We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Beautiful location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2005

This is a handsome hotel set amongst beautiful scenery. The front desk personnel is very polite and efficient. We stayed July 2005 but surely this hotels peak season is winter / skiing time. It is beautiful.
Our room was on the first floor and there was quite a walk from the parking lot to the room itself. This was because there were no golf carts or bellman available at the time-8pm. We lugged a tired child, bags and luggage up a zig zag ramp and then down a zig zag staircase to the first ground floor. The entrance doors were located on the second floor with no use of an elevator. Not a problem. However, we encountered hyphated mold on the white underside of the spread when we turned down the bed to put the baby to sleep. Problem.

Helpful?
8 Thank tessiebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    838
    363
    135
    50
See reviews for
753
870
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2005

My husband and I travelled with our 2 young children (ages 8 and 2). We stayed in one of their "superior" rooms, which is basically a suite with a separate living room area that divided the bedroom with a sliding door. The room had plenty of room for all of us and was nicely decorated and clean.

It was very hot during the day, and the room has no AC (only a ceiling fan). So it was necessary to keep the windows open at night, which meant that we could hear everybody outside in the evening and in the morning.

The first day, we called and asked housekeeping for some items that were missing in our room (kleenex, toilet paper, soap for the shower). We were only given 1 roll of toilet paper and told that eveything else was low in inventory.

We had dinner at the lodge one evening. The food was average. Not a lot of variety. The dining room staff was effecient and courteous, but not very friendly. Our server basically rushed our food out and pretty much dropped it on our table. There isn't a lot of variety or choice of elsewhere to go to either. The next night we ate at the restaurant in Grant's Grove. That restaurant wasn't as "nice", and the food average as well, but we were much more impressed with the friendly services (and catering to families).

The Wuksachi is nicely located in the park, so you can drive to other areas easily.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2005

A good example of monoply lodging. Great location--no competion inside the Park, and it's an hour drive on 10 mile an hour curved roads to the nearest competion unless you want to camp. We visited for two nights in August 2005, and with no A/C the rooms were miserably hot and stuffy, with no way to get cool night air circulating. The mountain view is great, but in the summer, opt for ground floor, forest view--it's cooler. We had to keep the blinds drawn in the daytime to keep the room from going over 90 degrees all nignt, so the mountain view was not of much value.
The restaurant was overpriced at dinner for the quality of food. The chef had just left, and we got his apprentice. In a month or two, things might be better. Their is no restaurant alternative either--the Park Service needs to let some competition in!
Good wildlife viewing around--deer in the parking lot. Room size and quality was fine, just hot!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2005

When we visit Sequoia Nat'l Park, we camp at the Lodgepole campground, about 2 miles away from the Wuksachi Lodge. But we get tired of cooking, so we usually treat ourselves by going to the Lodge for dinner the last night. RESERVATIONS ARE A MUST!

The menu doesn't seem to change, which is kind of strange. I mean, it's the same menu we encountered 3 years ago, not just last year.

Anyway, this visit, we had the sweet potato soup appetizer, which was wonderful. Very slightly spicy, with chiptole peppers, if I remember correctly.

Then, we both had the small spinach salad, which was quite disappointing. Only came with a few tasteless pistachios, and tiny stripts of tomato, with a bland dressing. (The spinach salad in a plastic box at the Lodgepole Market deli was a lot better than this one.)

Finally, we split the baked eggplant, which was frankly inedible. We should have sent it back, it was so bad, but we were still hungry and ate what we could. The pasta the eggplant topped was OK, not great, but the eggplant was simply not cooked completely, and came with the bitter skin still on. AVOID the eggplant unless you like it uncooked.

I was also upset that we were charged a $3.50 "split" fee for the $18.95 eggplant dish, even though we had both ordered separate appetizers and salads. I should have contested it, but by that point just wanted to leave such a disappointing, expensive meal.

IF I eat there again, because there are no other restaurants miles around, I will be more vigilant and send back poor dishes!

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank shelleyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2005

We stopped here on 16th June 05 for 1 night. The rooms are contained in very large wooden cabins 7000 feet up! We had a standard room which was large and clean but very basic with coffee maker, fridge and simple furnishings. It had a good view and was right in the middle of the park so making an excellent base. Essentially it's the location you pay for here.

Breakfast was good quality and mid priced for a buffet, $10 plus drinks. Staff were helpful and knowledgable, there were Ranger talks and fact sheets around. Nice reception and dining area. Parking is free. There is a park entrance fee to pay.

Top tip : Don't arrive too late as we did as it was very very dark and there's no one around other than bears and deer. The deer casually step out of bushes pretending to be bears. Reception is open 24hours.

To put our review into context, this was part of our June tour of California and New York that included the following hotels, also reviewed on tripadvisor.

Sofitel - Los Angeles, Best Western O'cairns - Lompoc, Travel Lodge Monterey Bay, Serrano - San Francisco, Wuksachi Lodge - Sequoia Nat park, Yosemite View Lodge - Yosemite Nat park, Furnace Creek Ranch - Deach Valley, Aladdin - Las Vegas, UN Millennium Plaza - New York

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve_and_Lorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2005

The location for this lodge was beyond belief. Right in the center of the park. In the morning there were Mule Deer in the parking lot. Obviously they were accustomed to having their photos taken because they didn't even look up from grazing on the shrubbery as we photographed them.

The room had no A/C, but a fan was provided. After opening the window to let in the cool night air and positioning the fan to blow it over us, the temperature was quite pleasant.

The bathroom needed a bit of attention. The shower curtain was moldy and there was a line of mold at the entrance to the shower. After informing the desk clerk in the morning, the cleaning crew took care of it, but I would have expected it to have been done as a matter of course, not after a guest mentions it.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
16 Thank Douglas Reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2005

We stayed here one night during our honeymoontrip.
The rooms are quite comfortable and clean.
Wonderful surroundings too; snow in May (!)
Best of all was the meals they were serving; definitely no complaints about that!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
14.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
12.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Property: Wuksachi Lodge
Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262-9604
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing