We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sequoia and Kings Canyon are One” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Canyon

Kings Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kings Canyon National Park is named for this large canyon, perfect for hiking.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
679 reviews
509 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Sequoia and Kings Canyon are One”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Don't let the name fool you. Sequoia and Kings Canyon are one national park--one large park with lots of wonderful trails and amazing trees. Of course, don't miss the Sherman Tree in the Sequoia part of the park or the Sherman tree in the Kings Canyon part of the park. Many trails are easy. Do the loops to enjoy the perspective of the trees. If possible, go with a ranger to learn more about the history and botany. Lots to explore here.
Kids will learn and love doing the Jr. Ranger activities for which they can earn a badge.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jbwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    113
    25
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Fabulous trails, giant sequoia trees, breathtaking vistas, and loads of wildlife. We saw six bears! Lots of interesting historical spots too. And meadows full of wildflowers. The rangers were very knowledgeable and helpful. There are free shuttle busses as well. Seems like a very well maintained and accessible park. My new favorite!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pmhigs53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Camp, see an amazing canyon, and some giant trees ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

This was the 10th and 11th National Parks on our trip... Each are unique and you experience something to take away in each... Kings Canyon offers a wild river, wilderness, giant Sequoia trees... If you are headed to both Kings Canyon and Sequoia national parks take route 180, as it's a much better road than route 198. Camp on Hume Lake...

Helpful?
1 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Must visit - the drive is incredible, and not busy at all when I visited in Summer 2014. Stunning scenery throughout.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Park with Amazing Trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed two nights in the park cabins while on a Western States National Park road trip. Was very surprised at how much I liked this park - the shear size of the trees was breathtaking, much better than the redwoods. Enjoyed several day hikes. Would definite go back and after driving down into the canyon past Grant Grove (Zumwalt Meadow region I believe) I would love to spend more time down in that area - we almost missed that part of the park, but was glad we at least drove through it.

One recommended trail is to Tharp's log which is actually in the adjacent Sequoia park.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RMabe_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Canyon also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing