We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the lodge. We booked the Superior Room which was located in a different building that's 3-5 minutes from the Main Lodge reception area. The room provided wide picture windows that gives great views. Breakfast was included and good to start your day. Dinner was excellent! The attractions are within 10-15 minutes drive and parking was convenient. We planned to visit Kings Canyon but the road was closed due to snow conditions at that time. It's the best place to stay in Sequoia National Park.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoieAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    976
    426
    155
    61
See reviews for
885
1,036
41
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We were there in early December, 2011. Snow still on the ground, but the roads were all open. Park and Lodge were practically empty; the staff informed us that most people don't show up until after Christmas, or right after a big snow. This gave the Lodge a (slight) "The Shining" feel, but it was nice to see only a handful of people throughout our stay. Definitely wouldn't have had that same feeling in Yosemite.

As other folks have pointed out, the location is both awesome and painful - awesome due to its proximity to a TON of great hikes, painful due to the length of time it takes to drive there. For us, the location was the reason for staying at the Lodge, so the drive was the price we paid in order to have incredible access to the park. Speaking of price, I thought the Lodge was actually a pretty good value, given that it is located in a National Park.

Room was basic, but clean and warm. Bed was comfortable, bathroom had a heat lamp, coffee machine worked. Carpet in the hallways was AWFUL looking, from a design perspective; luckily we only saw it coming and going from our room. My major complaint was with the wifi: it was out throughout the Lodge for our entire visit. Granted, the staff took action after I reported it, and it wasn't their fault that it took the Verizon guy two days to get out there (see my comments on location), but still. Given that there is practically NO cell phone coverage in any of the areas of the park that we explored (except for a brief 60 seconds or so atop Moro Rock), wifi at the Lodge becomes slightly more important (for those of us who like to stay connected).

The food at the Lodge dining room was fine, again given the remoteness of the location. We had a nice, big breakfast both mornings we were there before setting out on our adventures.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HouseOfStoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We spent one night at Wuksachi Lodge in June 2011. The setting was beautiful, with snow still on the ground, and deer visible as we drove in! The room was simple, but very clean, neat, and in good repair. It was also extremely quiet. Our room was a 100 yards, or better, distance from the Lodge Office and Restaurant, as is typical here. As others have noted, you are on your own with your bags, and parking is not such that you drive right up to your room. If you have mobility problems, discuss them with the front desk in advance. This was not an issue for us. The restaurant food was somewhat overpriced for the quality, but by no means disappointing. When you remember that you are a 45 minute drive from any other facilities, you appreciate the restaurant for what it is, decent food in an attractive setting. We especially enjoyed a brief one man show which was a narrative of local mining history, performed in character of an actual local 19th century miner. The show was provided free in the lobby before dinner. All in all, it was a very nice stay in a terrific National Park.

Room Tip: Check in the lobby for free special events like the one man show we enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasualVTTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We spent two nights at Wuksachi Lodge in August 2011. This is virtually the only decent lodging option in Sequoia National Park. It is not the Ahwahnee. It is a big, multi-building motel. The rooms are big, clean, comfortable and well-equipped, but basic. It was a bit harrowing to find the lodge, as we drove in from the south entrance, up the endlessly long, curving mountain road. We were stopped on the roadway for at least 30 minutes due to road construction. Night fell. It was very dark. Our cell phones didn't work and we had no idea where we were. There is virtually no signage. It was about 9 pm by the time we found the lodge. [Better to drive in from the north on 180.] We grabbed our bags and made our way to the Registration desk. There was a long line of people checking in, and we stood for at least another 30-40 minutes. We checked in and learned we had to drag our bags back to the car and drive to the lodge where our room was. Then, we dragged our bags a few hundred yards to our room. There is but one restaurant at Wuksachi, and they had no openings for us. We were starved, and there is nowhere else to eat up there. We waited for a late table. We saw other families with young kids forced to wait to 10 pm to eat at the sole restaurant. The food was fine, by the way, and pricey. The site is splendid and close to the major sights, but there is not a single spot on the hotel grounds where one could sit with a book and take in the view, or to sit with a drink and gaze at the glorious night sky. Nothing. We got the message: you may spend the night, but don't linger and get the heck out once you've seen the big trees. This is definitely not the Ahwahnee. So we cancelled our third night and took off. I was hoping this would be a good lodge to linger and enjoy the surroundings. It is really only a decent stopover for a night's sleep. Nothing more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnonymousTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We spent two nights at the Wuksachi Lodge as part of a 2 week trip to California in August 2011.

The lodge is a very basic motel with few services available. I knew this going in, so I was not surprised or disappointed ... but you need to be aware of this before booking. It is very dark in the area at night, so bring a flashlight. If you have mobility issues, I would investigate other lodging choices ... many stairs and steep paths led to our room and you do have to haul your own luggage (they provide luggage carts). The fridge and microwave in the room are very handy as food choices are severely limited in the park (bring your own food with you ... but don't leave it in your car because of bears). There was an ice machine right next to our room ... if you happen to get that room, immediatley check to see if something else is available b/c the machine is loud enough to shake the entire wall (it woke me up at 3:00am).

The check in building is across the street and has a small gift shop and restaurant ... if you want a big gift shop with sundries, you need to go to the big campground.

I don't know if I would stay here again. Ours was primarily a sightseeing mission: we wanted to see some big trees (which, incidentally, did NOT disappoint ... amazing!) and basically had one full day for touring. Because we visited in the summer season, a bus was required to get anywhere within the park ... bus service was slow, crowded and not that well organized (plus, I don't think most people come to a National Park and expect to have to fight for a seat on a bus or wait in a long bus line... many grumpy visitors). If I were to ever visit again in the busy summer season for a sightseeing trip, I think I would stay in Three Rivers and use the money saved on lodging to pay for a guided tour.

Sequoia National Park is breathtaking and was worth the visit for this Midwestern family ... just not sure if staying at the lodge really added to our experience in any way.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms connecting adjacent to the ice machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourwearytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We spent two nights in Wuksachi Lodge (Silliman Building) in November, 2011. It had snowed a week prior and there was still plenty of it around, although the roads had been cleared well. I recommend taking CA 180 (the northern entrance) into the park, especially with the construction on the southern part near Ampetheatre Point. We weren't prepared for the distance between the main lodge and our building, but they did offer bellman service to cart our luggage to our room. It was worth it, since the buildings were about 300 yards apart (and uphill from the lodge). Our room was very nice and clean and quiet. Our room faced the forest which, while beautiful, isn't as scenic as the Sierras to the east. The lodge has several trails perfect for short easy hiking and is only about 2 miles from Lodgepole Visitor Center in the park. The dining was very good, but one pays a premium to have such food delivered in a semi-remote location. Our second day, we ordered a "trail lunch" and it was an amazing value: large sandwich, soft drink or water, fruit, cookie, chips, granola bar, juice and a very good box to carry it all. The waitstaff was very good and attentive. Front desk staff were polite and answered many questions beyond that about the lodge itself. Being near the heart of Sequoia National Park, we are sure to come back and stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for valet/bellman assistance with luggage, it will be well-worth it (and tip well; it's a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Having visited for 2 nights in early November we were lucky enough to arrive after the snow. The location was beautiful. We booked a standard room and it was large with 2 big beds. It had everything we needed, fridge and coffee machine.The room was warm and controlled by a thermostat so we could blast the heat after a cold day out. We ate both nights at the Lodge restaurant. It was very welcoming with log fires. Whilst the food wasn't amazing, some dishes were very good with a nice choice. We had some lovely wines and the bar was a nice place to end the day. For a hotel of this standard, the price was really reasonable and we loved our stay in Wuksachi

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLouB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
620 reviews
14.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
489 reviews
12.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
155 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Property: Wuksachi Lodge
Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262-9604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing