We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing and tranquil giants of nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Canyon

Kings Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kings Canyon National Park is named for this large canyon, perfect for hiking.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing and tranquil giants of nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Finally took the time to visit Sequoia National Park and I am so glad we did. The drive to the park through rolling hills that gradually climbed to the park was beautiful. Don't hurry on these winding roads, enjoy the variety of scenery until the road grows more winding and darkens from the shade and you smell the aroma of the giant redwoods. Take the time to explore the turnouts and trails. A short walk will take you from most of the crowd into the cool, quiet shade of these giant trees which have provoked wondrous response for hundred of years. We went on a week day in the fall and the crowds had thinned but consessions were also closed or had more limited hours. Don't miss this place - it touched me in ways I did not expect.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank curiouslygeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    123
    26
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
192 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views....but scary driving!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I love the mountain views....but the driving was unnerving. Very narrow, twisty roads not wide enough for two cars.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank geminigirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mist Fall and beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was like traveling to a popular waterfall hike in Yosemite w/o the crowds...absolutely beautiful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnectRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The largest trees in the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We took a long day trip from Yosemite (our base) to Kings Canyon NP and Sequoia NP. The parks and Sequoia Natl Monument are next to each other. There was very little traffic in October and the trees are beautiful. We did not get to drive Kings Canyon itself or explore the southern end of Sequoia. That is left for a second, longer trip. If you are coming from the north or west on CA 180 do not be discouraged by Fresno and the smog. Although you can see smog up to 5000' elevation, the parks are much higher than that height and look great. It's just a shame the San Juaquin valley is such a mess, but a miracle they have saved these areas in the Sierra Nevadas.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FunPrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Now this is a drive !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We literally drove through the clouds before descending into the valley and then the clouds were above us. The views and roads are spectacular. Winding , twisting, steep roads make it hard to all there is to see. Be sure to stop at Roaring River Falls. Zumwalt Meadows is good for walking.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank douieaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Canyon also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing