We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sol Duc” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
“Sol Duc”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Ever since my first visit to the hot springs I have wanted to stay there. This last weekend I had that opportunity, and I am so glad I did! The resort is nestled amongst the mountains and trees, providing the most peaceful and beautiful setting. I was fortunate to spend a weekend when it was snowing, which made the whole experience even better! So quiet and relaxing .. and surreal to sit poolside in your bathing suit with the flakes falling around you and not be cold after soaking in the warmest of the pools! After spending about an hour in the pools, I returned to my room and got cozy with a book and a glass of wine, all snoodled up in the great bed. I returned for dinner and had the most wonderful meal with the most attentive staff and management. The manager, Sheldon, even concocted my favourite cocktail for me, capping off a perfect day! If the rat-race is getting to you and you just need time to regroup and reconnect with your partner .. or just yourself .. this is the perfect place to do it!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room. They have different cabins to suit your needs .. some have ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    130
    97
    63
    36
See reviews for
141
173
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Lacey, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights in the cabins at Sol Duc and had a wonderful time with our 2 kids. The hot springs were amazing, and the trails were decent. It is early in the season and a few spots on the trails were so covered with fallen trees and snow that it made finding the trail a bit tricky at times.
Our cabin was comfortable though lacking in some of the kitchen items mentioned in the description, but the staff was quick and eager to bring what we needed.
No TV or cell service, so be prepared.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and the service was pretty bad (this was the first weekend open for the season), but the manager was eager to please. The food was outstanding though lacked a decent children's option. That said, the chef was willing to assist to make the kiddos happy.
So, even though we had some problems the willingness to be made right made up for it all. We plan on going back in a few weeks to camp.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 37daniellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond,WA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort is set in a heart-achingly beautiful natural setting, and its three hot pools are a distinctive bonus feature as well.

To be fair to the hotel operator, we suspect they are massively limited in terms of what they can do by the National Park Service.

But, having made that concession, the reality is that the resort is selectively rundown, and the staff woefully uncaring. For example, we wanted to reserve a table for dinner - I've had problems in the past attempting to dine in their restaurant, and the restaurant manager said 'We're short staffed tonight, so we're NOT taking reservations'. Isn't that the opposite of what he should be doing - surely if short-staffed, you want to space out when people arrive to dine?

The food, by the way, was awful and way over-priced.

Or, another example, the duty manager took a phone call from a place in Forks saying 'We have two people wanting to come up and spend the night at your resort, do you have a room available?'. Although not at all obviously busy, instead of answering yes/no as you'd expect, he said 'Give me their name and number and I'll call back when I'm free'. Writing down the name and number of the people needing/wanting to know, immediately, if they could come for the night surely took more than looking up the availability and answering on the spot.

The resort also takes the shtick about saving water to save the environment to a greater point than I've seen before - suggesting you turn off the tap between rinses of your toothbrush for example. And this in the heart of the RAINforest with abundant water all around! Give me a break....

Here's an example of the lack of care - mossy dirty bench tables outside the units. I'd hesitate to have a picnic meal off that dirty rotting bench. I guess you can't blame them too much for the mole hills or the deer and bear droppings on the grass though.

The outside light for our cabin didn't work. I had to walk back to the reception area to advise them (no phones in the cabins - also no tvs, btw, and no cell phone/internet access either!) and while a replacement bulb was promised, it never came.

There were also no soaps, shampoos or other amenities in the cabin, but upon request, they did deliver a bar of soap.

But, all criticism aside, the setting is idyllic and the hot pools close to unique in the region. But perhaps the best way to enjoy it is to stay at Lake Crescent Lodge (not far away) and make a side trip to Sol Duc one day to dip in the pools.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTravelInsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Been coming here for 25 years. Finally stayed in a standard cabin. It was cold! Heater was on 90 from 5pm-10 pm still very cold in the cabin. Upon arrival room had not been cleaned yet from the previous guest. Ants took over the bathroom! Glass with sprite, rinsed out, covered by ants at 7am. Manager covered dinner and lunch for it not being clean. They tried hard to make it up but still not that happy. Stay another place for the night, come for the mineral pools!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juno019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The rooms are nice and clean! Those cabins had been recently renovated, so the beds were comfortable. NO TV and CELL Connection! be ready to enjoy nature that is for sure. We had deers coming outside our room!
The food at the only restaurant is good but be ready to paid a high price. However, they have a great selection of local wine a great price.
I will recommend to book you room as early as possible and bring food/drinks with you! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Book early and bring your food/drinks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hot springs pools and facilities are marvelous, relaxing, and clean. Staff is very friendly. It's a great getaway - a little pricy, but once you're there it all seems worth it. HOWEVER, the cabins all have maintenance issues (hot water heaters, some electrical problems, no security locks on the doors, some housekeeping problems - dirty towels and hair in the bathtub when we checked in! We could have overlooked some of it, but we stayed in this same cabin in September 2012 and the same maintenance problems were still there in March 2013. (The manager graciously comped our room nights when we complained.) At checkout there were three other guests complaining about their space as well. The food in the restaurant is over priced for the quality and inconsistent service provided. We'll go back because we can't resist those wonderful hot pools, but we'll prepare and take our own food next time for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I did not stay here, I can to see the springs. Unfortunately there was a long drive to get to the springs. And when I got there it was all gated off. You can buy a day pass, but since the place was full of guests staying at the place, we passed. There is really nothing to see if you aren't staying there.

Room Tip: Stay there or skip all together
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lunarlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic National Park
23.5 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
22.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
24.2 mi away
Forks Motel
Forks Motel
#5 of 5 in Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#6 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Dew Drop Inn Motel
23.9 mi away
Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort

Property: Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort
Address: Sol Duc Road, U.S. 101, PO Box 2169, Olympic National Park, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Olympic National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Olympic National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Sol Duc Hot Springs Hotel Olympic National Park
Sol Duc Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing