We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a desert wonderland”

Red Hills Visitor Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The western section of Saguaro National Park.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a desert wonderland”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Having hiked among the saguaro national park as a young man I was eager to return. Only I would return in a wheelchair, due to a stroke I suffered six years ago. I was not disappointed.. The visitor center is the place to begin with a well made brief film to give you thes cientific and spiritual dimension of the park.There are many paved trails which I was quite pleased with.Our visit took place in early April of 2013. Be sure your camera is ready to go as you will find countless opportunities to photograph a pristine desert environment full of giant saguaros as far as the eye can see. the park is only minutes away from Tuccon where we stayed. The rangers here are highly knowledgeable about all things saguaro and appear genuinely interested in your questions.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Svaldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    134
    23
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

So many different kids of cacti - many in bloom. A beautiful and very different landscape complete with petroglyphs. Get out of your car and hike the trails to really enjoy the experience! Don't forget sunscreen and take plenty of water!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a slide from the john wayne movie”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

in the old john wayne movies, these cactus were always in the background. they are as impressive as in the movie. some are up to 40 or 50 feet high. you need to hike to get the real feel for the park. the west park is more impressive than the the east but you have to drive on a unpaved road in the west. lots of different species of cactus. the saguaro grows very slowly. it takes them about 100 years to get 25 feet tall. very unusual plants that you can only see in arizona. a must see!!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The saguaros are amazing!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I loved hiking in this park. Being from Europe, I have a very romantic view of the Wild West desert and cacti! The cacti are huge and weirdly beautiful. The visitor centre was very helpful with tips on where to go and is a great place to start. Make sure you have a hat, plenty of water and sunscreen though as some of the hikes are pretty demanding in the heat. But I loved being so close to such wild nature. All in all I found being in this desert a humbling experience - we don't have anything which even slightly resembles this type of landscape in UK, so for me it was truly wonderful!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sparkyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
346 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“If you do one of the two sides of the park, this is the one”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Saguaro National Park won't blow you away with spectacular sights, especially if you are driving through. But it's all about the iconic cactus, and the west side of the park has the more impressive saguaro vistas. It also has an area containing petroglyphs if you're cactused out. No one will confuse Saguaro NP with Yellowstone, but it's a nice way to spend a couple of hours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KommissarKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hills Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Red Hills Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing