We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Visitor Center

Alpine Visitor Center
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the part of Trail Ridge Road that separates the east side of the park from the long downhill trip to the west. We were just here briefly, as it was snowing and hailing -- in late July!!! Be prepared for any kind of weather when you visit.

We had to wait awhile to get a parking spot, but after circling twice, we managed to get a spot on the third try around. Just know that it might not be a fast stop if you're hoping for a quick in-and-out of the center.

We had fun walking around and looking at the incredible views -- and the typical visitor center souvenir shop -- which had a good selection of items including things for kids, clothing, mugs, etc. and we were very happy to stamp our Parks Passport with the date and location.

There are also some great Native American works of art on display and for purchase.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank trippinjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    93
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great stop in the Rockies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a very nice little visitor center with some really great views and places for pictures. There is also a store with souveniers and a little cafe with some food items. The bathrooms were clean even with the large amount of visitors on the day we went.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FoutsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Incredible view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

There are so many scenic outlooks in the Rocky Mountain National Park that it would seem impossible to pick out the best spot. However, the Alpine Visitors Center clearly (pun intended) is the best. It is only 11,796 feet in altitude and has a restaurant and gift shop. Being located at the halfway point to Grand Lake it is a good place to eat and use the restroom facilities. The visitor center view is world class. We were going to go to Grand Lake, but by accident found out that an old friend was working at the Moraine Park Visitor Center, and turned around to go surprise him.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lawton1osuedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great stopping-off point between Old Fall River Rd and Trail Ridge Rd.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

What a nice visitors center!! Large selection of quality souvenirs, maps, hand crafts and photos. Also has a nice little restaurant where you can eat overlooking the beautiful view. Be prepared for a great temperature drop and some lots of gusty winds.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kppeebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Take Fall River Road to the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a great place for lunch after a senic ride up the one way dirt road. The air is a little thin but nothing like Pikes Peak. The food was good and not too overpriced. Nice selection of the typical souvenirs. Flush toliets not just out houses . Great view of the alpine seenery. Watched a heard of elk grazing while we ate lunch. Plenty of Photo ops.You will leave on paved two way road. Drive all the way to the west entrance then turn around and head back to Estes Park. Try to schedule your trip back down down to Estes Park around dusk and you'll see lots of wildlife grazing. We saw Deer, Elk, Moose and Sheep.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rjgrossmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Visitor Center also viewed

Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 

Been to Alpine Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing