We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Avoid room 320 at all costs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid room 320 at all costs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Don't get me wrong, this is a great place to stay, excellent service, reasonable food, and the accommodation is fine. But if you have a choice don't get room 321, machinery next door ( a/c I assume ) kicks in every 2 mins like a tractor driving through the room. Might suit farmers :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Williepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    851
    371
    137
    50
See reviews for
777
887
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location is spectacular! We came in the winter and the walk from the lodge to the restaurant was so beautiful. For the price, the lodge itself could have been nicer, but I certainly don't regret staying here and if I had the money, would be happy to return. The lodge itself was just okay. The location was a stunner.

Room Tip: Be prepared to carry your luggage, but it's really worth a bit of lugging for the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sawadee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Well situated for hiking all through Sequoia and visiting the Marble Cave. Breakfast and dinner is really quite good and reasonably priced. Bar area is well stocked. One always wonders when you have few close options to choose from whether the food and service will be good. But it is quite good for being in the wilderness.

Limited cell phone and wifi but the reason we are all up there in the first place is to escape the modern world so don't be put off by that. Lots of parking but it can be a little walk to your room. There is free bell service and plenty of luggage trolleys. It is possible to get over to Kings Canyon but it is an easier option just to stay at the John Muir Lodge. I wish the Wuksachi had the outdoor porch to sit on at night like the John Muir but that is my only regret.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor room to avoid stairs up or down. Be sure to make dinner reservations a day or so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethR157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
Level Contributor
184 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Wuksachi Lodge, from what we could tell, was the best place to stay in Sequoia - Kings Canyon. That said, we had hoped for a room where we did not need to lug our bags up and down stairs. Be sure to ask at checkin for a room that you can get to easily -- not knowing the configuration, we asked for a ground floor room, but found that the entry was one floor up. The hotel offers help with baggage, but it is pretty much a self-service operation. There are no hotel rooms in the dining building. The room was spacious -- it was hot when we arrived, but a fan was provided quickly, and we slept well!

Room Tip: Ask for a view room in Sequoia or Silliman buildings that don't require you to haul bags up or d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Wuksachi Lodge is Ok but not brilliant. The rooms are a good size. We were told we got upgraded which ended up putting us in the a room that was the longest distance from the main area. As the hotel is quite a distance from anything else you ate in the restaurant but I had no complaints as the food was very good and the staff were really attentive, especially the young girl who was doing the bar.

Room Tip: Buy a few things (water etc) before you get to the Lodge,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Before I review the hotel, it almost didn't happen if not for Everett. We were on a 2 week trip throughout California with my wife, daughter and niece. I screwed-up the reservation and booked the wrong day - one day after we planned to arrive. When we got there, they made me aware of my mistake. As I was standing there wondering what my next move was going to be, I saw them turn away to other folks that need rooms and as they were full and so where other hotels up to 30 miles away (which is couple hours of driving on those roads). My family was not going to happy after all driving from LA. Everrett called the GM and convinced to give us the room they hold in case they have messed up. He saved me! we spend 2 great nights there. Buffet breakfast was great the wait staff very knowlledgeable about the hiking trails. Accommodations aren't the Four Seasons but very nice for a lodge. Staying "in" the park makes exploring it that much easier. we loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cubansamHouston_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This property has many endearing qualities. First, the location is excellent for traveling in and around Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. The accommodations are about what you might expect. It was clean and comfortable but rustic. We had a great time in the parks. The WiFi at the Lodge was spotty at best and cellphone and 3G/4G coverage is very limited in this park system. Don't expect to have good access. Enjoy the out of doors and relax. I would go back to this hotel again. The food at the onsite restaurant was fair. The service at the restaurant was sometimes good and sometimes not. Definitely not a 4 or 5 star experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
14.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
12.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Property: Wuksachi Lodge
Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262-9604
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing