We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely campsite”

Cougar Rock Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Rainier National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cougar Rock Campground
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A lovely campsite”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed for two nights before labour day. The facilities were good and kept clean. They seemed to do talks during the summer month too onsite but this was closed when we visited. Only wish was that it had showers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank NikkiandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The campground was full when we walked-in, but luckily someone had cancelled at the last moment, and we did get a site! It is highly recommended that you make a reservation before going, else reach at the campsite early in the morning by 10am during busy summer months. The campsite is just wonderful, with all the amenities: fire pits, enough space, firewood shop (doesn't accept credit card), pay phones(doesn't accept credit card, and there is no mobile phone connection), clean flush toilets, water hose, bear protected cans, and wonderful scenery of mountains and trees rising high above when you lay down in the tent and look up.
I blogged about it @ http://my-foot-prints.blogspot.com/2011/08/camping-mt-rainier-national-park.html
There is a free shuttle from the campsite to the Paradise valley with stops at Narada falls on the way. It is very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank redBerry30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Stayed here on an impromptu hiking trip to Mount Rainier. No booking necessary as it was after Labor Day but it please note it will be busy in summer time. Campground is simple (no showers) but good facilities in terms of washrooms and water to clean plates etc. Many secluded little tent sites (RV sites on different loops I believe) which kept it small and intimate. Sites screened by trees often and fire grates in each one. No firewood available in park so remember to bring your own. No bear lockers to store food so bring your own or risk the car! Anyway, best nights sleep I've had in a tent in ages, only sound was the distant flow of the Nisqually River. Final note, bring cash as credit card machine didn't work for paying for pitch. ($12 so it was hardly an issue).

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MachiavellianSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We loved Mt. Rainier and this campground. We sill stay again when it is warmer! I just wish they provided soap in the bathrooms and warm water to do dishes with. We had a wonderful site and it looked like all of the sites are nice and secluded. Be prepared for rain when you go!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KatherineNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We've stayed in lots of national park campgrounds and they are usually crowded and noisy with little privacy. We found Cougar Rock campground to be just the opposite. Sites were a decent size and they had lots of pull throughs for those with large RV's. The best thing was sites were far apart and the campground was very quiet. We were really impressed and enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Connie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 2, 2004

We only stayed at this campground for one night. We arrived after sunset and were just speechless when we awoke to such beautiful surroundings. We slept to the sounds of a nearby river. The campground is close to many waterfalls and Paradise. The restrooms were clean and the site was perfect. We hope to return someday and stay longer.

Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Rainier National Park
6.8 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
307 reviews
11.8 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
167 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
95 reviews
21.0 mi away
Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier
Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rai...
#1 of 2 in Crystal Mountain
323 reviews
7.8 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cougar Rock Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cougar Rock Campground

Property: Cougar Rock Campground
Address: Mount Rainier National Park, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98330
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Mount Rainier National Park
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers 200 campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cougar Rock Campground Hotel Mount Rainier National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing