We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Rainier National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful location!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Go to Paradise Inn for location in Mt. Rainier NP. Trails were wonderful with lots of wildflowers. Main lodge common area was good to just completely disconnect from cell phones and tv. Piano player in early evening was wonderful way to rewind and just play some cards and do a puzzle. Room was small with a double and twin bed for 3 of us and it was cramped but we expected that and only used it for sleeping and showers. Maids do a great job keeping older rooms and very busy common areas clean. Restaurant good but expensive. We had one dinner in restaurant and then cafe second night. Cafe is fine for quick meals and much less expensive breakfast than restaurant. We only had 2 nights there so we had buffet breakfast before our big hike day and it kept us going.

Room Tip: No elevators so need to use steps if you are not on main floor. Ask for room with bathroom on main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahB51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts and friendly tips. We certainly agree that there is no better location to relax without the distractions of our modern day world. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for another visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    338
    163
    80
    32
See reviews for
238
407
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
501 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Staff was friendly and the wait to check in didn't take very long.

The room was 1970's like wood paneling, old carpet and an even older bathroom. When the power went out, we could hear the amorous couple next door. The walls are so thin, people two room down from the couple could hear the noise.

Dining is expensive. Breakfast was $15.50 for the buffet (the only option.) The food was okay to better than okay. The fruit was good. The wait staff very friendly and talkative. The dining room is very clean and a nice (but too expensive) of a place to dine.

The small cafe in the lodge has horrible lines, indifferent to unfriendly staff, and overpriced, undersized and limited in selection stock.

I suppose if you want to stay at Mt Rainier, this is a great location. Too bad it is so expensive. Too bad that you should have the mindset that you are camping, and then the room seems pretty nice.

Giving them an average for cleanliness as this is a national park. If it wasn't, it would be a lower rating. Hair in the bathroom when we checked in. There is some mold growing in the old bathroom. The sink has separate hot and water spigots, so don't burn yourself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank western u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback. Your experience in the café and the cleanliness of your room is certainly not indicative of the standards we hold our team members accountable and we sincerely apologize. Please know that your review will be shared with our management team as we continually strive to challenge ourselves to improve.

Again, thank you for sharing your comments.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We recently stayed here with a large family group where we rented 4 different rooms. The hotel was built many years ago and is only used part of the year so be prepared for a stay unlike your usual hotel visit. The rooms we rented varied from cramped to average size though we reserved the same equipped room for all when we made the reservations. A room with a 2 beds was basically a room with just 2 beds. There is no closet because you hang your clothes on a bar attached to the wall. The bathrooms consisted of a toilet and a small bathtub/shower combo. There is barely enough room to dress in the bathroom. One of the rooms was slightly larger but I don't know if the clerk would know is this room was available when you checked in.
All the rooms were clean and the everyone agreed the beds were comfortable. The cost is on the high side but you are paying for the location and the view not for a 4 star hotel. If you eat in the hotel restaurant be prepared for a little shock from the bill though all agreed the food was well prepared and the service was very good.
Be prepared though for great scenery. The view from you room is unlike one you will have anywhere else. We had dear standing outside the window in the morning just grazing. At night go out into the parking lot in front of the hotel and you will see millions of stars. Use Google star map to point them out. In the morning when the trails are less crowded you can hike up to the waterfalls or lakes .
The hotel does not have enough parking set aside for just the hotel so you may have to hike after you park. You can move much closer to the hotel after the day visitors leave. We all agreed this is a place that you should be able to say that you stayed at least once in your life.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. Rooms on the 3rd floor are on the same floor as the desk. You will not have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your thorough review and friendly tips! We are so pleased that you enjoyed this special time with your family and sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
368 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We've staying at park lodging in Glacier, Olympic and Yellowstone. All those rooms were at least decent size. Although the queen room at Paradise was clean, it was no bigger than a dorm room. It was fine for one night and the sleeping was actually somewhat quiet. Don't get me wrong, we enjoyed our one night here, but I'm not going to sugar coat the room. It was worth the extra $$$ to have our own bathroom.

We had dinner in the dining room and it was so average for the expensive prices they charge. My wife had the seafood pasta at $32 and got mostly pasta. I had the chicken parm at $20 and it was decent for the price. Staff was good throughout the lodge and restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My family had a room with two double beds for two adults and two teens. It was a little cramped but we've shared a room on a cruise ship before so we managed. The windows only had temp screens which didn't fit very well so lots of misquitoes shared our room (we had lots of bites). The shower was extremely small and low - we had to watch our heads. We stayed here for the experience but wish the accomodations were a little better. Also, we were told that there is no wi-fi or internet connection anywhere in the park. We saw PCs in an office upstairs (with no internet?) We needed to check-in for out Southwest flight the next day (24 hours in advance) so had to call a family member on the East coast to check us in. There is some limited cell reception if you hike up the hills a little ways from the Inn. Trails near the Inn are really nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UMTerpVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The mountain inn is a treasure. Set high up on Mt Rainer.
The accommodations are the problem! We had no choice so it was a double bed or nothing!! Believe me two average adults do not fit in double beds!!
The night was spent wishing for daylight!
The dining room is very nice but very expensive for just so so food..
We skipped the dining room for breakfast but it was a mistake to wait in line with just one person in the deli! Coffee $2.75 for just regular coffee!! Wow!
We will come again but make sure we get twin beds or two queen bed....no more double beds for us..

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patpett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a location to stay overnight in Mount Rainier! Great views, excellent place for hikes – trails start in front of the Inn.
Hotel as such doesn’t offer to much – rooms rather small and not very comfortable, but – as we were spending time outside – it really didn’t matter that much.
Staff was pleasant and helpful.
Restaurant in the hotel is very good – that goes for food as well as service. Both over-delivered against my expectations. Breakfast was great – fruits choice was one of the best I have experienced during this holiday. Healthy and nutritious way to start the active day.
There are no alternatives for Inn if you want to stay in Paradise, still you should not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jurek_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you have an opportunity to visit our beautiful park again.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Rainier National Park
11.1 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
165 reviews
9.9 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
301 reviews
12.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
90 reviews
18.1 mi away
Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier
Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rai...
#1 of 2 in Crystal Mountain
313 reviews
13.5 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier

Property: Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier
Address: Mt Rainier National Park, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Rainier National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1916 and designated as one of the "Great Lodges of the West" this historic guest lodge sits in the shadow of Mount Rainier surrounded by mountain meadows lush with wildflowers. Miles of hiking trails just outside the front door lead to adventures in all directions and offer panoramic views of glaciers and waterfalls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Mount Rainier National Park
Paradise Inn Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing