We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Interesting place to shoot pictures” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alluvial Fan

Alluvial Fan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting place to shoot pictures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I drive to the alluvial fan every time I am in Estes. The water falls and cascading stream are beautiful and a bonus is that there are greenback cutthroat trout in the stream...small but fun to catch. Another bonus are some very old pine trees that cry out for pictures looking strait up the trunk. Interesting shot in black and white. Kids seem to enjoy scrambling over the boulders, but can skin a knee if not careful. Elk can usually be seen in the meadow below.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chowardjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    44
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“interesting story behind this natural "disaster"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice short walk with a view of a pretty falls. Interesting sory of how the fan was formed. Neat geological feature.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsboro, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Falls were Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was an easy climb and a great place to take pics. This also a very popular area to have a picnic or just people watch.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasEunice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
209 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Take Time to Stop Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My nine year old grandson and I enjoyed the adventure of climbing on the rocks and boulders surrounding the falls. A different and interesting area to explore.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TouringTwoTimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a stop at Alluvial Fan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

From Estes Park, we took 34 to the Fall River Entrance into the park. The Alluvial or horseshoe Fan was at the back, right before you get onto Old Fall River Rd. There were tons of picnic tables with parking spaces all around this area, so I would advise you to pack a lunch. This stop was a 0.3 mi upward incline paved hike to the Alluvial fan waterfall. Worth seeing and more great pics!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SmileyClown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alluvial Fan also viewed

Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 

Been to Alluvial Fan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing