We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful National Park with lots to offer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hurricane Ridge

Hurricane Ridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$250.98*
and up
Small-Group Olympic National Park Tour from Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 17-mile stretch of winding road through dense forests and alpine ice-covered peaks.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful National Park with lots to offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family can utilize Hurricane Ridge year round! In the winter there is a rope ski lift with lessons for the skiers in the area -although it is more suited for children the adults can enjoy a short run. There is also a sled area for smaller children and a larger area for sleds and tubes for adults and children. There are great trails for snow shoeing (they rent the equipment in the visitors center on top if you don't have any) or cross country skiing. In the spring as the snow melts and the flowers start to pop through it is beautiful and in the summer when the snow is gone and there is full access to the dirt paths again the hiking is awesome and fun for people of all levels. There are a few asphalt paths for gentle strolling and families with strollers or for the more physically fit and less encumbered there are trails all along the top of the ridge to give amazing views and ample opportunity to view wildlife and the foliage. The visitors center offers restrooms and during the summer and ski seasons there is a gift shop and small café for refreshments. As long as you have chains for your tires the trip is worth it year round!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank beccag21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,020
    179
    25
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunrise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I braved a drive through dense fog at 4:30am to get to the top and watch the sunrise and illuminate the Olympic Range. A magical experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisFromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Long and Winding Road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a great trek up the mountain and well worth the 17 mile long and winding road. Breathtaking views along the way and unbelievable view at the top. Don't miss it if you're in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoamingTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
201 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“A visit for heavenly sights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We took the Seattle ferry that could accommodate 2500 passengers and 225 cars- amazing. Then driving all the way up the Hurricane Ridge road from the Olympic NP visitor center, through thick green forested winding road. As we neared the top, snow greeted us on both sides of the winding road. We saw few deer grazing on the road sides. Once on top, the view of snow covered hills all around was amazing. Many visitors were enjoying playing in the snow and capturing those moments in their cameras. We sat down for a very long time inhaling fresh air and treating our eyes to the cool snow covered surroundings.
An unforgettable visit that will remain in our memory for ever.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vrvaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A view to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

One of my best friends lives in Seattle and every time I visit we take a driving adventure and it never ceases to amaze. Our visit to Hurricane Ridge was the first stop on our "Twilight Tour" (no shame!). The drive up to the visitors center and parking lot I liken to climbing track to the first large drop of a roller coaster...the anticipation was more than half the fun. The higher you get the more it confirms how amazing of a view it will be. Truly breathtaking.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Ridge also viewed

Olympic National Park, WA
Olympic National Park, WA
 
Olympic National Park, WA
Olympic National Park, WA
 

Been to Hurricane Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing