We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Kings Canyon

Kings Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kings Canyon National Park is named for this large canyon, perfect for hiking.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Make sure to do the Kings Canyon scenic highway. Approx 28 miles down to "nowhere". Great area to picnic for lunch and to visit the Roaring Fall.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank monails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    127
    29
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A sight to empower you”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Sequoia is half of a combined unit of two National Parks, administered together, the other being Kings Canyon to the north. Sequoia National Park has one spectacular valley, Kern Canyon, that runs north-south near the eastern border, and there are some groves of giant sequoia in Kings Canyon Park, but the name of each park accurately reflects their most important features. Both are relatively quiet and unspoilt. I went in March and so snow was a driving problem when at high altitude. For those tree huggers and amature photographers, King's Canyon is your mecca. This is a place to drive slowly, spend time bonding with nature, and realising how insignifcant one is when standing next to a giant sequoia. Put this palce on your bucket list.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike210948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nature...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great for nature lovers! Love the giant trees. Interesting facts are posted about the trees. Informative experience. Great family fun. Nice scenery.

Helpful?
Thank Monkeycritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Car sick but worth it..”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Thru out my life Ive visited the parks, But I think Kings Canyon is so much more beautiful than Sequoia park. All our parks in california have their own stamp on the state. All are worth visiting. But I get car sick and my husband and grand child thought it was funny. Next time Im driving.....

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joyce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing and tranquil giants of nature”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Finally took the time to visit Sequoia National Park and I am so glad we did. The drive to the park through rolling hills that gradually climbed to the park was beautiful. Don't hurry on these winding roads, enjoy the variety of scenery until the road grows more winding and darkens from the shade and you smell the aroma of the giant redwoods. Take the time to explore the turnouts and trails. A short walk will take you from most of the crowd into the cool, quiet shade of these giant trees which have provoked wondrous response for hundred of years. We went on a week day in the fall and the crowds had thinned but consessions were also closed or had more limited hours. Don't miss this place - it touched me in ways I did not expect.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank curiouslygeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Canyon also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing