We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Upper Stony Creek Campground (not Stony Creek)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stony Creek Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stony Creek Campground
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Upper Stony Creek Campground (not Stony Creek)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great place to camp across the street from Stony Creek and upstream of it. Doesn't have a shower or flush toilet but the latrine bathrooms were the cleanest I've ever seen. I saw Steve, the host, come by at least twice during the day to clean it out. He was also very friendly and helpful. They have drinking water on site so no need to bring filters or iodine tablets. Also, bear boxes are provided at each site so no need to bring your own container. The Stony Creek runs right next to the site and is a great place to go exploring, fishing and swimming. The trailhead to Lake Jenny is right on the camp site and looks like a great hike. It's literally two minutes away from Stony Creek Lodge, showers, a restaurant and convenience store. In the morning, a deer ran through the camp.

The only things that marred the experience were obnoxious neighbors. One of them decided to vacuum their tent AT MIDNIGHT and the other one had a very loud, obnoxious generator for their RV which they, thankfully, turned off before the posted quiet time. Who brings a vacuum cleaner to go camping?

Anyway, I would camp there again and hope for the best where neighbors are concerned.

Room Tip: We stayed at camp site 17 which was nice. I would recommend sites 9, 11, or 12 if you have kids who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WrldTrvlr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We camped in late July 2012 and had a great experience. It is located inbetween the Sheman and Grant trees and close to Hume Lake. It is .06 miles from gas, showers and supplies. The Stony Creek literally runs through the campsite and while it was low on our visit it was pretty. In season, it must be amazing. Our site 28 was surrounded by trees and deer roamed through in the evening. My only two critiques of my site was it was at a slight slant and the bear boxes open on the side, not the top so they were a hassle getting our food in and out and because we had a cube shaped ice chest we had to unscrew the handles to put it away. That said, small price to pay for a nice clean and quiet campsite close to all the attractions!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

this was our last campground of 6 and after the dreadfull site at Dimond O in yosemite were a bit apprehensive but no need this was a good one. We got there and the hosts came to see us let us know the rules etc, asked where we are from and had a really good chat. As usual there are the fire ring, park bench and bear box, a nice pad for the tent too. This site does not have showers but the shop 5 mins up the road does (we paid couple of dollars and shared, to save water!!) The laundry was here too again pretty cheap, pay for the laundry and have a coffee or beer while you wait (good excuse!) We stayed for 3 nights and the hosts came around to see if all was ok. Our site (cant remember the number??) was at the far end loop and we had deer everynight just walking passed the tent. We saw bears around the area but none in the campground. If your in the area use stony creek and enjoy the peace and quiet, thank you to the hosts if you read this, you restored our faith in the camp host system after dimond O.

Room Tip: you will need midgy spray or cream as there are lots of the little blighters. Dont leave it out as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Briar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chino
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

i camped at stony creek for 5 nights 6 days and was beautifal i recomend going in june we saw 3 7 bears from a distance 3 and up close at the site 4 they were harmless and well i really recomend it

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank juergen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We love stony creek, clean campsites, clean bathrooms and lots of space between the campground. When the stream is up the fishing is pretty good as well. A short drive to Stony Creek Lodge for any forgotten items, ice, showers (which are kind of not so great, Lodgepole is worth the drive to the showers).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lacampingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

EVERY Staff member was so helpful and friendly. They even stored our left-over pizza (which was the best we'd ever had) for 2 days, then reheated it in the oven (it was even better the 2nd time)! Highly recommend the lodge and will return next summer!

Room Tip: It's centrally located in the Park, but only has 10 rooms, book early or keep checking for cance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacque W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Take the 180. Much smoother and less loopy. Plus there's road work on the 198 at the other entrance. We had to wait an hour in the sun, cars parked. Besides that, Stony creek is in the middle, very far from everything else, but there is a BEAUTIFUL sequioa grove nearby in between Dorst Creek and Stony Creek called the LOST GROVE. It's unmarked, but you'll see cars parked there. I liked the Lost Grove better than the crowds at General Sherman. Lost Grove is the best place for pictures if you camp at Stony creek. Our campsite was great, but sites 20,21,23 had DEER in their campsites every morning, since they were by the woods more. :) The rangers wear white shirts and are pretty nice. The bathrooms have mirrors and sinks, nightlites at night, (Still bring your flashlight) no soap, and 2 flush toliets in the ladies room. The market/ gift shop/ gas station is only like, a mile away, or less. We bought potatoes there one morning. They have showers there and a restaurant. We got a large PIZZA , it was full of cheese and was pretty good.
There was a light shower of RAIN every morning even though the forecast for Three Rivers said SUNNY. When the rain did clear up, it was pretty warm, but not hot :) Last but not least, I didn't see any fish in the creek or anyone fishing there. Lots of families and teens. Everyone was really QUIET at night and we didn't encounter any bears. EXTRA CARS ARE $5.00 A NIGHT, NOT BAD AT ALL.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 007evelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
0.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.0 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Campground

Property: Stony Creek Campground
Address: Rt 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Stony Creek Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing