We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great time at the lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great time at the lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed three nights at the lodge last week. After reading some reviews I was wondering what to expect of the lodge. Happy to report that while it is not the St regis for a National park lodge it was quite comfortable, clean and spacious.
We have stayed three times at the Yosemite lodge and this was certainly nicer.
If I could compare to the similar priced property in Yosemite the one item the location lacked was comfortable if any chairs near the lodge buildings . Late afternoon or after dinner I always enjoyed sitting on our patio at the Yosemite lodge .
Here the nearest chairs are at the main building a bit of a schlep away. I suggest having some nice adirondack chairs available.
The restaurant was quite good for a National park and the servers quite helpful with my wife's gluten issues
All in all a great time

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DGUTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    842
    364
    135
    50
See reviews for
760
874
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
685 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wuksachi Lodge is in a great location near the center of Sequoia National Park. It is located just off the Generals Highway about 10 minutes from the Lodgepole Visitor Center and very close to most of the main hikes and attractions of Sequoia Park. This hotel is not in Kings Canyon National Park and is an hour drive from Grants Grove and about 2 to 2.5 hours to the bottom of Kings Canyon (5 hours round trip). Don't stay here if you are planning on spending lots of time in Kings Canyon.

The Lodge is nice and is in a great location. Ignore the more negative reviews of the lodge on this site as most of the bad reviews focus on things that have little importance compared to being inside the fantastic park. After reading some of the reviews I warned my wife that our hotel room may be old and worn out. We were really surprised when we walked in the door and everything looked clean and relatively new. This hotel even has cable TV (some National Park lodges are rustic and do not have TV’s).

The Lodge consists of a main registration building with a restaurant and then three actual lodges about a half a block from the registration building. There is lots of parking near the three lodges but the parking for the registration building is not near the front desk (maybe they planned it that way so you can see nature while eating in the restaurant instead of a parking lot). We stayed in the third lodge which is the farthest from the registration lodge – but the walk is still not bad. There is a slight walk up a gradual hill from the parking lot to the rooms (and no elevator in the building). They have a bunch of luggage carts you can use for free or the front desk will send someone over to help you (for a tip). This short walk did not bother me except I forgot a snack in the car and had to go out later in the evening to retrieve it before the bears became active and wrecked my rental car. The parking lot is VERY dark at night.

Overall my wife and I were very happy with our stay at this lodge and recommend it. Also, if you are planning on spending more than one day in the park you have to stay in a park property (as the drive into the Park is very slow). Staying outside the Park in Three Rivers and driving in everyday will take way too much time. Also, if you suffer from motion sickness the drive in from Three Rivers winds around the mountain and may cause a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rockyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I've read mixed reviews here about the Wuksachi Lodge and did want to share we enjoyed our stay. We weren't there for hotel service, food etc. and we didn't have kids to care for, so things may have been easier for us. We were simply there for the National Forest. College students from all over the world who are majoring in the service industry do internships at the Wuksachi Lodge. That means interns are ALWAYS being trained so things, especially in the restaurant are going to take longer that what one might expect. They work in the kitchen, at the front desk and provide all kinds of other customer services including translating for visitors.

Our room was fine. It was comfortable, simple and clean. It was nice to also have a mini-frig. If you're expecting that you're going to get awesome service, it's important to remember that everything has to be "imported" into the park, including all of the food - and all the garbage has to be exported OUT of the National Park. The Lodge offered shuttle services to most of the local venues so you didn't have to drive your car if you didn't want to. They also offered a BBQ night where hotel guests could eat outside and enjoy stories that were told by individuals in period costumes. They depicted life in the area as it would have been like for the earliest settlers. We also had a really cool time during the start gazing event hosted by the Lodge.

Again, you just have to remember you're in a national park, and things are going to be different in every sense of the word. Most of the time we spent in our room was "recovery time." Staying at the Lodge enabled us to do everything we wanted to do in the park. We had a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Our room faced the woods so every morning deer would graze right outside our window. The deer grazed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanaSATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a deluxe room in the Stewart building (3rd floor, 2nd floor is the main entry floor, so only 1 flight of stairs to go up). Our room faced the forest behind the building, which was beautiful. The room itself wasn't fancy, kind of equivalent to like a Days Inn. 2 Queen beds, mini frig, easy chair, table with 2 chairs, desk/chair. There was a ceiling fan and a window fan, which kept the room cool (we didn't even miss the AC). As many reviewers have said before it's pricey compared to regular chain hotels but for a one-time trip it was super-close to everything.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor require no stairs to access them. Ask for a room facing the forest (not the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craftywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Indeed, as many others have noted, the Wuksachi Lodge is perfectly located with spectacular views. And, you are a captive audience as there are not a lot of other choices for lodging nor food. This hotel has the potential to live up to the luxury that is implied by its cost, but falls far short because of management shortcomings. We had booked adjoining rooms for our family of five and were told that we had two sleep sofas in an adjoining room to the master bedroom. In fact, one of the sofa beds was in the master bedroom and did not even have a mattress in it. Hence, one of our sons had to sleep on the floor. The room did not appear to have been vacuumed before our stay. The staff at the front desk, while pleasant, couldn't seem to diverge from their scripts and thus, seemed incompetent. Finally, the food in the restaurant, while good, took longer to arrive than it should have for a good restaurant. I am glad we were not in a hurry. And, it was very expensive for what it was. There are lots of opportunities here for hotel management improvement. In contrast, we had a wonderful stay at Bear Paw Camp and I cannot say enough good things about the facility and the staff. It is hard to believe they are managed by the same people.

Room Tip: If you are planning on using sofa bed(s) in your room, make sure that they (first) have a mattress a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ltflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The lodge is almost central to both Sequoia and Kings Canyon and therefore perfect for exploring both parks. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. Public areas were pleasant. Our only knock was food. You are a captive audience, so really no choices. Breakfast was expensive although you could opt for just continental. Beware of dinner the day of arrival. The restaurant was booked solid so either eat at 10:00PM (not good for the kids) or carry your dinner to your room. Book dinner ahead and you should be fine.
They offered to help with luggage and we declined, but then found a steep hill to climb to the lodge buildings. We should have accepted their help. Staff was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaSoucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice location to enjoy the park, room was modern compared to most other parks hotels or lodges, look to be built in the 1990's kind of dormer feel.
RESTURANT food was good, but could of used air condition or at least a better air cooling system,
Plenty of wild life around including bears, see some dumb kids chasing a bear while their even dumber parents were taking pictures. I Guest that nature will clean up the gene pool?
Nice hikes located near by.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Xxmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
14.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
12.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Property: Wuksachi Lodge
Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262-9604
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing