We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Stuck in snow at Wuksachi Lodge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stuck in snow at Wuksachi Lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We travelled 7 hours to get to Sequoia park from Las Vegas to be told that it was a further 23 miles up a really bendy road (15 - 20 mph)
The lady at the park entrance said there was snow forecast for Friday 13th April. Well it didn't wait it started coming down when we got above 5000 feet.
It was one of the most scary hours of my life, snow, mist, 2 kids, 200 feet drops off the road, really not good.
We eventually arrived to laughter as I still had my Las Vegas sandles on, we had a pretty good meal in the restaurant and then went to bed.
The room is very basic, but adequate, but it is quite away from the lodge.
In the morning we woke to 3 feet of snow after the worst snow of the winter, the distance from the lodge would then be a problem if you have any disability. For us it was exciting.
The road was blocked and it took us to 3.30pm to get the road clear. We had to buy chains from the hotel and make our way down the mountain through some major road works.
Spent 20 minutes at the giant trees, but the snow stopped proper access, but at least we saw them.
So the hotel has a good restaurant, helpful staff, but the rooms are basic, however what would you expect for a mountain lodge. If you are going in spring / fall don't be surprised to have snow, and if it is heavy you will not get good access to the trees which is a shame.
Take chains or 4x4 and be careful in snow, it is not a road to take lightly like we did in a small Nissan saloon car.
Beautiful place though and enjoy the trip. One last note, if the hotel was busy I could imagine the restaurant would be slow and busy, so you may have to wait.
Good place - long drive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    886
    395
    141
    52
See reviews for
802
943
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night as the 3rd stop of our USA road trip, April 2012.

What a trek to get here!! The hotel is inside Sequoia Park. The hotel is very high up above the clouds and it is a very narrow, winding road to get up here. There are 4 miles of roadworks going on and the lights only change once an hour so guess who got to the lights 2 minutes after they had changed to red?? We actually found it quite a scary drive!

Checking in, the receptionist not once looked us in the eye or smiled. Do not take your luggage with you as you check in as you then have to drive to your lodge. You can park outside the lodge but be warned, if you are on the 2nd floor there is NO lift to take your cases up. We had a real hard job dragging them up the stairs!

The room itself was fine, nothing special or bad. It snowed lightly while we were there and it was very pretty but once we had seen the General Sherman tree we felt that there was nothing more to see really that we hadn't already seen at Yosemite.

We ate at the Lodge restaurant in the evening, there was no other choice but I have to say that the food was fabulous, we REALLY enjoyed it and the service was wonderful. We both tried things we haven't had before and it was very tasty. Also there was a nice view through the trees. There is a bar here too and a gift shop.

Ok for a one night stay but glad we didn't book for longer.

Room Tip: All the same really but ask for ground floor if you can't lift your cases up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank katesgame1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Just returned from a trip to Sequoia National Park.

Had never been there, but was very impressed overall. Almost all the sights in the park require hiking and snow prevented us from doing very much of that. We plan to return next May.

As several reviews have mentioned, access to the park from route 198 involves significant delays unless you get lucky. Inquire about the "pass through" times before you get there to limit the wait as much as possible.

The lodge and restaurant are of very high quality. Rooms are large, nicely appointed, "mission-style" furniture and details abound. The bed was fine, but the pillows were too hard for me. Usually, I can sleep easily in most hotels, but I had a hard time staying asleep for over two hours. Eventually, I just slept with a sweatshirt under my head.

Understand that the reception desk and restaurant are not in the same building as the hotel rooms are. We parked about 150 yards from registration, lugged our bags in, and found out that we had to lug them back out again, drive to another parking lot, and lug the bags for another 150 yards. We could have asked for bell-service, but we were in a bit of a hurry so we managed by ourselves. Also, be aware that the rooms are on several floors with no elevators. At 7000+ foot elevation, maybe we should have asked for assistance!

The restaurant was remarkably good. I had trout and my wife had ravioli, both very large portions, excellent quality, and reasonably priced. With a full bottle of wine, and two small caesar salads, the total cost of the dinner was under $100. The next day we had a box lunch that we took with us on our explorations, and it contained the largest sandwich I've ever had. About the equivalent of two Subway foot-longs on about half as much bread. We could only eat parts of the sandwiches so we saved the remainder for dinner. Very good value and quality.

Speaking of value, we used a Travelzoo coupon that cost $110 for both the room and the box lunch. If you can get a deal like that one, you won't go wrong.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Apushprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

The quality of the stay/dining is in absolute contrast with the front-desk experience. I am having the most harrowing experience of my life in dealing with the front desk/billing section of the hotel. I spent 2 memorable days at the hotel in January after making a booking through Expedia. Since then, my credit card has been charged multiple times with absolutely no explanation for the charges. Even after conceding that there was a confusion resulting from a miscommunication between hotel and Expedia, they simply refuse to refund the excess amount and put the onus on each other. The front desk/billing staff is surprisingly very rude and inefficient for a hospitality/service industry and simply refuse to understand the problem and ask me to contact expedia which in turn asks me to contact the hotel!
My advise to fellow travelers - Insist on getting the bills settled before you finally check-out and never provide them with your credit-card details.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the parking lot have a good view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Akshat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilltown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Had a reservation which we paid in advance. The day we were to arrive the park was getting a heavy snow and you needed by law to have chains. We had rental car therefore no chains. A foot of snow was coming . We did not want to risk our lives by driving in a foot of snow so we were going to cancel. The man on the phone was rude and advised we could not cancel for a refund for weather. DID THE HOTEL LOSE MONEY BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT RENT OUT OUR ROOM, WHO WAS GOING TO DRIVE UP INTO A NATIONAL PARK IN HEAVY SNOW? With the bad economy you would think the hotel would give a refund, they dont even answer emails. We have stayed at many hotels in National Parks and never were treated this way. Read the other reviews and you will see many people are not satisfied with this place. We lost over $200.00 dollars on this reservation and with the bad economy it hurt.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank scott4808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We booked a suite at Wuksachi lodge.

Checkin was uneventful.

We had a long drive and long trip planned so when we got to our room we were a little disappointed to have to haul them down the stairs (and back up the stairs later) as there are no elevators in the buildings with the rooms. I don't need the elevator for myself but with several large suitcases it makes a big difference.

We were quite surprised when we opened our room to find the room occupied, with someone else's things all over the room. We called the front desk from a hall phone and faced a long hold while they figured out what to do. Finally they came back on and said that they would send someone over with room keys to a similar room nearby. Another fairly long wait until we got the keys to get into our room.

The room itself was ok. The beds were uncomfortable. Two queen beds and the mattresses were just not comfortable at all for sleeping. The sofa bed was also uncomfortable, even more uncomfortable then normal for a sofa bed. There was no TV in the bedroom part of the room.

The wifi was very problematic. The staff said that it would work in the main lodge building as well as the room buildings. The wifi was difficult to connect to in the main lodge and virtually impossible to connect to in the room buildings. A major wifi system upgrade is needed as what is provided is very poor. I was trying to connect with multiple devices, so I know it was not a device problem on my end.

Restaurant was quite mixed. Breakfast items were ok but they often ran out of buffett items and were not quickly refilled. The box lunches were generally good and a good deal. The dinners varied and were a bit expensive. Chicken dish and Scallops were quite good. Ravioli was so-so. Kids had mac and cheese which literally turned out to be Kraft box mac and cheese. Not impressed with that, box M&C for $6. Taller brunette waitress was friendly and gave good service. Shorter older blonde waitress not so much. Brunette with glasses hostess not good service, not helpful, she refused to allow us to move away from the reception area to an open table by window. Finally after demanding a switch she relented.

The general scenery is incredible as fitting for the Sequioa park setting. Particularly the view from the dining room in the Lodge building is quite impressive. A great setting and generally a good but not great base to explore the area.

Oh, and "credit card machine was down" when checking out. Haven't gotten the email bill yet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FastEddddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were visiting Sequoia N.P. with our two small children in early April for "spring break," but it was still winter there. We had to scrap our plans to camp overnight at the last minute when we saw the campground at Lodgepole was covered in snow. We drove to Wuksachi Lodge, walked into the lobby and booked a suite on the spot. We still got the best available rate. The suite was spacious, and had a separate livingroom with TV which you could close off with sliding doors. The food in the restaurant was quite good and had a nice wine selection. Breakfast is buffet-style, ample and delicious. There were lots of families with young kids there. Overall the place is new, clean, and well thought-out. I don't think you can do any better than this in Sequoia/Kings Canyon if you want a hotel experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlasandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
14.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
13.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Property: Wuksachi Lodge
Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing