We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Private, almost TOO much”
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were in the Stewart building room 109.The room was very nice and we were told we had a 'mountain view'. well, it was if you looked up and through the trees. they had a bonfire for Friday and Saturday night which was nice. we had a fridge and coffee maker which they supplied coffee too. no microwave. the bed was excellent and the sheets, towels, carpeting and shower were very clean. We got into our room around 5:30 PM and tried to make a dinner reservation at the only place to eat only to find out they were packed and could not get us in until 8:45PM. we ended up getting our food take out and eating in our room. We went to Grant Grove Village for breakfast and that is THE place to stay(Similar to Yosemite Lodge for location and convenience). it was a long drive to see the rest of the park or to get something to eat. Lots of hiking but it too was a ways to drive. Be careful when you go, the day we left it started snowing and required snow chains....we luckily got down the slippery slope that morning.

Room Tip: get an upper floor but pack light - no elevators and a bit of a hike from the parking lot and front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babooshkadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,412 of 2,429 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lodging in the National Parks is usually overpriced. This hotel is no exception however, I found the lodge a little cleaner, bigger rooms and very good food at the Peaks in the main lodge. The breakfast buffet carried us through our hikes. You are paying for the area and the privilege to stay in the park. It was worth the extra money to save time of traveling from outside the park.
I would stay here again. Check in and check out took forever, so go with patience. The chiefs special every night was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was looking forward to touring the big Sequoias on my California trip, and booked a night here for October 28, 2013. But a snow storm came up the day before, while I was still in Yosemite. where it was snowing, and I had to find out if I would be able to climb the mountains to this lodge in Sequoia. I called the hotel the morning of my reservation; the lady at the desk said, oh it's only raining, you will have no problem if you come up on 198 from Visalia. So five hours later, the National Park rangers at the park entrance, 28 miles from the hotel, said I couldn't go to the hotel without chains on my car. Having had experience being stranded with a rental company forbaddding use of chains on their vehicle, I didn't want to make the same mistake again. But I found out from some utility workers later that evening, they were turned back from going to the Wuksachi in a utility truck with chains. They said the road had been chains only since 10 am. So, thanks to the staff at this hotel, who gave out inaccurate information, I lost the $162 I paid for the room and needed to find another room in late afternoon in a rural area. Beware booking this hotel mid-fall or mid-spring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank maggieclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Spent one night here and it did not disappoint.

Yes it is expensive. But that's the price to pay for living inside the park. There are some cabins and other odd homey lodging options but I'm not that type to be that adventurous. The Village is off the main road in the park. There is a main building for the lobby/restaurant, conference areas, gift shop. Well maintained. Impressed.

Check in wasn't the fastest but again what's the hurry. There aren't a lot of places to go after dark anyways.

From the main building, the rooms are just a block up the street in 3 main buildings. All have very quick access from the parking lot. Stayed in Stewart which is the furthest out of the 3. Probably a little quieter. The suite we had on the first floor was very large, corner unit with 2 queen beds and a little side room with a tv, fridge, small table, 2 chairs and couch. Basically a separate living room. Modern, Clean, towels, soaps, amenities were nice, water pressure was decent. 2 luggage racks and hangers, lots of closet space. The single room had a queen bed and was a decent size. Beds and linens not too bad. Pillows weren't the best. One was firm and one was a down pillow (very flat). Great heating in the room so don't worry about being cold. I noticed there are ski racks in the room for winter time. Nice touch.

Restaurant.

There is a bar/restaurant behind the check in desk. Some strong opinions about the restaurant. Not super cheap about $30 per entree average. Not huge portions but the food was well prepared. There seems to be a lack of resources this time of year. The dining room was more than 1/2 empty but they would be turning people away for 2 hours. Make reservations I guess. Also, if you order a salad or cold dish, you get your food fast. Order entree, we waited nearly 40mins for our food. Again, we weren't in a hurry but that's a long wait. Service was just ok but that was our server. I would say 3/5 maybe 4/5 if the service was better.

I took some video of the room if anyone wants to see send me a message.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed at the Wuksachi Lodge for five days in late Sept just before the gov’t closed Sequoia Natl Park. First a little about the layout. This lodge consists of multiple buildings on terraces carved into the side of a mountain at 7,000 feet. On the highest level are the three bldgs that contain the rooms. The next level down are the parking lots and at the lowest level is the lodge itself. So when going between the rooms and the lodge, there’s a steep elevation change that has stairs and/or switchback ramps that have minimal lighting so bring high quality bright flashlights for after dark. It is also quite problematic trying to move suitcases from the parking lot to the rooms. Each of the terraces is about 30 feet higher so moving heavy items is difficult. They provide a dolly but it’s better to ask for help at the front desk. One of the staff will come with a van and bring your luggage to the room….it’s a free service. Each of the room lodges has multiple stories with no elevator so a room on the entry level is desirable.

As for rooms, they are accommodating, but the best is to reserve one of the superior double queen rooms that have an extra alcove room that contains a sofa bed and easy chair and makes for a more comfortable stay. The TV (which only has a few channels) was also located in this room along with the fridge and the coffee maker. The two rooms can be separated with a pair of sliding glass doors. The extra charge for the room is well worth it. There are not many of these rooms so reserve one well in advance. This would be a perfect option for a family with children.

Now for meals, the lodge has a B&B package that includes the breakfast buffet, or you can just be a walk-in. The buffet has a continental offering ($7.95) including such items as cereal, oatmeal, sweet rolls, toast, yogurt, etc. or a full breakfast offering ($12.95) that includes such hot items as eggs, pancakes, sausages, bacon, etc. plus the continental items. The B&B package includes all items and you receive little “chits” when you check in that cover the breakfast each day.

If you plan on hiking, lunch can be problematic as there are not many options in the area. There’s a market near the Lodgepole Visitors Center that will provide sandwiches to go, but they are only open sometimes. The day we went, the sandwich place was closed and there’s very little else in the market. Turns out, however, the lodge itself will provide a box lunch (~$12.00) that contains a sandwich, fruit, granola bar, drink and a bag of chips which you can order off a form in the room or at the lodge itself. This turned out to be the best option for us as we could pick up the box lunches at breakfast and be on our way early. The lodge does offer lunch in the dining area. We never explored this option.

Dinners at the lodge were great. Be sure to make a reservation and you will be seated promptly, without a reservation the waits on the weekends could extend to 45 mins or more. We made our reservations a couple of weeks in advance and experienced no difficulties. The dinners are upscale including many choices of appetizers, salads, entrees ($20-$30) and desserts. There was a fixed menu that included seafood, meat and poultry. In addition, each evening they had two special entrees such as scallops or duck or even prime rib. The food was prepared very well and we enjoyed the five nights we ate there. The salads are huge so we ordered one and shared it. The wine selection wasn’t extensive but more than adequate given that you’re out in the middle of the high sierras with a long trek (probably 30-40 mins) to the nearest restaurant or full service grocery store.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Wuksachi and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose the superior double queen room with the extra alcove area. Choose a room on the entry level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrmikeSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We were only here for one night, but we will be back!!! Nestled in among the forest, the lodge is beautiful. Only a few minutes away from General Sherman and breath taking views of the giant sequoias! Reasonably priced and an amazing breakfast buffet for $12.99. The lodge also prepares great boxed lunches (chips, apple, soda, granola bar, and sandwich for $12).

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Duckandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is our second time at Wucksachi Lodge so we knew what to expect this time. The location is great it's perfect for a good days explore and activity then a short ride back to the hotel rather than having to drive back down out of the park. Our room was clean and comfortable for our two night stay, but don't expect luxury. There is a coffee maker and fridge in the room. The staff were very polite and helpful. The restaurant is much improved since we were last here, when we previously visited we really felt as the choice for evening meal venues was very limited, Wucksachi's restaurant exploited that, but thankfully not this time, we had two lovely evening meals. It's worth booking if you want to eat at a specific time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeds31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
644 reviews
14.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
535 reviews
13.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
311 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262-9604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range: $128 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing