We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All View Motel(Port Angeles)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olympic Lodge(Port Angeles)
$210
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Lodge(Port Angeles)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aircrest Motel(Port Angeles)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angeles Motel(Port Angeles)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Royal Victorian Motel(Port Angeles)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flagstone Motel(Port Angeles)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveler rating
117
162
118
75
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
162
118
75
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolsswimming poolsol duc hot springsspring poolssulfur smellbring your ownno cell phone servicepicnic tablessmall storesalmonon site restauranthiking trailsbreakfast and dinnerfish and chipslake quinaultbeautiful locationolympic peninsula
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 515 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Yes, this place is more rustic, but remember this is national park lodging - something you sacrifice for the history & beauty that surrounds you. I am a picky traveler and absolutely loved this place!

We actually stopped for a late lunch at Lake Crescent Lodge. While this may be more what you think of when you hear "lodge", I'm glad I didn't stay there. We had a great lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the area. However, the kids were out of control and there were laptops and cell phones annoying us at every direction. Why go on vacation? Marymere Falls was just ok, I'd pass on it unless you're staying there.

Sol Duc was nestled away in the park, peaceful and relaxing! It's a great value that includes a modern cabin, full hot breakfast and all the hot pool amenities. Our cabin was spacious with a small living room area, front porch and very comfortable beds.

We were not around during the day, so I can't comment on what it's like then. However, we'd return from exploring around 7 p.m. with enough time for a relaxing soak in the pool and a delicious supper served expertly. We were very generous tipping our servers, they rocked. All the kids we saw were so well-behaved and polite - lots of mixed groups (families, couples, singles) stay here. The pools weren't too crowded and are emptied and sanitized every night.

Honestly, it's the perfect compliment to such an active vacation. Soaking after our long hikes made for a perfect trip. We were so content that we'd often be in bed by 9 p.m., exhausted from exploring everything ONP has to offer!

BTW, skip Shi Shi Beach hike (it's hard, muddy and not that rewarding) and instead visit Cape Flattery. It's easy and the end of the trail is SO rewarding - one of our highlights! If you go, consider giving the recreational permit to someone else to enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Stayed two nights in August. Cabins are very basic and mostly clean. Bathroom is really small. We had a non kitchen cabin with two queens that was really two doubles. Surprisingly the area was quiet at quiet time. The included breakfast was very filling and had hot items, although the staff had a hard time keeping them filled. The hot springs were fun although stinky. If that's your thing then they are probably really nice. We used them a bit, but were more there for the area. If you are looking for a $200 hotel room you will be disappointed, but if you understand that most national park lodgings are expensive mostly for the fact that they are smack dab in the middle of a great place, then you'll be fine. The dinner we had at the lodge was also very good.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mathdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

After spending the morning hiking on Hurricane Ridge and an afternoon treck to the Sol Duc Falls, a relaxing soak in the hot springs and dinner at the lodge were a perfect cap for the day.
We stayed in a lodge cabin which was clean and comfortable with all of the basic necessities. Dinner and breakfast at the Lodge were very good.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocket-scientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Sol Duc was a treat. I agree with the othe reviews that it may not be what many people think of as a resort, but it was very nice. I think you could walk in off the trail with only the clothes on your back and make do at Sol Duc.

The bathroom had soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion in dispensers; a hair dryer. The kitchen had a coffee maker, microwave, fridge, stove, etc. The cabin was very small, just two Q beds and a kitchen area and bathroom, but very clean and comfortable. The towels were as nice as a fine hotel! We found the restaurant to be surprisingly good, although the choices were limited.

We stayed there for the central location in the park, and it was very good for that. The park is large and beautiful, and it was easy to access the parts we wanted to see from Sol Duc.

We never stop being proud of the way our national parks are run! They are truly our treasure!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ChillinWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We made a reservation at sol duc 10 months in advancedfor one night while visiting family in WA. When we got there to check in they told us they were overbooked (eventhough we showed up with email confirmation that they had sent, in hand!) They put us up at nearby Elwah B&B which was great (see our review). They also allowed us to use the pools and springs for the day. They were very crowded, as was the parking lot and the lodging area. It felt more like an amusement park than a vacation resort, especially when the bus showed up! The staff was helpful and courteous, although they never let us know in advance of the problem with overbooking. I suspect we got squeezed out in favor of someone having a longer stay at Sol Duc. As a result, our time in the Olympic National Park was minimized. I would be careful about staying here again. Call a day or two before you arrive!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
1  Thank michie2783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews