We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location at a nice hotel”
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Perfect Location at a nice hotel”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you are visiting the Sequoias / Giant Forest area this is the place to stay...unless you want to go camping. I found the whole experience to be very pleasant. Check-in / check-out was helpful, quick and efficient. They did offer bellman services. So while it is a bit of a walk to the rooms and at this altitude the walk can get to you, it's really not an issue. Just ask for a bellman. They help you from the car to the room. We had a deluxe room with forrest view. The room was spacious and clean. Yes it's not a JW Marriott as the price would suggest but it serves the purpose comfortably. You're paying for the location. As you drive to the different sights and trails you will be glad you're staying at Wuksachi. With current gas prices it's a money saver (and time saver) not driving back and forth up/down the mountain.

Room Tip: Mountain view is over the parking area. I would go with the forrest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felixx9995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    976
    426
    155
    61
See reviews for
885
1,036
41
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you are visiting Sequoia National Park, the Wuksachi Lodge is the beest location in the park without having to pitch a tent. The rooms are located in 3 buildings up the street from the main lodge. The rooms are large, with a refrigerator. There is no air conditioning, but the rooms do have ceiling fans and room/window fans. The carpets and bedspread need cleaning (desparately!). Everett at the front desk was very helpful and friendly, but the waitstaff in the restaurant were surly and didn't seem to care (I guess because they were the only full service restaurant around the park). We had to wait at least 10 minutes after being seated before the server came to the table or even acknowldeged us.

There is free WiFi in the lobby(which gets crowded after dinner, due to this).

The hotel is located about 45 minutes inside the park (about 20 miles), and we experienced a 20 min construction delay on the main road. Our GPS didn't have the right location for the hotel (it put us at a camping area off road!), so be aware of this anomaly.

The hotel is located about 7500 ft altitude, so if you aren't used to the altitude, you may find walking around to be intensive (also, alcohol hits you harder at this altitude).

We would definitely recommend this hotel if visiting the park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a great 4 days here (me and the missus) in a deluxe room. Is perfectly located for all the Sequoia sites and trails. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was large, clean and very well kitted out (tea and coffee, fridge, tv etc). Accommodation is located separately from the main building which is a bit unusual but not too far to walk from car parks.

Hotel could do with more services (eg would have liked tea and snacks when arrived back in late afternoon, wifi in rooms not just main building, etc) Bar not open until 5pm so drinks/snacks was limited until then - an afternoon service would have been nice. Although front desk staff did get me a coffee when I asked for free. Also think the buildings miss a trick not having a veranda/balcony on main building and rooms, to allow relaxing and enjoyment of the great scenery.

Had dinner here on two nights - excellent knowledgeable and friendly service (thanks Aaron). Good selection of dishes and wine. I had Venison one night and pork tenderloin another, my wife had Jumbo Prawns and a mediterranean salad. All cooked well, not Michelin star presentation, but excellent flavours and good portions for the price.

Wild definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wainwright R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a more perfect location for the hotel during our stay in Sequoia Natl Park this summer. We only stayed one night. The service at the front desk was snotty at times and the dinner was expensive yet you pay for the gorgeous views. We relaxed by the bar for some martinis but it was a little hectic sice they only had one bartender servicing the bar area and the whole restaurant. The room was nice, large but only had a window fan--no a/c.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meg429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Location of lodge is stunning, room is basic but perfectly fine. However, food was very bad, and restaurant service was poor. If you want to see Sequoia, this is where you must stay, but they really need to up their game.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My Husband & I stayed here for one night with friends. I think the best thing about this lodge is the location.

The staff are friendly but the accommodation is average! We were in a ‘suite’ which to be honest was not a ‘suite’ in our opinion but a room with 2 double beds, (I thought well if this is a ‘suite’ well then I’m grateful we did not stay in in a 'regular' room). The room was tired and dated. Obviously they can command the high prices because of the Location.

We ate in the restaurant that night and the food was ‘ok’ but the coffee was one of the worst we’ve ever had. Three of us ordered cappuccinos and when they came back they were so sweet, they were disgusting, basically tasted like a cheap packet of instant cappuccino. We didn’t drink them and because we had ordered ‘double shots', there was a ridiculous amount charged for same, which we complained about as we couldn’t even stomach them. In fairness, they did take it off our bill. So the dining experience both on that evening and at breakfast time was 'nothing to write home about'.

To be honest, I do not think the price matches the value of what the Lodge has to offer, I know that it is purely for the location, which I guess some people will happily pay to explore the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicora Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at your beautiful lodge last weekend. We were greeted by one of the nicest,
kindess,helpful check in girl. She went out of her way to be helpful the ultimate customer service. I ask her name it was Roshanda Ashley, every lodge could use someone like her.Your lodge was beautiful. The food was great,the rooms were so clean and refreshing. What a great palace. When we checked out we saw Roshanda in the gift shop it was so nice to start the stay and end the stay with such a kind person. Thanks for a wonderful experience.
Janie Turk from Pennsylvania

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
620 reviews
14.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
490 reviews
12.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
155 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Property: Wuksachi Lodge
Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262-9604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing