We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annual Trip for Us” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ozette Loop Hike

Ozette Loop Hike
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
255 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Annual Trip for Us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I do this hike every year. It is worth the long drive to reach lake Ozette. We always choose to stay on the Cape Alava side because we enjoy collecting drift wood and having fires. You cant have fire on the sand point side. If you get a chance you need to add this hike to your must see list.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Swimmy128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cedarview2
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ozette triangle trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

A 9 mile trail with almost 6 miles being on boardwalk (lots of steps!) Starts near Lake Ozette with a bridge crossing over Ozette River. SandPoint or Cape Alava the two main camping areas on beach. Some interesting geology with the almost perfect round "cannonball" rocks near Cape Alava. Halfway between these two points is Wedding Rocks which is home to ancient petroglyphs.
Good for overnight trip to hike in campsite on beach or just a good dayhike as well. See:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0FV5raUwneM
for pics/videos of hike.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank cedarview2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, WA
Level Contributor
428 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Lots of memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

As a Boy Scout, I hiked these trails several times in my youth, and once as an adult when I returned with my own family. I have lots of great memories of the lake and ocean.

Sand Point: this is probably the easiest leg of the trail, on mostly level boardwalk through forest, with a few clearings where you will be in direct sunlight. When you hear the ocean and smell the salt air, you'll know you're getting close. The foliage around the campsites is more overgrown than I remembered (not surprising given the 25 years between my visits), but otherwise things were as I recalled. You can camp right at the trailhead by the ocean, or if you'd like a bit more privacy, there are camping spots a bit further down (south) the beach, on the small bluffs overlooking the beach. A few miles down the beach you'll find the trailhead to Ericson's Bay, which is a small campsite on Lake Ozette only reachable by boat or by hiking out to the ocean. The beach at Ericson's was nice and sandy, and is a nice spot, although there are only a couple of sites and they are first-come first-served.

Cape Alava: the hike on this leg is a bit longer than to Sand Point, and has a long stretch through an open meadow (Ahlstroms Prairie), but otherwise is similar to its southern counterpart. Just north of the trailhead is the Native American village that was buried in a mud slide thousands of years ago and was excavated back in the 70's I think. The site is closed down, but you can look at it from the beach. The tide pooling is better at Cape Alava than Sand Point, and even more so if you make the two mile hike north along the ocean to the mouth of the Ozette River (as always check the tide charts!). Our scout troop made two hikes out to the river, and I recall the tide pools near the river mouth to be incredible.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank dunadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesano, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of the everything.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is a great loop hike that gives you an opportunity to experience of all the best of the Washington coastal areas.

Helpful?
Thank savoryfaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great tidepool beach hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

If you are looking for an interesting and somewhat challenging beach hike, the Ozette Loop is a great experience! Before heading to the Trailhead, be sure to have a Tide Chart, I printed mine off the internet. This loop starts as a 3 mile boardwalk, through a lush forest full of wildflowers, interesting slugs, and wonderful woodland scents!! Be careful if the boardwalk is wet, it can be slippery, but it is very user friendly for adults as well as children.
After 3 miles, you will hear the crash of the surf, and will find yourself climbing over log after log of fallen trees, piled on the beach. Past the logs, you begin the 3 mile beach hike, part sandy, part squishy kelp and rocky tide pools! Stay awhile to catch site of starfish, anemones, captured creatures in pools, but always be alert when high tide begins.
There are points you don't want to be caught in during high tide so plan your hike accordingly! I hiked in keens, perfect for both water and land!
As we neared the end of the beach trek, we were happy to spot the trailhead sign on the tree, indicating the start of the trailhead back to our car. Just another 3 miles back, also on boardwalk, and we were happy to complete the 9 mile trek!
If you prefer not to complete the triangle, just hike 3 miles to the beach, and spend time enjoying the tide pools! They are the best of I have enjoyed on the west side of the Olympic Peninsula! There is a very nice camp ground located here, which I am tempted to stay at, the next time I visit!
Hope you enjoy this hike!!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lovehiking12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ozette Loop Hike also viewed

Olympic National Park, WA
Olympic National Park, WA
 
Olympic National Park, WA
Olympic National Park, WA
 

Been to Ozette Loop Hike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing