We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, middle of nowhere though.”
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Snow covered mountains were beautiful but takes over an hour up mountain to get there. Also wasn't expecting snow at end of April! Watch out for bears! Staff very friendly and helpful - would have liked more time to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,395)
There are newer reviews for Wuksachi Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,482 - 1,488 of 2,395 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Room fine and although we are incredibly ancient and got help,to get our luggage to our upstairs room, the bell boyboy seemed surprised to get a tip! beds very comfortable, room large and clean and huge number of towels etc. Only grouse was that the fridge was not on and we had to move large cupboard housing the TV, to plug it in!!!

Wifi was only in the main lobby someway from our lodge.
Only one place to eat and a somewhat overpriced for dinner ( good choice of dishes) but good value for continental or full monty breakfasts

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay so much that we asked to stay another night. We had the suite overlooking the mountain. Beautiful room, comfortable bed, friendly staff. Great food in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Well worth the extra.

Accept their offer of help with luggage or use the luggage trolleys as it is quite a way to the rooms. Also please be aware they do not have laundry facilities for you to use. We had to drive to the village to do our laundry. The wifi is only available in the lobby which is quite a way away from the rooms.

Room Tip: No elevators so choose a ground level room or else you will need to lug luggage a long way.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We found Wuksachi Lodge to be clean, comfortable, full of beautiful vistas and very convenient as far as touring Sequoia National Forest. The rooms are pleasant, clean and serve their purpose, nothing noteworthy. Of note: there was no wireless access from our rooms, just the lodge - which did not bother us one way or the other. The restaurant menu looks better than it tastes, but it is not at all bad - the food is mediocre to good. The bar is mediocre to good. The staff are pleasant, but do not go far out of their way to help, except the bartender, who was exceptional. The breakfast buffet is good. However, when our family ordered the breakfast buffet and I asked for egg whites or Egg Beaters to be served to me as I get sick w/ egg yolks, I was told "we don't do that here". I was taken aback as this was NOT an inexpensive buffet and even cheap breakfast eatery buffets will do this without blinking an eye. When I met the server's response with my silence, he reconsidered then said "I'll check with the kitchen" and they did make me egg whites - I am happy to pay an upcharge for such and said as much. Anyway, I saw it as another example of the staff just really not being willing to go out of their way for paying guests. However, nothing was glaringly bad either, it is a pleasant place to stay.

All that aside, the scenery from and near the lodge is spectacular, the setting of the lodge is just beautiful. If you stay here, no time is wasted going to/from a place outside of the park. It is a perfect, beautiful play to stay on your way to Yosemite or to Santa Cruz, as we did, then continue down the Pacific Coast Highway. it is not a bad place to have on your intineray at all.

If you don't expect the sense of being well taken care of, you will not be disappointed and you will enjoy the beauty of the setting and the comfort of a clean room in a quiet setting.

We (our family) would absolutely stay here again, but we would be staying for the scenery, the relative comfort and the convenience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

As other reviewers have indicated, this probably is the best choice for those who want to stay within Sequoia National Park, rather than nearby. The park is very large, and winding mountain roads make travel slow, so the park's lodges, though pricey, let one enjoy nature to the fullest, and Wuksachi is the least spartan and newest of them. My wife and I were only able to book a premium room. It had 2 queen beds, plus a hideaway bed in a couch, in a separate space in an alcove at one end of the very large main room. This room can accommodate a family, and was really more than we needed. It cost (with tax) about $250 a night. The lodge rooms are located in three 3-storey buildings (no elevators) that are a long uphill trek from the parking area. Free luggage caddies are available, as well as assistance from the front desk if needed. The room was very clean and had nice views on two sides. There was an older tv (not flat screen or HD). Staff were all friendly and helpful--one offered us a ride to the parking area when he saw us beginning to walk there (it had started to snow--in May!). At a lodge like this tries to compete with upscale properties in urban areas, but can't quite measure up; on the other hand, staying within a national park can be priceless.

Room Tip: To avoid stairs ask for a middle level room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I can see why so many of the reviews of the Wuksachi Lodge are negative, but if you know ahead of time what to expect and what not to expect, I think you can make the place "work" for you. It definitely grew on me! It's a schlep to your room, but you can drive to the buildings and there are plenty of suitcase carts. True, there is no elevator...but it's two short flights of stairs. If there are disability issues, request a room on the first floor.

The dining hall and bar are actually very good with terrific views....one night during early dinner hours, a mother bear and her cubs were spotted from the dining room windows. Go for the continental b'fast which is plenty of food and much cheaper than the buffet. There's a good wine list of local wines and some good beers as well.

Sequoia is not a developed park like Yosemite. It is much more wild and open which can be very nice. There are good trails of varying lengths and difficulty...and they're well maintained. There's a big market not far from the lodge but it's not visible from the road. Definitely take food and drinks with you during the day as there are no concessions...at least not until after Memorial Day weekend.

True, the WiFi is only at the main lodge and it's slow....but you're surrounded by thousand year old trees!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OCTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for one night at Wuksachi and enjoyed it. The staff were extra friendly and the reception area is really nice and comfortable, with a fire going in the fireplace. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and both were very good. We chose the continental breakfast which was cheaper, and included lots of different things. The hotel has a small shop where you can get snacks, which can come in handy, as there is little else nearby.
The rooms were spacious, but could do with some remodelling. They are quite dark and the bathrooms are on the small side. Everything looks quite dusty and the hallways are particularly dirty. Overall, the rooms aren't that comfortable, but it is nice to stay inside the National Park, so it was worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwaystravelling3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
629 reviews
14.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
519 reviews
13.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
307 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262-9604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range: $129 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing