We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wuksachi Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sierra Lodge(Three Rivers)
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$123
ComfortInn
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
John Muir Lodge(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Cedar Grove Lodge(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt. Williamson Motel(Independence)
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ray's Den Motel(Independence)
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,486)
Filter reviews
2,486 results
Traveler rating
720
1,048
470
177
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
720
1,048
470
177
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking lotdining roomnational parksuperior roompeaks restaurantsequoia buildingseparate buildingswindow fanstewart buildingyour luggagemain buildingdinner reservationsmake reservationsgiant forestgift shopbeautiful locationparking area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,072 - 2,077 of 2,486 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2006

We loved this place for the following reasons 1) It is close to everything 2) The staff was extremely helpful and kind 3) Everything was clean and kept up nicely. The only drawback was the fact that there was no a/c. It was 84 degrees in our room when we checked in. We were on the third floor so that was part of it. They offered to move us to a different room but other guests were complaining so we stayed put. They offered to give us another fan. There were two in the room. The bar b q at Woverton was wonderful and reservations can be made here. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2006

My wife and I have fond memories of the past when we hiked and camped in Sequoia National Park. Now, 30 years later, we have the means to stay in a more up-scale resort and the Wuksachi Lodge looked like a great way to enjoy the park in comfort. Boy were we wrong!

It all started with guest registration. At most resorts you can pull up to temporary parking near the lobby to register and get your keys. Not here! There is a giant parking lot a few hundred yards from the main lodge building where you can stop and hike back to the lobby.

We were told our room was on the third floor and I asked if there was an elevator. We were told that there are no elevators but that you enter on the middle floor and take the stairs one floor up or down. The receptionist handed us a map and told us how to find our room.

At most resorts you can find a parking spot near an entrance to your building and an easy way up to your room. That is not the case here. There is a huge parking lot and three buildings high on the hill above. It was a long walk across the parking lot, a long trail up the hill and another trail that leads to an entrance facing away from the parking lot. There were some luggage carts scattered around that could be used to haul your things up the hill but once you hit the stairs you were lugging everything. My advice, pack light!

I paid a premium for a “deluxe” room and found a small dark hole with tiny windows overlooking a dirt slope. I guess the lack of lighting has to do with energy conservation but the drab dark colors didn’t help.

Dinner in the dining room looked promising and they have a great menu and wine list. Unfortunately the results did not live up to the promise. The staff seems to have been recruited from Sweden or Norway and English does not seem to be a required skill. Service consisted mostly of a little blonde girl walking around pouring water. When I asked her a question she smiled and chirped a pre-recorded sound byte without a clue as to what I was talking about.

Breakfast is to be avoided. The items in the steam trays were tired and old. There was something that I think was supposed to be French toast, the eggs were like rubber and the diced potatoes were like chewing bullets. The coffee was nothing short of horrible and the waiters were slow in bringing it. Even though they charge extra for coffee tea and juice, you would think they would put some out for self service.

The BBQ dinner at Wolverton Meadows was another bust. There were some picnic tables on a deck in direct sun. The few café umbrellas placed around did no good at all to shield the glare. Food consisted of a row of steam trays offering stale dry meat. Since there is nothing else to do in the area, car loads of people just drove up, consumed their meal in silence and drove away. Two employees just stood in stony silence and ignored the customers.

The one thing that I found hard to understand was that not one but two families drove up and asked if they could purchase tickets. They were told that the BBQ was sold out even though there were empty tables and lots of food. I guess that if you want to participate in this grim ritual, you need to purchase your tickets in advance.

The thing that impressed me most about the Wuksachi Lodge was a complete lack of outdoor amenities. There is not a single patio, picnic table, outdoor bar, or anyplace where one could sit and enjoy the mountain air and tall trees. The rooms don’t have much of a view even on the parking lot side and the windows are too small to enjoy it even if they did. I would welcome a small deck attached to my room and some windows big enough to open up and enjoy the mountain air. After all, that’s what I drove all the way up there for.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank SierraTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2006

We took a road trip from Newport Beach and drove up to see the big trees. Stopping on the way at three rivers first we stayed at the simple Holiday Inn in Three Rivers $89.00. Great air conditioning and it was used. It was hot. Nice free breakfast also. We white water rafted on the Keawah and had a great time. Then we drove up to the Wuksachi Lodge to stay one night before checking into Montecito lodge. The lodge lobby is the only nice part of the hotel. Same small room as the Holiday inn but no air. House keeping gave us a fan and thier was one in the celing. The cost was over $200,00 for this dark room with a view of the parking lot. If your tired from hiking all day the drive to one of the three builidings is more than two city blocks. Not for much is up their. I will write about the wonderful Montecito - Sequoia lodge next. WOW

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AwardproTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2006

We had booked two rooms at Wuksachi Lodge a year in advance so we expected no problems when we checked in. One of the rooms was just fine, but the second room although non-smoking reeked of smoke and the toilet didn't flush. We called housekeeping and they promised to come by and deal with the issue. We we returned to the room after a day in the park, the toilet had obviously been serviced but still didn't work properly. I requested a different room and was told we would have to move to a different building as that was all that was available. We agreed even though it meant splitting up our party. The man at the front desk promised to send someone to our room with a new key and to help move our bags. An hour passed and no one came. Finally we went to the front desk ourselves and picked up our new keys, moved rooms and thought our troubles were over. The following day we returned to the new room after breakfast and our keys didn't work. We ended up having to go back and forth to the front desk twice to get our door to finally open. In the process we learned that both rooms we had been given, the "bad toilet" room and the "bad lock" room were known to be problems. I thought with a reservation a year ahead I would have been able to steer clear of getting the bottom of the barrel rooms, especially when the front desk person told me they had been talking walk ins with no reservations. When we checked out, we found that they had mixed up the credit cards for our two rooms and charged us incorrectly, but they immediately and politely fixed this. That said, this is really the only place to stay in the park and I would return because of the location, but would be prepared to deal with a few headaches.

Another thing to be aware of is that the only restaurant open during non peak summer months is the expensive Wuksachi. There is a market at Lodgepole where you can buy food and the rooms are nicely equipped with fridges. You can also ordered boxed lunches a night in advance for day trips.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank TwoFriendsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2006

I'm not sure why there are so many negative reviews of this hotel. Our family had a great time in the park and staying at the Wuksachi Lodge over the Memorial Day weekend. When we arrived at the hotel, the clerk cheerfully greeted us and proceeded to our check-in. It appeared she was a fairly new employee, but she carefully asked her other staff members to make sure she was correctly following procedures and check-in went smoothly. She politely informed us that dinner reservatios were required for the dining room, and showed us where to make a reservation.
Dinner in the dining room also went smoothly. Dinner prices are between $13 and $35, and the food was fine, both in quantity and quality. Our waitress was prompt, polite, and checked with us often throughout dinner. You have to remember that you are dining in a national park and that this restaurant may not have available everything typically found in a fine dining establshment. We were more than satisfied, and dinner was definitely a step-up from the usual park food.
The hotel rooms are in three separate buildings, and there is plenty of parking near each one. Our room was clean, comfortable, and needless to say, at night the area is very quiet. For being in a national park, the rooms are above average, and similar to many three star hotels.
If we visit Sequoia and Kings Canyon again, we would definitely stay here.

Stayed: May 2006
12  Thank Pick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews