We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
What a Beautiful and Scenic Drive

One of the most scenic highway I’ve ever had the pleasure of driving on. It’s so eye catching and... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
carlostravels2018
,
Miami, Florida
via mobile
Waterfalls everywhere!

There are many many pull-off spots to stop & take in the abundent waterfalls, majestic trees... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kimberly K
via mobile
Read all 283 reviews
  
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
208
44
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
44
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washington state beautiful drive washington pass diablo lake national park north cascades ross lake visitor center gorgeous scenery scenic route every turn forest fires glacier fed rainy pass snow capped peaks boat ride hiking trails
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

One of the most scenic highway I’ve ever had the pleasure of driving on.
It’s so eye catching and original In it’s most natural state.
We had to pull over at least 4 different times and that’s only because we stopped ourselves from pulling over more times because it was eating up our traveling time lol.

You see just about a bit of everything, small towns, live stock, Horses, old/ antique cars and trucks, rivers, mountains, creeks, all types of rocks, and of course mountains. Beautiful mountains, which snow capped tips.

Honestly due yourself a favorite and pullover a couple times at least to add to the beauty of your trip to the north cascades which is already going to be a doozy.

An amazing drive that helps pass the time to an amazing destination. An entirely different world out there waiting to be explored.

Included on my drive:
random highway pullout spots
Cacadian farm
Ross lake
Diablo lake
North cascades sign
North cascade visitor center
Washington pass overlok

Enjoy the pictures!

Thank carlostravels2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There are many many pull-off spots to stop & take in the abundent waterfalls, majestic trees & river views on the North Cascade Highway drive. Even a little rain in November didn't keep us from taking in this portion of God's beautiful creation!

Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolutely awe-inspiring - we stopped at every single viewpoint. Right now the deciduous trees and the larches are putting on a fabulous show!

Thank simivalley1699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

We drove the North Cascades highway from east to west. It was a beautiful day and we loved the drive. Lots of scenic attractions and no commercialism. Do it!

Thank DonL120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

We took a day to drive through the North Cascades National Park, stopping numerous places. A lot of the road is lined with trees so that there is no viewing (except of amazingly tall tree trunks). But where there is something to see, WOW! We tried to make the most of our stops - Crystal Falls, Log Flume Heritage Site, Camp Growden Heritage Site, Washington Pass Overlook, Ross Lake Overlook, Gorge River Falls. There are hikes galore. We took two - Rainy Lake Trail and the Thunder Knob Trail. And we didn't do it all.

What I'm trying to say is to 'Slow down and smell the roses.' This is so true of the North Cascades Highway. If you traverse it quickly, you will have a ho-hum response. If you slow down and savor it, you'll be exclaiming for weeks to come.

2  Thank MikeB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

We drove through the park and decided to keep going east and then south to Mt Rainier Park. This was a beautiful drive. Reminded us of the drive east out of Yellowstone Park. What a wonderful road.

3  Thank MeryMeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

This drive is just GORGEOUS. Really can't say much else.

We drove from Marblemount to Washington Pass and there is always something beautiful to see. The North Cascades are absolutely an under-appreciated National Park gem.

2  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

Arrived Wednesday morning. Haze from forest fires blocking views of mountains. Don't waste your time till smoke clears

Thank GalinAZta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

This is the most scenic and spectacular highway in Washington State, winding through the North Cascades mountains, along several sky-blue-tinted lakes and high passes. Make sure that you allow enough time to pull out at some of the scenic overlooks along the way. In particular, stop at the Diablo Lake and Washington Pass overlooks.

5  Thank ALFriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018

Once you begin to ascend the scenery gets amazing! We made an afternoon trip to Ruby Falls & got back not too late for dinner, making several stops for pictures & breathing. There are deep gorges, some whitewater, waterfalls, mountain ridge views & stunning overlooks as you approach Ross Lake. Definitely worth the drive!

3  Thank skigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews