We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Nice and in Tune with Nature”
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Tips: do not bring your luggage to the front desk... the rooms are in separate buildings. There's no A/C (only heaters). We opened the windows in our room. Please make sure to make restaurant reservations way ahead of time. There's no other closer restaurants. The convenient store and sandwich place is not open at night. The convenient store had practically everything we needed (even Desitin). In addition, there's showers for the campers and a post office too.

The food was great! The variety of the menu was also a nice surprise if you have any diet restrictions. The lavender ice cream and the red velvet cake was delicious. My favorites were the venison and the ribs. The staff was very pleasant. Be realistic at diner time, it gets very busy. The staff cannot accommodate everyone at the same time. There's a $10 fee if you bring your own bottle of wine (it's actually cheaper to pay the fee).

The room was clean and nice. Remember that this is NOT the Ritz. Some people were expecting a luxurious room... come on! This is in the middle of the park. Another good thing was the location. The main park attractions are nearby. Beware, but enjoy watching the wildlife at the back of the lodge. Bring your binoculars and watch the stars too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bids_Wiederstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments and all the helpful tips. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the Lodgepole Market, Wuksachi Lodge and the Peaks Restaurant. Chef Graham and his team will be pleased to read that you were happy with the menu variety, quality of food and that your food was great. I am a fan of the lavender ice cream as well! We hope you will join us again in the near future. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assitant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,284 - 1,290 of 2,429 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel we were advised that dinner reservations were required and that we should check on availability immediately. Since we were willing to be seated right away, we filled a cancelled reservation. The dining room was lovely-with close up views of the mountains and woods. Two of us shared 1) a 3 course meal of steak, Caesar salad, and cobbler; and 2) lamb shank, risotto and broccoli rabe. Everything was delicious except for the "roasted potatoes" that seemed to be baked potatoes sliced in four parts. The lamb shank and risotto were especially wonderful. Dinner for two with one glass of wine, one tea and tip was $87, which didn't seem too bad for a national park meal.

Because we ate before going to our room, it was dark when we moved in. Despite the warnings and waivers about bear activity, there was very poor lighting in the parking lot and on walkways. We had some difficulty determining where to enter the middle building and were surprised to find that the entry was on the second floor, although our room was on the first floor. This wasn't a problem for us, but I think that it could be for some folks since there was no elevator. When we arrived in the room, we were dismayed by the condition/cleanliness, but felt that we had no option at 9:30 since we had been told that the lodge was full. The next morning I spoke to a manager who reduced the price by 75%.

The buildings were in a lovely location, and I would stay there again, despite the problems we encountered.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stillhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for sharing the valuable feedback about your recent visit. Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment in your room, but I am glad to see that the manager assisted immediate when it was brought to their attention. I am pleased to read that you thought the food was delicious and you enjoyed the location. We look forward to your next visit, and thank you for giving us a second chance to provide you the experience you deserve. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My husband I recently spent a night at Wuksachi Lodge in Sequoia. It is in a beautiful setting with lovely landscaping and views. The staff is friendly and helpful. The reception area has a rustic atmosphere, with comfortable chairs, painted beams, and stonework. Although a fireplace in the public area would have added to the charm, there is a wood stove with a nice stonework wall. We had a "deluxe" room with a king bed. The room was spacious and clean, although the decor was very ordinary and could easily be improved with a nicer bedspread, better quality blanket and more attractive art work. The food in the restaurant was very good and the views beautiful. I highly recommend a window table. The sequoia trees in the park are beautiful. I highly recommend a drive to and a walk around Crescent Meadow.

Room Tip: We had a room on the bottom floor which does not have an elevator. If you are carrying suitcases, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susierapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am happy to read that the rooms were spacious and clean. It is always a pleasure to read that the staff was friendly and helpful and that our guest has enjoyed their stay. Thank you for staying with us and please join us again. We hope to have some upgrades in the near future. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

As far as the selection of lodging available in the Sequoia and Kings Canyon parks, Wuksachi is the nicest place to stay. It is a little pricey, but you get what you pay for and there are no other places that even come close to quality of this lodge. There is a very nice restaurant inside, which is very convenient to come back to after a day of hiking. It is inconvenient to walk a small distance from your car to the room, but they do provide bellhop carts in the parking lots for you to use if needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for the great recommendation on the quality of the lodge and the restaurant. We strive to provide a great experience and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will join us again in the near future. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have stayed here once before. I like the location, away from the congestion of Grant's Grove and convenient to the Sequoia's and Moro, Beetle and Sunset Rock, and the meadows. Plus, it is cooler where it is. My primary complaint here is loading and unloading. the bldgs. (3 of them) are located separately from the main "lodge", which houses the restaurant, front desk and a small gift shop. It is about a 300 yd walk thru shrubs and trees to the sleeping qtrs. The bldgs. are 3 stories and you come in on the "2nd" floor and the "1st" floor is upstairs and the "3rd" floor is down. There are no elevators, so plan accordingly. We were on a 2 week adventure including a conference, so we had lots of stuff. There is a service road that runs right beside the bldgs. where you go in, but it is not supposed to be for guests...although a few did do this. The parking area is separated into three sections, two (I think, may have been three) upper lots with the walk up between the bldgs., and a lower overflow lot. The problem here is if you are not in the lot in front of a particularly bldg., you have to haul stuff down to the walkway, to go back up to the one you are staying in. They do have luggage carts that end up sitting in the parking lot, or up in one of the bldgs. The trick here is that you have to leave someone with your cart and luggage as you shuttle it up or down if you are not on the "2nd" floor. I preferred to be on the top floor so you did not have to worry about leaving window open at nite or when you go out for the day since it is not at ground level. And lastly, you have to take everything food wise in to your room so bears do not get try to get in your car. And they are there. we saw 5 adjacent to lodge while eating dinner.
Although this may sound like I am complaining, I am really not...just be prepared for the setup. I really like the place and hope to return. It is very peaceful and relaxing, away from things.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bills83au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased to read that really like the place and your experience was peaceful and relaxing! I am sorry to read that you hauled all your belongs to your room on your own, as we offer luggage assistance at the desk to make it easier to remove all items from your vehicle in bear county. The property is spread across the grounds to minimize the visual impact of the facilities amongst the natural settings. Thank you again, and we hope you will visit us again soon. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here for just 1 night as part of our 19 night road trip and we were really pleased with the whole experience. It wasn't the cheapest place to stay but we felt that we got value for our money. It was very clean and very comfortable. There was quite a walk from the car to the actual room and being as you are in Bear country you really do need to bring in all your luggage so that was an effort! We were on the top floor of the Sequoia Building in room 334.
We ate in the hotel restaurant and it was a lovely experience. The food and wine was really very good, the service was excellent. We had breakfast included and that too was very good, The location is brilliant, and you feel very secluded and away from the real world.
We would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TASmart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you for your great review! I am pleased to review that you had a lovely experience in The Peaks restaurant and enjoyed your room. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to your next experience. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed overnight at Wuksachi Lodge with our adult sons, and my mother. We were very comfortable, and were able to get a roll away bed for our extra person.
The restaurant is very good,and although prices seem high, it is well worth it to maximize your time in this spectacular gem by not having to drive to and fro, as we have in the past.
Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pazyluz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation! We are pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the food in the restaurant. I am pleased to read that you joined us on more than one occasion. Please come visit us again soon! All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
644 reviews
14.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
535 reviews
13.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
311 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262-9604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range: $128 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing