We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wuksachi means Walking!”
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We recently stayed 4 nights at the Wuksachi Lodge in Sequoia National Park. It's by far the nicest place to stay there, but the lodge is totally separate from the rooms, which are an uphill walk from the parking area. The lodge parking area and the room parking areas are in two different places. Because my husband had just had surgery, we were unprepared for all the walking and he was out of breath each time we got up to our room. We also drove to and from the lodge for our meals because it was hard for him to walk all that way. The Lodge meals were outstanding. We had 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners there. The Wuksachi salad is huge and a wonderful treat. The rest of my family was camping, so we drove to Lodgepole Campground the rest of the time to eat with them.

Room Tip: You must walk up from the parking lot to all the rooms. They do have carts so you can push/pull your...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,396)
There are newer reviews for Wuksachi Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,202 - 1,208 of 2,396 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2014

Going on a weekday in the off season means you practically have this winter wonderland to yourselves. The hotel rooms themselves are adequate, but the Lodge restaurant is truly wonderful and the sequoias are unsurpassed for their majesty and beauty. (I do not use those words lightly.) Going in winter meant taking our lives in our hands -- just my 88 year old mother and me on snow covered roads, with me learning how to put on snow chains for the first time -- but the silence and the beauty of this place in winter will truly lift your spirits once you get there. Plan to stay a few days to soak it all in. I'm going back with my husband for our anniversary. Can't wait to share this with him!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KatrinkaSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for the great review and sharing with other travels that Wuksachi Lodge is open year round. . It is a winter wonderland up in the park and I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed it so much the first that you will be joining us again in the near future. Let us know when you’re coming back to join us for your anniversary. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful lodge! Great market, shops, and visitor center about two miles away from the lobby of the lodge! Friendly staff! Food was phenomenal! Would definitely come back again! The only thing that upset us was the TERRIBLE Wifi service!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank LexiLou1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for the awesome review! We are delighted to read that the staff was friendly, the food was phenomenal and you enjoyed your experience. We are looking at solutions to improve on our WiFi as we are experiencing additional challenges this year with the minor road construction in the park. We look forward to having you back as one of our returning guest. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Just got back from several nights at the Wuksachi Lodge, nice place to stay -- great location -- service was a bit slow. Located between Sequoia and Kings Canyon you can easily get to any place in either park in about 45 minutes. When you book a room try to get 1st or 2nd floor -- we stayed on the 3rd floor and even thought the temperature outside got down to the upper 40s at night, the 3rd floor collects all the heat from the lower floors. Make dinner reservation in advance. There aren't very many dinner options in the park and without reservation you might be eating at 10:00 at night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Wuksachi Lodge and sharing your feedback with other travelers. We are pleased to read it was a great location, and a nice place to stay. I apologize that the service was a bit slow and will look into what transpired during your stay to ensure we approve upon our speed. Thank you for sharing your helpful hints and we hope you will join us again in the near future. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

It's a beautiful location, and a very well managed and immaculate establishment. It was my first visit to the area, and was a perfect location for the usual sights.

The lodges are perfectly comfortable, and well presented, but as others have said, the corridors do make it does feel slightly institutional. That said, it blends perfectly into the landscape, and definitely isn't an eyesore on the landscape, so I guess that is the trade off.

We stayed in a 'superior king' room, at the end of the corridor, which had a roll out bed, fridge etc, and was very clean and comfortable. Couple of minor issues that I reported were resolved promptly - hairdryer and coffee maker replaced.

Staff are efficient and helpful, and the check-in was smooth.

Be sure to make dinner reservations. Dinner was of a very high standard, but given the location, there are no other options, so it is expensive. Service friendly, but slightly erratic.

Overall, I would almost certainly go back, and would definitively recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for your kind review regarding the location, immaculate establishment and the efficiency of the staff. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience and the property. We look forward to having you as one of our return guest. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This lodge is comfortable and centrally located for Sequoia National Park, within 5-10 minutes drive of many popular areas. As others note, the rooms are in three motel-like structures a short walk from the main lodge. The rooms are fairly standard with decent bathrooms. Very expensive, but you always pay a hefty premium to be in the park.

The main lodge is very nicely appointed and handsomely decorated, but not as big as I expected.

My main objection was to the food, especially at dinner, which ranged between poor and AWFUL. I ordered the "special" Mahi-Mahi the first night and the fish was uncooked, smelled terrible, and was basically just plopped down unadorned on a bed of overcooked wild rice and asparagus. My wife's plain tomato and olive oil pasta should have been a safer bet, but it was dreadful as well. We stuck to even safer dishes, like burgers and salads, the rest of the nights, which were mediocre but edible. Nobody apparently knows how to cook at the restaurant, and the chef should be fired immediately. Breakfast, on the other hand, was a good, standard buffet, with the continental reasonably priced at $7.50. Staffers ranged from inexperienced and harried -- throw the food down without taking away the first course -- to very nice. Oh, and there's no air conditioning. On one hot day, the dining room was literally 85 degrees and the staff didn't seem too interested in opening the few tiny windows or the front doors. It cooled off after that, and somebody besides us must have complained because the front doors and windows were all open.

WARNING -- the food in the deli at the nearby Lodgepole Village was even worse, if that is possible. My wife had a chicken caesar wrap with some unidentifiable mystery meat instead of chicken. Maybe that means the concessionaire --I believe Delaware North -- is the one that should be fired.

As for the lodge, there is surprisingly no view from the main windows (trees, not mountains), there is very little space to hang out, and the bar area is small. Front desk clerk was a bit snippy when we asked if we could avoid switching rooms mid-stay (we had booked a queen first two nights, and a king the third night, and lucky to get those.)

Wi-Fi in the lodge was slow and erratic, and didn't work for an entire day.

Overall, we generally enjoyed our stay. The site is still nice, with fresh mountain air. There was a big mule deer grazing in the bushes outside our window, and the stars were amazing away from the lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marco2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location however we are sincerely sorry that we did not exceed your expectations with the food. I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you more about your dining experience; would you mind call me at 559-565-4070 ext 602. Kind Regards, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
630 reviews
14.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
520 reviews
13.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
307 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262-9604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range: $129 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing