We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible views and beachfront”
Review of Ruby Beach

Ruby Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dramatic Pacific coast beach with a rugged shoreline.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Incredible views and beachfront”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was traveling 101 after a day of exploring at Olympic National Park and was only looking for a bathroom break but I was wonderfully surprised. As I turned in, I saw the view of the lighthouse across the way and then the magnificent boulder jutting out of the ocean. The sun was still high in the sky and the ocean sparkled like diamonds with every ripple that met the shore. I spent about an hour but could have easily spent the entire day exploring the shoreline and taking photos. If you are close, take time to stop by and be amazed. If you google, Ruby Beach there are incredible pictures available online.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerDavidfromGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    125
    24
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolute Must See!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This beach is absolutely gorgeous. A must see! We took subs and ate lunch on the beach and then walked and explored. GREAT! Tough walk down for anyone who is disabled or has trouble with hiking. But a great view and great experience!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 513aubreyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Private, beautiful and serene. We loved that is was close to the Olympic National Forest and not too far of a drive from Port Angeles. A must see in Washington!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank COgirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very pretty, Check tide charts”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

When we were there there were storms so there was a high surf advisory, and we didn't feel safe crossing the river to the more isolated part of the beach. As with all the beaches make sure you are checking the tide charts so you don't get stuck in a dangerous situation. We did sit on the driftwood on the main part and watch the waves thunder in. It was pretty spectacular.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachelmae83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We loved Ruby Beach! My husband and I stopped by the beach twice during our tour of the Olympic Penninsula. Our first stop was in the morning during low tide. We were able to view the tidal pools and see the anemones and sea stars. We enjoyed climbing around on the drift logs and playing around in the receding tide waters. Abbey Island is the largest of the sea stacks and is quite impressive. One of my favorite features was a fallen log that was decorated with totems of round stones stacked all along the log. We left the beach and went up to the Hoh rain forest for the day. After dinner in Forks we headed back to Ruby Beach hoping to see the sunset. We arrived right as the sun was receeding and were able to get some amazing shots. I revisited the log with the totems and was delighted to see even more people had added their own totems along the log. The views of sea stacks along this beach is amazing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rYgardnerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Beach also viewed

Olympic National Park, WA
Olympic National Park, WA
 
Olympic National Park, WA
Olympic National Park, WA
 

Been to Ruby Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing