We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Competition drives Standards” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Competition drives Standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

First things first, I like to make allowances (see review of King's Canyon Resort in Australia). These guys are many miles away from the nearest city and with that in mind they do some things pretty well. We breakfasted and dined at the restaurant twice and the food was fine, the service varying from monosyllabic (barman) to excellent (Charlotte and Aaron).

The lodge's public areas are tasteful and comfortable and present the best of the facility.

But the rooms and accommodation blocks themselves are a let-down. They're tired and the premium price is not indicative of the fairly basic standard. Again, costs are probably higher. What disappointed me most was the cleanliness, or lack of it. The corridiors were shabby, and our room had dust behind the beds (as I was looking for a power outlet), cobwebs ... the standard of housekeeping just wasn't very good, and that surely is *not* a function of remoteness?

Sequoia/Kings' Canyon is a breathtakingly beautiful area and my most accounts this is the best of the accommodation. We certainly had a pleasant enough stay, but I was quite disappointed relative to expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valiant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J David H, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valiant2,

We are happy to know that your service from Charlotte and Aaron in our restaurant was to your liking, however we are sorry to hear about your less than positive experience with our lodging and cleanliness. Please note that all responses and feedback are taken very seriously and have been sent to the proper departments. We would like to be given the opportunity again to have your business, and so please contact me directly the next time you are coming up to Sequoia, and I will take care of your reservation personally.

Thank you,

J David Hauswirth, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    888
    395
    141
    52
See reviews for
804
945
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

As we were staying only one night at the Sequoia National Park we decided to stay "in" rather than outside it so we would not have to waste a lot of precious time getting in and out of the park. We were really pleased with the location of Wuksachi Lodge and its surroundings. The weather was beautiful but there was still a little snow on the ground in some areas so it was all green, crisp and fresh! The reception building which is separate from the sleeping buildings looks great inside and out. Check in was smooth and the reception staff was very friendly although we were surprised they do not speak very good English. We were actually having a hard time understanding everything they were telling us. The same happened at the little store they have where we bought snacks. The girl there was having a hard time understanding what we wanted. But they were friendly and we managed. We drove our car to the parking lot nearest to the building were our rooms were situated and then had to use trolleys to take our bags to our room. As we were given rooms on the 1st floor and the entrance to the building is on the 2nd floor we had to go down 2 flights of stairs to get all our bags to our rooms. As we had large, heavy bags from being on a 2 week road trip this was quite a task as one person in our party has a bad leg. For the rates they were charging during the Easter weekend, we feel they should really have offered assistance having given us rooms on the ground floor and not having informed us beforehand. We had a deluxe room which was only slightly larger than our friends standard room and although the room size was good the rest is nothing fancy. We did not feel it was worth the money. The decor needs updating and everything in the room looks "tired" and worn. Our friends room even had cobwebs on the ceiling! The entry way in our building was really dirty and dusty and so were the stairs and corridors to the rooms. We could also hear guests in the rooms above ours walking around. The positive aspects are free wifi and coffee and tea making facilities. We had dinner in the restaurant which was good but a little pricey. We felt they overprice everything as there are really no other options around. Breakfast was ok. You get to choose from a Continental breakfast which is a little cheaper and a hot breakfast where you can have eggs etc. The staff in the restaurant was nice and helpful.
My tip to other travelers is book well in advance so you get a good rate as it really is nothing special even though the surroundings are amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the top or entrance floor and furthest away from the actual entry door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I travel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J David H, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear I Travel C,

We are happy to know that your experience with our staff was to your liking, however we are sorry to hear about your less than positive experience with your overall visit. Please note that all responses and feedback are taken very seriously and have been sent to the proper departments. I will follow up to make sure that the proper information is given to guests upon check in. We would like to be given the opportunity again to have your business, and so please contact me directly the next time you are coming up to Sequoia, and I will take care of your reservation personally.

Thank you,

J David Hauswirth, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Wuksachi Lodge is nice, but there is not a ton of options it's competing with. It is the only option in Sequoia proper, besides camping.

Rooms are basic, nothing fantastic. Restaurant is good with some atypical options, the staff is the best part - very kind and helpful.

It's a nice walkable area, between rooms and main lodge building, and well lit at night. Wifi in the lodge is a huge bonus! Front desk staff are good, but sometimes are on autopilot!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J David H, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Rebecca S,

We are pleased to know that you enjyoed your stay with us, and ecstatic to know that the best part was our staff. Your feedback has been submitted to the department heads to ensure that the commendations you gave are received. I will also forward your concern(s) to the proper departments to ensure these oppotunities get rectified.

Thank you,

J David Hauswirth, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

A 3 night stay up at 7300 feet elevation is so private at the Wuksachi. Reception and Dining building are seperated from the lodge buildings. It's a little walk between the 2 (200 yards). Rooms are standard and nothing fancy, but the mountain air will get your attention. Staff is friendly and attentive. At some times you'll think you are the only visitor and at other times you'll meet the people of the world before or after breakfast/dinner. A great place to stage your visit for Sequoia or Kings Canyon. Just ensure you fill your car before arriving at the park. Best views of Sequoia National beside standing near a Giant Sequoia tree.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east on any floor of any of the 3 lodging buildings afford a great view. Higher up is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller19842012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J David H, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Traveller,

We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff helped to make the experience that much more enjoyable. We certainly do hope to have you as one of our guests again, and please contact me directly if you want to make that reservation.

Thank you,

J David Hauswirth, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We really wish our first night in the Sequoia National Park, had been here. Every sight we came to see, was less than 40 min away. The food was good (Prime rib was actually only a Ribeye roast). All the amenities you expect from a resort hotel!! The view from the room was incredible. The service was top notch. Our trip started from the northern entrance... So we checked in to several places as we come south. 1st) Hume Lake. Abandoned paid room due to lack of amenities and horrible view. 2nd) John Muir Lodge. We stayed at John Muir once seeing accommodations at Hume Lake. Very nice place and well worth the money! 3rd) Montecito Lodge. UGH!! Paid for suite lodging. Beautiful view of lake. Dirty, broken down, door hanging from hinges, bugs... Food was horrible. Rice cooked so little, was like a mouth full of BB's. Chicken at room temp...

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the "front" facing rooms. The mountain view is spectacular at sun ris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeLove2hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a fabulous location, as other reviewers have said its in the heart of all the things you want to see in the park.
The hotel is split into a main lodge and there are three buildings with the rooms in.
The main lodge is impressive looking in wood. This is also where the restaurant is. The food for the main meal was quite tasty but the service slow. Breakfast was a buffet but it was terribly organised. Lots of tables had been left covered in dirty dishes that had not been cleared and the buffet had not been refilled. The food that was there was not good. They just didn't have enough staff on to cope with the number of people who needed breakfast!
The room was ok. A bit tired but did the job, it could have benefited from decoration.

Overall, a great location but room to improve on simple things.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BirdMeister49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a few days here for New Years and were glad we stayed in the park during the winter. Unfortunately this is the only lodge open during the winter due to the high snowfalls, but it was well worth it in the end, since the trek up to the sequoia's from anywhere outside the park is very long and takes alot of time. What you are paying for here is the location. The scenary around the lodge is stunning and you are within minutes from the giant Sequoia's and trails. Our room was very large for a standard King and very clean and neat. Nothing over the top but perfect for our needs. Everyone complains about how far the parking lot is from the hotel, but it is honestly not that bad. If you are coming to enjoy nature, you are not going to complain about a short walk in the beautiful scenary anyways. We went on an off time of the year, but I would recommend booking this hotel ahead of time and book dinner reservations at the lodge when you get there for the week. They have very limited dinner availability for reservations and if you can't eat there you are stuck. The food was ok, very overpriced but you are in the middle of nowhere. The breakfast buffet is very nice and offers plenty of food. If you go during the winter or when there is snow on the ground, I would recommend renting snow shoes down in the basement. They are very inexpensive and help you see several of the tree's that are limited by the snow on the foot trails. All around it was a very cozy and enjoyable stay and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
14.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
13.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Property: Wuksachi Lodge
Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262-9604
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing