We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for seeing the out cropings”
Review of Ruby Beach

Ruby Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dramatic Pacific coast beach with a rugged shoreline.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for seeing the out cropings”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Really amazing rocks and drift wood everywhere. This is not your typical east coast florida beach. It is rocks and drift wood and whales in the distance. There are amazing rocks from the glaciers. The huge logs come down from the mountains as the glacial water goes into the ocean. Really worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robinhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    128
    25
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coastal Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun to explore”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The first thing I said when we arrived at Ruby Beach was Wow! The beach is covered in small round stones of various colors. White driftwood logs are scattered everywhere. The surf breaks against large dark rocks. It was fun to walk along the beach and stack the round stones on logs, get close up views of the various dark rock outcrop pings. This beach beats Cannon Beach hands down.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NC10US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beyond beautiful”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We got an early start heading from Forks area for the Hoh Rainforest but decided to hit Ruby Beach first. Was beautiful but pretty much fogged in. We took our photos and drove back north to the Rainforest. Finishing up about 3:00 pm decided to try the beach again and were we glad we did. It was beautiful and clear. By the time we left, about 4:30 the sun had barely started setting. We wanted to stay and watch the sunset as had been told it was the best area to do so. It had been a long day so decided to get back to Forks. Also we are seniors and do not like the critters who come out on to the roads at night. :0)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shack2_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you only have time to stop at one beach on the Olympic loop. Make it this one. Take your time and explore because it is so worth it. I live cannon beach In Oregon and this one competes with it in a smaller, but wonderful scale.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dclynam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolf Point, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“breathtakingly BEAUTIFUL...”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Everybody talks about the Oregon beaches, but I would have to say that this one is right up there with the best of them. It'smy favorite place to go to in WA state. I've been here when it's been sunny, rainy, & foggy and its still a sight to see no matter the weather conditions!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 49erEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Beach also viewed

Olympic National Park, WA
Olympic National Park, WA
 
Olympic National Park, WA
Olympic National Park, WA
 

Been to Ruby Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing