We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to not East” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Hills Visitor Center

Red Hills Visitor Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The western section of Saguaro National Park.
Brown
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Go to not East”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The drive to this park was amazing. Went to east and thought this can't be all. Got a tip to go on the drive to west and glad we did. Did actually drive the loop there because park was closed but just. Get there was great. If possible stay for sunset.

Helpful?
Thank OnlyAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    131
    23
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Our Local National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The highlight is Wasson Peak - it offers 4 great trails to the top, and some of the best wildflowers in spring. For an easier hike, try Brown Mountain.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucs0nhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Iconic Plant Worthy of a National Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Movie westerns were popular when I grew up and I was one of their biggest fans. Nothing became a greater symbol of the West than the Saguaro cactus. So, I was thrilled to visit the Saguaro National Park in Tucson, Arizona, the home of this rare, fascinating and iconic desert plant. I couldn’t miss the Saguaros along the park road. They’re everywhere. Though plentiful around Tucson, Saguaros are a rare cactus species that is fully protected by Arizona law and grows only in the Sonoran desert. There is no better place than the Saguaro National Park to learn about them.

The tour conducted by a park ranger at the Red Hills Visitor Center was the highlight of my visit. The ranger conducted the tour with enthusiasm and she knew a lot about cacti in general and the Saguaro in particular. For example, it’s the largest cactus in North America, it grows 50 feet tall or more, it must be shaded by other plants during the first 3 years, it’s pollinated by bats, it blooms for one day in Spring, its fruit ripens in August, the fruit is used for jams, jelly, candy and wine, it may take 60 years or more for arms to start growing, and I could go on and on. The ranger clearly demonstrated why Saguaros are special and her tour was informative and entertaining.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rusticpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must-see if in Tucson!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Simply beautiful! You must see it. Pictures will do it no justice. You can walk for 30 minutes or hike and camp for days on their vast network of beautiful trails. Tons of wildlife, too!

Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous scenery, great trails, nice facilities.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My friend David and I hiked here yesterday. Absolutely gorgeous drive through the park, great hiking trails well-marked and beautifully maintained. We spent an hour in the lovely Visitor's Center exploring the information and listening to a tour guide talk about the native plants and animals. A real 'must-see' if you are in the desert SouthWest.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kraypaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hills Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Red Hills Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing