We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but not for young families”
Review of Mount Whitney

Mount Whitney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most climbed peak in the Sierra Nevada, and the highest.
South-Central, PA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting but not for young families”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Located on the sparsely-vegetated eastern side of the Sierra Nevada range, Mt. Whitney is monstrous but offers little to do unless one wishes to take a lengthy (approx. 22 mile) hike to it. The best vantage point for families with young children is from the Visitor Center in Lone Pine, CA.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank NeedABreakInSC-PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middle Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“tall mountain”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

you get a great view from the visitor center just south of Lone Pine Ca on Hwy 395 to see the highest mountain in the lower 48 states.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank valleyboy38548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Climbing Mt Whitney via the mountaneering route”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had a blast doing this climb. During the summer the mountaneering route is a hybrid between a trek and a climb. I suppose the technical description of the ascent is grade 3 rock scramble, so no technical experience required but if you are a seasoned trekker and/or physically fit and looking to expand your expereince and skills you will not be disappointed. There is nothing boring about this 11 hour rock scrmable (on hands and knees) up and down Mt. Whitney. We did the ascent from and back to Boy Scout Lake. Overall trip was 3 days (last day was more of a half day). The mountain is 14,508 feet so altitude and its effects on the body come into play but are manageable. The views are spectacular.

I did the trip with SWS Mountain Guides. They were excellent (Casey and Matthew) and I highly recommend them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nadia1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Cap
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highest Elevation”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Didnt go all the way to the top, just to the Portal.. still awsome waterfalls and sights... very high altitude, so walking somewhat slowers, the drive up is slow w/ lots of turns, but road is good..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Hiking Accomplishment to Date...”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

50% of the people who try to summit Whitney will not make it. Among the challenges you need to overcome: the highly restrictive permit application process, physically demanding conditions, extreme weather, dehydration, and if you can overcome all of those things, you never know if acute mountain sickness (altitude sickness) might set in. I am very thankful to have summited last October. We arrived in Lone Pine on a Tuesday night, camped out at the portal the first night (8000'). Be sure to say hello to Doug if you stop at the Portal store, he's one of the good guys. We let the portal at 10 am and ascended to Trail Camp by Wednesday night at 4pm (12,000'). We summited on Thursday (14,505') by leaving at 4:45 am and made the trek all the way down by 7:30 pm. We took Diamox to help with AMS and stayed well-hydrated and loaded with caffeine and ibuprofen. My most difficult time on the mountain came at 10,000 ft, but after making it past that point, I was issue free with the exception of a persistent dull headache while 11,000 ft.

I would HIGHLY recommend planning this trip well in advance, especially if you will be flying to this location. I started planning more than a year in advance. The permits are hard to obtain, and I would hold out for an overnight pass rather than a 24 hour one. Rent a bear canister from the Eastern Sierra Interagency Visitors Center for $5 as they are required gear in the Whitney Zone. I would try to eat as much as possible while climbing in lower altitudes as I have heard AMS makes you lose your appetite, and you'll need the energy. Water sources beyond Trail Camp are scarce to non-existent. Plan on taking 3 liters of water per person to get you up the 97 switchbacks and the final 5 miles to the summit. We got hit with a blizzard near Trail Crest (13,600') but weren't about to turn back. I would also start early from Trail Camp as unpredictable weather can pop up as noon approaches. This was a killer experience, truly extreme, highly rewarding, a great team effort, and provided unrivaled views of the Sierras and beyond. As they say: The summit is optional, the parking lot is mandatory. Be safe and take your time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Whitney also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Mount Whitney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing