conditioner was in a little tube on the counter. No lotion, which you really need up in the dry mountain air, so bring your own. The sink drained slowly.

Just bad
• Things not clean! There were sticky drips of something on the coffee tray, tv remote and channel guide. One coffee cup had drips – didn’t get cleaned. Our coffeemaker itself never got cleaned. My mom somehow left her socks in her bed, and hey, they were still in there that night.
• The room blocks are a decent walk from the registration/restaurant building, past a pretty big parking lot with slopes and stairs. Even so, in the middle of winter and after a snowstorm, I never saw anyone shoveling walkways, clearing ice, nothing. We were careful and didn’t slip, but I had to wonder how the disabled and elderly manage.

This is a nice set of buildings in an unbeatable location, but they need to fix some service problems, especially given their prices.

Room tip: Our building didn't have an elevator, not sure any of them do.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JenAzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
smatl0ck, Guest Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2019

Thank you JenAzz for staying with us. We appreciate your detailed review as I know your fellow travelers do as well. I apologize with the issues that made your stay with us less than desired; but hope that someday you will return again to allow us another opportunity to get it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

Decent place to stay. Nothing fancy but better than camping. :) The restaurant was fabulous. It would have been nice if they had balconies to enjoy the nature. But they have a great deck at the lodge. It is a haul to get your luggage to your room so be prepared. Travel light.

Date of stay: November 2018
2  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
smatl0ck, Guest Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2019

Thank you Lisa for staying with us. We hope that you enjoyed the park and all that it has to offer and that you will return again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2019

Great lodge in the park!! Liked the walk down to the restaurant, bar, little store.Parking lot near the room, up hill from the lodge, easy to get the suitcases up the path. Fridge in the room. nice bathroom. Pets allowed for a small fee.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank helene k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
smatl0ck, Guest Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2019

Thank you for staying with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time in the park and found your restful accommodations to be everything you needed. #wuksachilodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2019 via mobile

Located conveniently, surrounded by trees and mountains, you will find nice clean room and top rated restaurant. Hotel runs shuttle between rooms and common area. Hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful. When I told them I lost my car key on the way to hotel, they gave me flashlights and had the shuttle driver drive me back in dark to look for it. I can’t be thankful enough.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank naizhongc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
smatl0ck, Guest Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2019

Thank you for staying with us. It is always pleasing to hear when one of the staff follows the philosophy of how important our guests are and to always consider the Guests Path. Please do come back and allow us to be of service to you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018

We toured Kings Canyon all day and then drove on the Generals Highway to Sequoia NP and the Wuksachi Lodge. We were later than we planned because there is a lot to see in Kings Canyon if you drive down into the canyon (the canyon road is a very windy, edge of the cliff road but well worth the drive into the canyon, especially if the sun is shining). It is so beautiful (spectacular views) and there are a couple of waterfalls to see at the bottom. Driving through both parks is like driving through a painting.

I am glad we stayed within the park rather than driving out of the park and then coming back in the next day. Getting in and out of the parks takes lots of time because of the winding narrow roads and there was construction also when we were there.

Anyway, after checking in at Wuksachi, we ate dinner (took a while). We had missed our reservation and had to wait a bit also. There is a place about 10 or 15 minutes away to buy other types of food (Lodgepole), but it was late. Then, after dinner, we had to drive to the actual lodge and it was very dark. Lighting is limited in and from the parking lot also (the park chooses to limit artificial light). We walked a ways (up a grade) to enter the building. Thank goodness we picked the right building because I would not have wanted to walk around much more. The room was fine, although it was cold when we first entered. (They offer assistance to your room if you would like to have it.)

In the morning, my husband drove to Lodgepole and brought back breakfast, then we stopped there again to grab snacks and water before heading out for the day. Wuksachi is close to General Sherman, the drive through fallen tree and Moro Rock etc. The caves are in Sequoia Park also, but it is not really close to the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adventureandhiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews