We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting in the woods” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely setting in the woods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Wuksachi Lodge on October 23rd. Our room was quite roomy and nice. It was chilly outside, but the room heated quickly and comfortably. We had supper and breakfast in the restaurant and were very happy with both our meals. We requested a box lunch which was promptly prepared and came in handy midday after a couple of hikes. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place for travelers to this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassiCoralville_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    920
    405
    143
    53
See reviews for
837
982
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Van Buren
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Out of the 11 nights that we have stayed in California, this is the most disappointing!! The entire lodge" feel simply does not exist. From the moment we arrived, we kept looking for that ONE thing that would make us feel welcome---and did not find it. It had been raining/sleeting heavily and everyone that waited with us in the lobby were soaked, as we were, to the bone. One guests had to ASK them to light the Franklin stove (that's right, no fireplace in the lobby of the "lodge"). The "lodge" is really only the main lobby with the restaurant...which is the ONLY place to eat without driving an hour. No rooms at the lodge. Rooms are in detached units that you drive to. Parking is not close to the rooms nor the lodge entrance. When we arrived today it was snowing and sleeting, yet there was no covered area for anyone to get out and check in. Roshanda at the desk was polite, but the other man at the counter was almost rude when he informed my husband (laughingly) that you will want to make reservations at "their restaurant" since it is the only place to eat. After waiting for 45 minutes for our room to be finished up by housekeeping (checkin is 4--checkout at 11), we finally get our room and THEN she asked us if we would like some coffee. Really? Everyone waiting with us in the lobby would have loved that an hour ago....
The parking lot had several luggage carts for all of us to lug up the sidewalk toward the buildings that housed our rooms. No one there to offer any assistance, even though there were guests that were older and likely needed it. We needed to do laundry and were happy to see in their "guidebook" that washer/dryers are available in two locations. Called the main desk to find that the market has closed and there have never been laundry facilities (as the book states) in the lodge.
I can hardly wait for our dinner reservation tonight. The menu looked expensive and after reading some of the other postings on here, I worry about our meal... I may have to post again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our trip through California.

The location is great, right in the middle of the Sequoia National Park.

I really dont understand why their rooms are so dark, nightmare when trying to put on your make up!

We ate at the hotel on both nights; the first night service left a lot to be desired but this did improve on the second night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heathway53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

A hidden treasure amongst the giants of trees- all amenities and services were above average and you can't beat the location. If you've come to see the trees, wuksachi is the place to be :)
The best time to go is autum, we enjoyed some fantastic weather and complete serinity on long forest walks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonntagsfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
446 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 786 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Wuksachi Lodge. We stayed there for three nights in late June 2012 as part of a vacation that included Sequoia, Kings Canyon, Yosemite and San Francisco. Wuksachi provided a great location for exploring the Giant Grove and other areas in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

Wuksachi Lodge is brand new by National Park’s standards, having been built in 1999 to replace the Giant Grove Lodge which was dismantled to protect the trees in the grove. But the newness does not mean that the lodge does not have the charm of the grand old National Park lodges, at least in the main building. Plus the setting was very nice and also convenient to some of the main attractions in the park. There is a very relaxed vibe to the place and it never seemed to be very crowded. The only thing that was really missing was a porch with a scenic view and comfy chairs from which to enjoy a drink in the evening. Since it is a newer facility, it did have all the comforts of home.

The village is currently a set of our buildings. The main building houses, the front desk, gift shop, lounge, dining room, conference space, administrative offices and an open, great room area. There is also a porch off the front of the main building but the view is more over the rest of the complex. The other three buildings house the motel-style rooms. So the first tip is to NOT bring your luggage with you when you check in at the main building. Once checked-in, you will be given a map to show you where your room is located.

There are no elevators in the lodging buildings, so be prepared to carry your luggage up some stairs (unless you are on the ground lever floor). There is a paved ramp from the parking lot to the lodging buildings, so you do not have to carry you bags up steps on the short hike to the buildings. Remember to leave nothing in your car that will attract the bear (no food and nothing with a scent; everything goes into the room).

We were in the Sequoia Building, room 334. I believe that this is the newest of the three lodging buildings. Our room was very nice and good size. We had a room with 2 double beds but there was also a table with two chairs, desk and chair and a TV in the room. The bathroom was good size and well appointed. There was a coffee maker and a hair dryer in the room, as I recall (I used neither, but they were important to my wife). The bed was very comfortable.

There are nice walking trails through the grounds, which were great for an early morning walk to look for critters or for an after dinner stroll. You are likely to encounter all manner of wildlife at Wuksachi, along the walking trails, in the parking lots, looking out the window of your room or of the dining room. We saw mule deer every day, scores of squirrels and many birds. We also saw a black bear and two cubs as we were walking along the trails through the lodge ground.

We ate in the dining room at Wuksachi for breakfast (3 times; ate from the buffet each day), lunch (once) and dinner (3 times) and all the meals were great. Way exceeded expectations! Apparently the Delaware North Company has figured out how to serve good food inside a National Park.

We found it interesting that there were a couple other parking lots in the complex with no buildings around them as well as utilities running through the area, but going nowhere. Turns out that there are plans for expansion, including additional lodging, shopping and dining options, but so far the demand has not been sufficient to support the additional services.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioHick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We only stayed one night but wanted to stay longer. The " lodge " is at 7,000 ft above sea level so weather is always an issue. Room was very nice. Slate floors in the bath and real wood doors were a nice touch. Nothing extra fancy , just plain comfortable. Arrived in rain and clouds and later that night walking through the dark parking lot we got to see that there are Billions of stars. The next morning the smell of pine was amazing. This lodge was much nicer than The Yosemite Lodge. Highly recommened.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank douieaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you are visiting the Sequoias / Giant Forest area this is the place to stay...unless you want to go camping. I found the whole experience to be very pleasant. Check-in / check-out was helpful, quick and efficient. They did offer bellman services. So while it is a bit of a walk to the rooms and at this altitude the walk can get to you, it's really not an issue. Just ask for a bellman. They help you from the car to the room. We had a deluxe room with forrest view. The room was spacious and clean. Yes it's not a JW Marriott as the price would suggest but it serves the purpose comfortably. You're paying for the location. As you drive to the different sights and trails you will be glad you're staying at Wuksachi. With current gas prices it's a money saver (and time saver) not driving back and forth up/down the mountain.

Room Tip: Mountain view is over the parking area. I would go with the forrest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felixx9995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
14.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
13.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Property: Wuksachi Lodge
Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing