We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ranked 3 on 5... Only cause it is in the forest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nyc
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ranked 3 on 5... Only cause it is in the forest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is average on a forgiving day.

It's a fine property, and the staff is nice and cares, but this is just mediocre for the money, even after considering it is in the woods.

The place is understaffed. The all important gift shop/ canteen where you get water and food for you hikes and drives is not staffed. You have to wait in line at lodge check-in counter to buy your Gatorade, sandwich or trail mix as people check into the hotel. 25 minutes for Gatorade? Closest option is 25 miles away.

The meals were ok at best, but restaurant understaffed. Plan on long wait.

Rooms clean enough for the woods, but, the bed spread had not been clean in a while.

Okay enough if you want to stay in the park, but one night was enough. Again, I think the staff cared, but management cuts every corner they can.

Fodors was dead off on this one!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redsox1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for your comments, Redsox1918. We are glad to hear you encountered consistently helpful staff, but sorry that you felt frustrated with some timing and dining situations. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    851
    370
    137
    50
See reviews for
776
887
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Loved Wuksachi Lodge in Sequoia National Forest. We rented the 2 room suite which was perfect and very affordable for our family of four. The room was comfortable and clean. The lodge staff was helpful, attentive, and pleasant. Would recommend for families!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank car0le_rSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for your comments, Car0le_rSanDiego. We are so glad to hear that your family had a great Wuksachi experience! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

When I say it's the only place to stay I mean "It's the ONLY place to stay"!!!! It's right in the middle of Sequoia and Kings Canyon and during the winter it's the only lodge open. Everything else is closed. The lodge was nice nothing outstanding except for the views. I wish they had those fake fireplaces to warm up the room but the heat was centralized. The room was clean, had a couch and desk. The lodge is separate from the main lodge so don't unpack! Bring your own food if visiting during the winter cause the lodge is the only place open and the restaurant can be very expensive when eating there every night. There's no microwave in the room. Overall it's a nice place to stay, the staff was nice and the food was ok. I'm definitely staying there again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We appreciate your comments, Mike. We are pleased that you had a nice time at Wuksachi and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our party of three stayed at Wuksachi Lodge in April 2014. Here is a category-by-category breakdown of our rating:

Service: 4/5

Service at the Lodge is top notch. All the staff we dealt with were friendly and attentive. The reason we give this a 4/5 instead of a 5/5 was that there is no dedicated concierge or obvious place to get information about the park. It would have been nice to sit down with someone that knows the park to see what activities they recommended or what was available. If there was a concierge or someone filling that role, it wasn't obvious.

Value: 5/5

We thought the lodge was a great value - much cheaper than Yosemite for comparable service, location, and better food.

Sleep Quality: 4/5

The Lodge was pretty quiet while we were there, but you can still hear hall noise clearly. Depending on which side of your housing unit you're on, morning light can be quite intense.

Cleanliness: 4/5

No complaints or comments about room cleanliness.

Location: 3/5

Wuksachi Lodge is literally in the middle of the park, about an hour drive from each park entrance. The south entrance is a very windy road that gets icy in the winter - you *will* need chains if there's any chance of snow. The road can get quite steep - you should not attempt to drive to the lodge in the snow if you do not have chains. This makes the lodge a bit isolated. It is close to the General Sherman, Lodgepole, and Wolverton.

Rooms: 3/5

We had a 1-br suite which was comfortable and appropriately utilitarian. The only reason we give this a 3/5 instead of a 4/5 is because the WiFi in the rooms is very slow and sometimes it goes down without warning.

Swimming Pool: No rating
Fitness Center: No rating

Closing thoughts: We would definitely stay at the Wuksachi Lodge again. It's comfortable, has great views, and the staff is friendly. Just make sure you're prepared in the wintertime with tire chains and take it slow on the roads.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CorporateFatCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for your comments, CorporateFatCat. We are glad you found your stay at Wukaschi comfortable and accommodating, but we are sorry you felt the Wi-Fi was on the slow side. Given our remote location, we set up our rooms to provide the best connection possible for guest convenience and comfort. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Beautiful setting. Separate buildings for rooms provide plenty of privacy from the main lodge foot traffic. The clientele includes lots of international travelers and families. Staff is friendly, if occasionally a bit harried. Restaurant service is only available for take out or seated dining, otherwise no negatives to mention. Room decor is simple and could be updated, but most importantly everything was very clean. The stunning views out of the windows more than make up for any lack decoration department. All in all, well worth the money to stay here inside the park and experience the Sequoias first hand!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Catherine. It’s great to hear you had a comfortable stay at Wuksachi and received warm service from our staff. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our stay at Wuksachi Lodge was wonderful. The drive up 198 was the roughest road I’ve ever been on. There were so many switchbacks I did get carsick. I would recommend the alternate route via 180 (they way we left).

The staff was very friendly and the guy that checked us in was the best hotel employee we have ever encountered. He went out of his way to explain our options for exploring, as we were only there for one night.

The rooms were exactly what we expected after reading various reviews. The room was outdated but very clean with everything we needed for the night. The towels were a bit rough. We planned ahead and had dinner before entering the park and packed our own snacks since there is not anything close by other than the lodge to purchase food. We booked the breakfast package and it did not disappoint. It was a buffet style on the Monday morning we were there. The buffet included traditional items, eggs, frittata, bacon, sausage, potatoes, pancakes, bagels, yogurt, and fresh fruit. The potatoes were especially tasty. The restaurant was not at all crowded; we were there around 730.

Everything was open while we were there (second week of March) and the major attractions are all a few miles away from the lodge. There are lots of signs pointing you in the right direction when driving to Moro Rock, Giant Forest, General Sherman, and Tunnel Log.

We had a late lunch at the lodge after exploring before leaving the park. I had a decent caesar wrap (wished there was more dressing) and my husband had a good burger and sweet potato fries. I thought it was priced appropriately.

We were not charged for requesting a late checkout. However, our keys did not work when we tried to get back into our room but the staff was very accommodating at getting us back in our room. We also had a tire issue while there and again the staff was very helpful at recommending places outside the park to get it fixed.

Overall, it was a great stay the location is absolutely stunning and worth every penny. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaf212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We appreciate your comments, Lisa. We are so glad to hear you had a nice stay, and thank you for your kind words for our staff. We are also glad to hear you were quickly helped with your room keys and tire. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope to see you and your husband for another trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our trip to the Sequoias was limited since they had just received 3 feet of snow (first of the season and in April). All winter play was closed. The lodge though was beautiful. Located off of Generals Hwy. it was the perfect place to explore the park. The lodge was busy but the service was excellent. From the front counter staff to the waitress in the dining room, everyone was friendly and helpful. At one point we needed something to do even though the snow closed everything. The front counter staff advised us that the hike to Moro Rock would be beautiful. Great suggestion, we hiked through snow and were rewarded with solitude and beauty. They also let us check out a day early without penalty.

Meals at the lodge are good and bad. Dinner was great. Breakfast was bad. Cold eggs, cold oatmeal, broken pieces of bacon, but great muffins. Not worth 12.95.

The room is the worst part of the lodge. Overall it is just a standard room (even though we had deluxe). Old spotted bedspreads on the bed, cheap coarse towels, and the worst was the shower curtain. Stained and obviously never cleaned. Bed was so old that my husband and I kept rolling to the middle.

Because of the location and the great staff, I would recommend this hotel. Just know that the high price will not guarantee a clean room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edcoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for your comments, Edcoulter. We are glad to hear you had a fun and snowy stay and that our staff provided great service. We are sorry that you felt your room and breakfast experience could have been improved upon, and your feedback will be shared. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
14.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
12.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Property: Wuksachi Lodge
Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262-9604
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing