We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far from Paradise - Thin Walls, Nasty Comforters, Subpar Restaurant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Rainier National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier
Bradenton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Far from Paradise - Thin Walls, Nasty Comforters, Subpar Restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

The Inn at Paradise has been renovated, but we're not quite sure what exactly they renovated. Maybe the lobby? The lobby was fabulous - and set us up for a big disappointment when it came to the room. For a place that we expected to be warm, cozy and friendly after a long day on the mountain and two years of renovations, the Inn at Paradise was none of these.

Upon arrival, we were totally ignored by front desk stafff and it took us nearly 30 minutes to get checked in though there was hardly a line. The following morning, we left to check out at 430 am so that we could drive to Sunrise for Sunrise and the front desk attendant informed us that he could not possibly check us out because it was too early. Seriously?!

The restauraunt food was ultra blah and way overpriced. And the restauraunt management is a disaster. I recommend packing your food in and making your own sandwiches. Don't be tempted to eat in the restaurant - you'll only be disappointed.

The room wasn't luxurious. That said, it would have been fine if
1) There weren't blood stains on the nasty polyester comfortor circa 1982.
2) I couldn't hear someone's kids running around in the hall and on the floor above.

I really didn't have luxury hotel expectations, but give me a break. I just felt like there was no effort, no professionalism or ease to the experience. It just wasn't fun. And staying on the top of a mountain should be delightful - don't you think?

Though the lodge lobby is cozy and views are stunning, unless you've climed to Paradise and don't have a way down - you're better off stopping by to linger for some piano music but staying the night at a bed and breakfast near the foot of the mountain.

  • Liked — Location and views - incomparable
  • Disliked — Rooms were uncomfortable, walls were thin, restaurant was terrible and staff was incompetent
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldenBeetSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    335
    161
    77
    32
See reviews for
237
401
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

I expected much better after reading it had just completed a major update. But I agree with previous reviews that the update must have been for the great hall only. Our 4th floor room was barely large enough for the bed, which, by the way, was not very comfortable and the pillows as flat as possible and still called a pillow. My wife had difficulty sleeping both nights. The bathroom was designed for Munchkins. I am average height (5'10") and had to squat to take a shower. The commode was about 12" high. The window had no screen, but the room was stifling when we arrived so we had to leave it open to get air. When we returned from hiking we had wasps and mosquitoes in the room to deal with.
The great hall was very spacious and inviting. It was enjoyable having a glass of wine and listening to the piano player in the evening. The location was also a plus.

  • Liked — location and great hall
  • Disliked — room size and uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank miketp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2008

Staying at the Paradise Inn was truly one of the greatest experiences of my life. The hotel is located high up on Mount Rainier, and offers incredible views of the mountain and the valley below. When the snow pack melts, there are numerous trails departing from the Inn. The rooms are small, and ill appointed, but this is an Inn run by the National Park, not a luxury resort. It is meant to enable outdoors activities.

The Park service puts on talks two or three times daily which are very interesting, and the staff is very enthusiastic about the environs.

The restaurant was surprisingly inexpensive considering that all of the supplies need to be brought in over good distances and up to such a high elevation. In addition, the costs of storage at the Inn must be tremendous. The food was very high quality.

The main hall of the Inn is very comfortable, and an enjoyable place to find a chair and read.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duct_tape_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed for two nights in early June 2008. We were excited because we had heard that the Paradise Inn had gone through two years of extensive renovations. When we arrived, we were impressed with the beautiful lobby. It has the old-time national park lodge feel that we were hoping for. It has two large fireplaces at either end and sofas and chairs throughout - very pretty.

Upon checking in, we were directed to a fourth floor room down a long unheated hallway. The room was extermely dated and uncomfortable. The bathroom was a joke. You could barely fit two adults into it. It also did not have a shower. All of this for the outrageous price of $150 per night. Can you say ripoff!? We walked back dowstairs to request a different room, this time one with a shower. The second floor room we were given was even smaller than the first. The bathroom was an even bigger joke, but at least we could stand up to clean up. The water pressure in the toilet was terrible. We had to request that a plunger be brought to our room on more than one occasion so that we could flush it. The rooms are terrible. They probably have not been updated since the place opened. Why were they not renovated along with the lobby?


The room and the Inn were also freezing cold. We were told later on that there were problems with the heating system. If this was the case, the opening should have been delayed or a cheaper price given since it was below freezing during our stay outside and probably 50 something inside.

The eating options were also terrible. Once at Paradise, there is only one place to eat - the dining room adjacent to the lobby. You must eat breakfast, lunch and dinner here unless you want to drive back down the mountain and 20 miles into town. The food quality is average, but the prices are not. Dinner prices are $20+ per entree, (excluding drinks, appetizers and desert) and lunches were not much better. There is no place to get a quick sandwich, hamburger or even a soda or coffee. I thought the visitor's center down the road might be an option, but the food options there are horrible. One morning I walked over because I didn't want to spend $13 for breakfast at the Inn. I purchased a stale bagel and asked for some butter to spread on it. Based on the reaction of the staff, I was asking for something that they never heard of. There was not one pat of butter in the entire place! NO BUTTER FOR YOU! I returned the bagel and asked for a refund.

If you are coming to Rainier in June and you are expecting to do some hiking, you might want to think again. There was several feet of snow on the ground in early June and the on the day of our departure, Paradise was expecting a foot or more of snow! Not what we were expecting. Our drive down the hill on our way out of the national park was a white knuckle ride on snow covered roads in a driving blizzard.

In sum, don't be deceived by the renovations at the Paradise Inn that you have heard about. The rooms have not been touched!!! The looby is very pretty and we spent most of out time huddled around the fireplace while here.

  • Liked — Lobby
  • Disliked — Rooms and everything else
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

The Paradise Inn couldn't be more perfectly situated in the park. As a photographer, I appreciated the easy access to early morning shooting spots.

The restaurant on the premises was good for dinner, but terrible for breakfast. For breakfast, your only option is a shoddy buffet with only a few options. The website for Mt. Rainier Guest Services lists a breakfast menu for 2008 - but it was not available when we visited, and I'm not sure why.

The lobby was a very comfortable place to relax after a long day of hiking. We enjoyed the pianist who played there on Sunday evening.

My biggest complaint with the Paradise Inn was the actual guest room we stayed in. It was unspeakably small and had just one window with a broken screen. The room was incredibly hot - in the 80's - even in the middle of the night - no fans provided to help cool off. Also, the bed was extremely lumpy and the pillows were wafer thin and only one per guest was provided. We did not sleep well at all during our stay at Paradise.

Also, construction is still going on at the complex. They have a lot set aside for inn guests, but I don't think they enforce the policy. Daytrippers filled the lot and made parking for inn guests next to impossible.

Complaints aside, I would still stay at the Paradise Inn again - for the convenience of location alone.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable Room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine_in_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern US
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

The only good reason to stay here is for the magnificent views of Mt. Rainier. We stayed here 25 years ago and I was so excited to go again and we just knew it would be better after the renovations. Wrong! The renovations must have just included the lobby and other public spaces. The room was a big disappointment! We paid $180.00 for a small room with a tiny bathroom. The decor has not been touched in many years and the curtains were about to fall down. Don't even bother going to the dining room. Everything is so overpriced and not worth the money. There were several people compaining the night we ate there concerning the slow service and the food. The snack bar had sandwiches that they were selling for $8.00 and were a day old. We agreed if we go to Mt. Rainier again, we will visit the mountain for the day and stay somewhere else. The mountain is incredibly beautiful but the lodge leaves a lot to be desired!

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank LovingGRITS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

My father and I stayed at Paradise Inn from June 17-20. We have been to other national park lodges before (Glacier, Yellowstone, etc.) so we thought we knew what the expect (modern cozy accomodations, no tv, no phone, bar, etc.). However, once we checked in the Paradise we soon learned that our expectations were completely off base.

The rooms looked like they were straight out of the 1970's. We had a room with 2 twin beds and they could not have been less comfortable. Every night we woke up multiple times and I had back pain every morning (I am 25 and do not have back issues). Additionally, you only get one pillow per bed that is paper thin, so if you plan on staying here bring a mattress pad and an extra pillow.

The bathrooms were surprisingly large. However, they were also out of date, but they served the purpose. The first morning when I attempted to shower the water was only luke warm, so I was only able to take a 5 minute shower. The other days the water seemed hotter, so I don't know if this was unusual or what.

The lobby of the Inn is nice, but like other reviews said the food is only medicore in the dining room, and the coffee bar, where you can get food and drinks after dining hours, closes by 9 pm! So if you are staying here definitely stop on your way into the park and pick up some drinks and snacks at the WalMart. You'll be glad you made the extra trip.

Also, don't expect much help around this place, as it is clearly understaffed. If you want to make a fire don't ask, because there is only one person who works there who can start the fires in the lobby fireplaces, and he didn't seem to be around on the night we wanted to sit in front of one and read.

Conclusion: The location of Paradise Inn is perfect, as it is equally distant to both sides of the mountain. If you don't mind on driving an extra hour to get to the other side however, save yourself a bad impression and dine and sleep at the National Park Inn. The NPI won't disappoint.

  • Liked — the location next to the beautiful mountain
  • Disliked — the horriblly out of date and uncomfortable rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kfrolich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Rainier National Park
11.1 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
9.9 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
12.5 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
14.3 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
13.5 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier

Property: Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier
Address: Mt Rainier National Park, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Rainier National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1916 and designated as one of the "Great Lodges of the West" this historic guest lodge sits in the shadow of Mount Rainier surrounded by mountain meadows lush with wildflowers. Miles of hiking trails just outside the front door lead to adventures in all directions and offer panoramic views of glaciers and waterfalls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Mount Rainier National Park
Paradise Inn Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing